We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty dishes, full of flavor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passage to Asia

Passage to Asia
7 St. Yves Street, Chaguanas, Trinidad
6722701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Chaguanas
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Couva, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty dishes, full of flavor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great tasting food, a wide variety of dishes, you can't go wrong.
Helpful staff, the inside is clean and welcoming, comfortable and pleasing to the eye.
The outside ....hm...
Try the food, it is absolutely delicious.
The price?.......reasonably priced. YES...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went to Passage to Asia for my birthday. There are Indian/ Thai/ Chinese menu to choose from. I had the Thai options. The shrimp in green curry was fantastic. It was very delicious. The servers were very helpful and friendly. They played Happy Birthday song for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“First and last visit.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited on a Saturday night, the buffet was available.

The buffet was small, not a lot of variety, which was surprising as the price was quite high.
Some of the food was good.... others, such as the vegetables were icy cold and absolutely inedible. The soup was good. Dessert was terrible.... cake that was probably days old and stale.

Customer service is also poor, and the dining room small and a bit run down.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaguanas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food but....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Going there every week for the past year but recently had an experience that makes me feel never to see or hear about Passage to Asia ever again. I bought my favourite, shrimp biryani only to realize that it was spoil biryani with rotten shrimps. I am so embarrassed, because I have been advertising this place to family and friends for the past year. They should not be walking with mop and buckets amongst dinners in and out of the washroom.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lange park, Chaguanas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Chaguanas for Tasty Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The restaurant is the best restaurant for authentic Indian food in Chaguanas/Central Trinidad.
At night there is a helpful attendant outside to direct you to park and provide security.
The waiters are very attentive and the food is excellent.
They provide Indian, Thai and Chinese food.

Some of my favorites here are:
1. Muteer paneer with plain Nan
2. The Thai Coconot chicken Curry soup - delish!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage to Asia also viewed

San Fernando, Trinidad
 
Chaguanas, Trinidad
San Fernando, Trinidad
 

Been to Passage to Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passage to Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.