We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna di Quarazzana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fivizzano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Luna di Quarazzana
Save
You added La Luna di Quarazzana to your Saves list
Via Nardi 16, Fivizzano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Fivizzano B&B and Inns
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ilaria & Stephano are gradually restoring a large ruined farm complex in a very rural part. They have made five beautiful spacious rooms in barns and the main house around a lovely courtyard. It is very tastefully done with dozens of thoughtful touches and decorations. Around these buildings is a disused church, a small working farm, a couple of other houses and a few ruins - then nothing for miles except a stunning view across to the mountains.
Ilaria is a wonderful cook and hostess. We stayed for three nights and had fanastic breakfasts and dinners. We also enjoyed feeding Bibo the donkey and watching thousands of fireflies dance over the fields at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

What a find! We stayed here for four nights in early June. As an earlier review remarked, La Luna di Quarazzana is like something from a beautiful movie set. It is a restored farmhouse in an ancient village (current population 10!), set high (about 2,000 feet) in the rugged mountains northeast of the Cinque Terre. Owner Ilaria is the perfect host: gracious, knowledgeable about the area, and a fabulous cook. We arrived late in the afternoon, following Ilaria’s directions rather than those of our GPS—which she said would suggest a more difficult route. We enjoyed dinner (pre-arranged) on our first evening, a delightful four-course meal with wine, served al fresco, in the open courtyard. Ilaria’s breakfasts are superb: homemade bread, jams, cakes, plus cheese, meats, yogurt, juice, and coffee. For our stay, we chose “Il Volta,” the largest room, very comfortable, simply but charmingly decorated, which has a sofa, fridge, and large window looking out on the Apuan Alps. (It also has a window at the end of the room, thus providing pleasant cross-ventilation, a pleasure for sleeping on warm nights.)
On two of the days, we took Ilaria’s suggestions for things to do, one day taking a long hike into the mountains (with a picnic packed by Ilaria, for a very reasonable five euros each), and the other visiting the tiny spa town of Equi Terme where we toured prehistoric caves to see the fascinating limestone formations of stalactites and stalagmites. On our final day, we drove to La Spezia where we got a day pass on the train to visit the Cinque Terre. In Vernazza, we took Ilaria’s advice again, for lunch at Belfiore, a lovely seafood restaurant overlooking the town and the Ligurian Sea.
We loved coming back “home” in the late afternoons, moving out to the courtyard with our books and a glass of wine. It turns out we were the only guests during our stay, and we loved having La Luna all to ourselves. Life is good at La Luna di Quarazzana. Thank you, Ilaria!

Room Tip: "Il Volta" has a fridge, sofa, and two windows (good cross-ventilation).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We couldn't have had a better stay at La Luna Di Quarazzana! It was a perfect place in a beautiful part of Tuscany. Ilaria & Stefano welcomed us with open arms and pride to their wonderful haven in the hills in Fivizzano where they've re-created a very homely, unspoilt and peaceful environment. They have kept as many of the original features as possible and where they couldn't they have tastefully designed the space without ruining it with over modernisation! Ilaria's home cooked food is also a joy and cooked to perfection, we felt like we had stepped into heaven whilst sampling each dish and with the fresh and fruity red wine to wash it down it was exquisite. The area itself was in the middle of the nature with stunning views and a great walk up into the surrounding hills and mountains and also not too far from the town of Fivizzano if you want to experience the local culture. All in all a truly blissful place to go and "Relax nella natura vicino 5 Terre". We can't wait to return and next time it will be for longer!!!… Grazie Mille a tutti

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been one of the lucky ones to spend four nights at Ilaria's beautiful retreat. I have stayed in some really wonderful places throughout Italy, and not to take away from those, but this was the best place I have stayed and I expect to plan my next trip around another several nights at La Luna. For those who like to truly get away and a chance to know a piece of the country, you cannot go wrong here. It is very rural, a beautiful and very fun drive from the nearest small town. There is a lot to do in the area, but also a lot of reasons just to stay put. The beds are comfortable, the food utterly amazing and if you get the chance, the cooking lessons are both fun and a chance to really learn things (not just watch with a crowd). It really is as beautiful as the photos look on the website and, a month after my visit, I still feel like I stumbled into a movie for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Nestled amidst the hills of Northern Tuscany, La Luna Di Quarazzana is a delightful and secluded guest house. Ilaria is a wonderful and relaxed host who was untroubled by our requests and dietary restrictions of our teenage daughter. Our family enjoyed a superb communal meal, accompanied by some excellent local wines, in the front of a warming open fire in the dining room. La Luna Di Quarazzana is a restorative get away for people looking to escape the frenzy of large cities and experience village life little changed from centuries ago.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Quarazzana for three days. I have to say, it was probably the best experience ever! The place is so amazing and beautiful that it´s hard to describe. The hostess Ilaria is a warm and extremely friendly person and an amazing chef. If you just have the chance, you should visit the place - I know I will again someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a little surprised to discover that La Luna is situated 8 kilometres from Fivizzano in the tiny village of Quarazzana, so rural that horses and cows are allowed to wander free in the lanes.
After first driving past what looked like a ruined farmhouse we returned to be met by cheerful, English speaking Illaria, who assured us that we had found the right place before showing us the tasteful renovation her family had made to the buildings while still retaining the original rustic charm.
The highly functional rooms radiate from a courtyard with access to the gardens/grounds with sunbathing facilities and offer wonderful views, especially in the early morning mist.
Choosing to accept the offer of an evening meal was the right decision. Several courses of delicious home cooking, much of which came from the kitchen garden, appeared from the kitchen accompanied by a specially picked wine. A highlight was to taste the gorgeous cheese made by Illaria's father.
It was like having our own private chef. Fantastic experience! Breakfast is no less a feast with home made delights and yet more cheese.
Fivizzano itself is a delightful walled town steeped in history and offering several restaurants, bars and a good supermarket. In the area are several excellent walking opportunities with stunning scenery.
We very much enjoyed recharging batteries in this rural oasis. Highly recommended and won't break the bank.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Luna di Quarazzana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna di Quarazzana

Address: Via Nardi 16, Fivizzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Fivizzano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fivizzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the deep green of the Lunigiana, not far from the sea of Lerici and the Cinque Terre.In an old country, magically overlooking the Apuan Alps, where time seems to stand still ..you can discover landscapes, flavors and aromas of an intense past.We passionately restored an old farmhouse, now a historic building.An oasis of charm and relaxation:Bed & Breakfast la Luna di Quarazzana The historic building is located in the wild country, it dates back to the sixteenth century, but it is mentioned as early as the fourteenth century when Benedetti, an old local family, gave birth to the rider of Generous Quarazzana Benedetti, brave "homo of arms "in the service of Giovanni Sforza. To be here is an experience..to know Italian lifestyle, food and art.We like share our passions with our guests !"There s a moment to found yourself :sensations , perfumes and taste of the past. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna di Quarazzana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.