We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to host a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thornton Manor to your Saves list
Thornton Manor
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to host a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stunning venue for a wedding. The manor has everything one could ask for and then a bit more. The stately venue is perfect for a wedding of some size. The rooms and halls are large and elaborate without being ostentatious. Subtle is the theme.
The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathroom not nearly so, someone needs to upgrade them immediately.
The staff is attentive, polite and very good. Would definitely recommend this as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    18
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
53
55
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a family wedding on Friday the 27th of June,so my wife and myself stayed over night in the Tower bedroom which cost £200 and no meals which I thought was really expensive. But that changed when we were taken to the room,to say it was nice did not do it justice, it was fabulous we felt like The Lord and Lady of the manor.the decor and fittings were top class , I even took a shower and a bath because I wanted to take everything in . The wedding was organised to the upmost standard. It was a joy to walk around the Manor and it's gardens

Room Tip: The tower bedroom was total class ,it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had our graduation ball in the lakeside marquee. It was a stunning venue, fantastic service and perfect in every way. It was the perfect size for our guest list of 360 people, and everyone had a fantastic time. The venue hire was expensive, but justifiably so. The only thing to watch out for is that they will charge for all the extras e.g table cloths, table number holders etc, so be clear on what will cost you extra from the beginning. Would definitely recommend it though.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We held our Graduation Ball in the Lakeside marquee which is just the most incredible location. Once you've seen that marquee you could never go anywhere else!!!!!! All the staff I dealt with were wonderful, an event planner is assigned to you and the venue also has caterers, DJs etc that they like you to use; all of which I was very impressed with.
We stayed in the Trainers Annexe which was expectedly old fashioned but did lack a bit of charm. Beds were comfy with nice towels and linen, but rooms really need to have Wi-fi these days, ( we had no time to watch TV but other people would find it annoying I think) particularly for what they charge for the rooms. I would absolutely recommend Thornton Manor as a venue; but the rooms really need to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala1943
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Attended a wedding recently. Stayed at 'gardeners annex'. The actual wedding venue was beautiful and the service was very good. Accommodation was very disappointing. It was very basic. No TV, no wi-fi. There was bread & butter etc. for a self-breakfast but no toaster. The area was poorly lit when we got back from the event at night and was unsafe.The value for money for the room was zero. I would not recommend the 'garderners' annex' to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding, which we enjoyed very much. It is a very grand venue.

The room was on the small side, but clean and tidy. Unfortunately though, we had no hot water on the morning after the wedding which was a bit of a shock! We also had to pay a deposit in order to have a key for our room, otherwise it would have been left unlocked - I found this a rather strange policy.

As the rooms were, in our opinion, very expensive, these issues were keenly felt. If you are paying a lot of money to stay there, the least you can expect is a secure room and a hot shower!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My son got married here on June 29th it was a truly wonderful day, Fantastic food and service a warm friendly welcome.
We stayed over for one night and found the room a bit disappointing, no TV, wifi, kettle and no breakfast included in the price. No hot water in the evening and again in the morning because the boiler was off and it took nearly an hour to heat up.
But overall a very good place to have a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornton Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.