We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Beat Friendliness & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tumbling Weir Hotel

The Tumbling Weir Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tumbling Weir Hotel to your Saves list
The Tumbling Weir Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ottery St. Mary EX11 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Couldn't Beat Friendliness & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were lucky to get a room at this hotel for the famour Tar Barrel event. The breakfast was lovely, the staff friendly (also provided helpful tips on surviving the Tar Barrels), room was comfortable, and location was excellent. We would recommend our weekend staying at this hotel and see the barrels to any of our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
25
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay. We throughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely return to this fantastic area. The hotel is very nice and not overpriced. The rooms and facilities are comfortable and well equipped.

Room Tip: Go to Joshuas Coutry Store just outside Ottery - great for tea and a fantastic shop. Good ham, olive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsworth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Better than average B&B in general, but let down for me by having no decent views. Building has been extended in all sorts of directions, hiding view to lovely garden. Weir isn't on the property so don't expect to be able to see it - or the river from the bedroom. However, it is very friendly, dinner is acceptable, the bed comfortable - though way, way too big for the room - and ensuite facilities good enough. The breakfast is really very good indeed with lots of fresh fruit, choice of cereals and porridge and wonderful cooked options. Scrambled egg and smoked salmon must have had a whole salmon in it - really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

First of all I should clarify that my boyfriend and I usually visit out of the way quirky backwater places, so staying in a traditional hotel like this is a little out of my comfort zone. That said, I'd come back here again. It looks a bit drab from the road, but go up the driveway and you come across this thatched roof building with a lovely garden and amazing interiors. Our bedroom was gorgeous and at one point I felt like a bit of a princess. My boyfriend particularly loved the fire place in the lounge, but he's a sucker for that kind of stuff.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter based on what we had. The owners said all the rooms are similarly furnished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a lovely, traditional hotel! Don't be put off by the entrance driveway, which doesn't look too appealing - it leads round to the carpark and quiet leafy gardens.The staff were helpful and friendly and were more than accommodating for my 3 year old son - they made up a special meal for him and gave us a larger double room all for the same price as single occupancy. The room was lovely and warm (there was a spare blanket provided), the bed comfortable and the bed linen of good quality. The ensuite was clean and fresh and the shower lovely and warm. The food was superb, both in the evening and for breakfast and was good value for money. Overall, the whole stay was excellent and I won't hesitate to book again. Worth far more than the 2 stars it has been awarded.
(book through Hotels.com via Quidco for 10% cashback)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at this lovely hotel many times. It has charm in abundance, from the top of its thatched roof, down to its snug lounge with Inglenook fire place. The bedrooms are compact but adequate, with ensuit in all. The garden is pristine and the food of the highest standard. A small, friendly, family business, it is the ideal location for touring East Devon, or a quiet overnights stay on a business trip. If you're looking for somewhere that is not your bulk standard chain hotel, then this is your place.

Room Tip: no 11 is probably the best. Overlooks the gardens and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times on business and I will alway use it when I'm in the area from now on. The rooms are a little on the small size, but they are more than adequate and very comfortable. The owners and staff are always very friendly and accommodating and the food is outstanding. I particularly recommend the chocolate brownie! It is excellent value for money and I would be happy to stay here with my family as well as on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tumbling Weir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tumbling Weir Hotel

Address: Ottery St. Mary EX11 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tumbling Weir Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Tumbling Weir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tumbling Weir Hotel Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tumbling Weir Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.