We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazzard Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottery St. Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mazzard Farm
Save
You added Mazzard Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   East Hill, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1QQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely family setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've just returned from a week at Mazzard Farm with our 2 children (4 and 7yrs) and we had a superb time. The owners Ruud and Jacqueline really put a lot of effort into the attention to detail to make sure you have all the ingriedients for a perfect, relaxing holiday. The children played with their new friends (safely) and really were free-range which was a first for us and them, they had so much fun investigating all the lovely site (tipi, goats, chickens, rabbit, play equipment, trampoline, scooters, painting, hammock etc) and grew in self confidence, it was lovely to watch. They played with their friends in the morning and evening for a couple of hours each time. It is at the end of a rural drive in a beautiful and safe environment for children. Don't be fooled into thinking that it is only good for families, it really is a fantastic setting for all and very very relaxing. Location wise, we were out and about every day (Escot, A la Ronde National Trust house, Donkey Santuary, Bicton Park, Budleigh Salterton, Branscombe, Beer and Sidmouth) we could easily fill another week with all the places we still didn't make it to, maybe next year? :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love everything about Mazzard Farm, from it's friendliness, relaxed atmosphere and beautiful setting to it's well placed location. We always visit for Sidmouth Folk Week and it a peaceful bolt-hole after a day spent there! Even though we came as a couple this time instead of with a group of friends as previously, it is a perfect place for families and groups because of the outdoor space - free range children!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first stayed at Mazzard Farm in the summer of 2011. We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to return this summer. Both experiences met our expectations of a relaxed, child-friendly getaway. Upon arrival you are met with a sign that states "children at play." Our son (two years ago when he was four and this year when he was six) loved running around the grounds, checking out the animals, and jumping on the trampoline. We liked being able to relax and know he was safe while on the property. We also enjoyed cooking local foods purchased at farm stands in the area. We stayed in Pippin Cottage for both of our visits and found it clean, well stocked with cooking gear (even when we entertained friends who were staying in a nearby village), and very comfortable. There is so much to do in the area, that (other than the beach) we didn't need to repeat any activities from two years ago. The Guide to Devon, provided by the owners, is all we needed to fill our stay with adventures and fun. We do recommend a fossil hunting trip if you are in the area. We missed out on this opportunity two years ago, and it is really worth it for your young ones (and you, as well, if you are like my husband) if they are interested in fossils and dinosaurs. I will definitely recommend Mazzard Farm to friends and family!

Room Tip: We are fans of Pippin Cottage. We stayed there twice. If you have a big group, inquire about the t...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very relaxing, easy-going place to be. We really enjoyed our stay - welcoming, friendly, helpful owners, everything you need in the cottage, lots of space and toys outside for energetic little ones and great attractions within 10-25 mins drive. Sidmouth beach is great for playing, splashing and rock pools. Escot was fantastic to explore. Pecorama and Beer beach were also lovely. Really recommend the accommodation and the area to families with young children. Thanks for a lovely stay, we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After three weeks of trying and failing to find a suitably family friendly holiday for an energetic two year old in Europe, a UK break felt like a bit of a let-down. But Mazzard Farm was no let-down - it is by far the most wonderful place we've ever stayed. It is uniquely beautiful, the cottages are brilliantly well appointed and there is masses for kids and parents to do, both on the property and in the surrounding areas. What sets it apart is how well thought through the whole thing is - the owners have considered absolutely everything, from a packed playroom, paddling pool and variety of play areas to keep younger kids busy, to a spectacularly peaceful hammock in a gorgeous orchard and a woodland walk for older kids and parents.

The location is brilliant too - East Devon is packed with activities for kids of all ages. Beaches, play parks, zoos, even a miniature railway that's straight out of 1963! But there's enough to do on the farm to keep the whole family occupied.

The owners, Ruud and Jackie, are incredibly helpful and will always find ways to help and give advice. Ruud helped me spot my first badger in the woods, and Jackie offers inhouse pampering sessions, which are fantastic.

Can see it would be great for other occasions too - groups of friends, family get-togethers, walking or cycling trips etc..

All in all, cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Pippin and Damson cottages are beautiful! All the cottage are compact so don't expect huge open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently spent a week on Mazzard Farm, the owners have really gone out of their way to create a relaxed environment for parents and their children. We have two very energetic young boys (aged 2 and 4), they absolutely loved it. The location is fantastic, there's stuff to do on the farm itself, loads of attractions nearby and lovely places to eat. Would definitely recommend Mazzard Farm for anyone with a young family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Mazzard Farm and had a wonderful time. From the friendly welcome (cream tea? Yes please!) to the toys for the kiddies to play with and the vast amount of information available as well as additional tips on things to do, we could not fault our stay.
Our 2 year old son loved it so much that he had a paddy whenever we left the farm, wanting to stay and play with the other toys and run around in the wonderful gardens. Everything that you need when travelling with little ones was provided, saving around a suitcase's worth of kit.
And it wasn't just great for the children, we treated ourself to a dinner with Anne, the private chef - having a toddler & a baby, getting out for a swish dinner isn't really an option. This solved the problem by bringing it to you. She was fantastic - friendly, knowledgeable and an amazing chef. We also both had an Indian head massage with Jack which was wonderful.
We loved it so much that we stayed for another night and were actually sad to go home, something that we have never experienced before.
A wonderful place to stay, and somewhere that may actually test our resolve to never visit the same place twice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mazzard Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mazzard Farm

Address: East Hill, Ottery St. Mary EX11 1QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ottery St. Mary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ottery St. Mary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mazzard Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mazzard Farm is a collection of 6 luxury holiday cottages (VB 4*), situated around a lovely courtyard. Cottages sleep between 2 and 10 each. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mazzard Farm Ottery St. Mary, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazzard Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.