We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Escarpment Retreat to your Saves list
Escarpment Retreat
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Williamstown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing relaxing a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This truly is a place of serenity all class beautiful room with a divine spa staff are wonderful go the extra mile , a wonderful breakfast in beautiful surroundings . Suzanna the massage therapist was excellent one of the best treatments I have had. The whole experience of the escarpment was a positive one and I will be back. Thank you Rochelle fisher

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    30
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
174
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

When you come across a hidden gem like the Escarpment it is hard to put all of the superlatives into one short critique, but to say wow, fantastic, truly memorable, romantic, breathtaking and down right country courteous might give those who have not stayed at this resort incentive to do so.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the room (especially the spar bath) is something inspiring and compelling to come back to .
My partner and I look forward to a return to this hidden treasure soon, and to anyone looking for a touch of magic we can't recommend the Escarpment too highly. Fantastic!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to unwind and relax before the busy Christmas madness time was upon us.
Well we found it and more at ' The Escapement.'
The surroundings were fabulous, our room cosy and very easy to sit back and be comfortable.
The service was outstanding.
Breakfast was scrummy every day.
The area was great to explore and we enjoyed everything we went to see.
We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed at Escarpment for two nights, Mon-Wed. It's really beautiful, with manicured gardens, and surrounded by rainforest. The weather was balmy and raining the whole time, but we love that, so it just added to our experience.

The staff are cheerful and helpful, and Carolynne is great, she took care of us perfectly. We checked in a little late (weather's fault), and were settled in straight away. I think there were only two or three other couples there while we were, but the cabins only have one neighbour, and ours was empty. Yay!

Yummy dinner was right on time, and we were left to our own devices for the duration, with the exception of breakfast (cooked to order) in the main dining room and checking in to the personal cinema. The firewood stock is kept up with firestarter, so even the least experienced fireplace enthusiasts can get a roaring one going, which we did on the second night.

The cottages themselves were just stunning. Canopy beds, sunken lounges and ambience lighting sets off the wooden & stone parquetry nicely. The bathrooms are huge, the spa bath big enough to fit two well-sized adults.

All in all, if you're looking for a relaxing getaway for just the two of you, I highly recommend the Escarpment. It is set a little apart from the bustle (what bustle?) of Mt Tamborine, so be prepared to drive around if you want to go to the boutique shops and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Thank you so much to the staff at the Escarpment for a wonderful break away. My first holiday in 4yrs. While I was only away for two nights it may as well have been two weeks. A truly beautiful place to escape to; so relaxing! I am looking forward to returning next year for my wedding anniversary with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We booked the Escarpment months ago for our wedding night and the night after. We looked at several places up on Tamborine and nowhere came close to this standard of accomodation, for not a significant amount more money. A beautiful breakfast delivered to our door the morning after our wedding was the perfect start, the only downside was that the weather was shocking so we didn't get chance to go and do anything (which actually was what we needed anyway after a stressful few months!). Gary and Carolynne are just the right balance of professional and friendly, and Carolynne cooks the BEST pancakes I have ever tasted! My only slight whinges if I was nitpicking would be that the shower is not very powerful, and that we didn't have much firewood dry enough to get a good fire going (BUT this was more down to the weather than anything!). Cannot recommend this place highly enough, we will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Absoultelty beautiful! apon arrival we were greated with a friendly smile & given bubbly & chocolates, only to walk into the villa with a stunning spa and bathroom, up onto an elevated area with a four posted bed, and walk down into a sunken loungeroom with fire place and out onto a private balcony with tranquil ponds and water feature views.
Not to mention the buffet breakfast each morning.
Take advantage of the Gold class cinema package with a movie of your choice & the relaxation of massages, facials, and full body indulgences.
Beautiful owners of Gary & Carolynne & complimentary staff.
Would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Retreat

Address: 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escarpment Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escarpment Retreat and Day Spa is an international award-winning mountain rainforest sanctuary perched on top of Mt Tamborine. Set on four acres of botanical gardens and lush rainforest, complete with flowing stream, small waterfall and cliff views at the rear of the property through the surrounding valleys as far as the Gold Coast and beyond. Featuring romantic chalet style villas in a garden setting with a Balinese flavour, plus the "Edge House" family accommodation, an award-winning Day Spa, private Gold Class Cinema and a spectacular tree house common room in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Escarpment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escarpment Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.