We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villas Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Escarpment Retreat to your Saves list
Escarpment Retreat
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villas Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very romantic! Gary was extremely sweet and helpful upon check in! The Escarpment has everything you need for a nice romantic getaway. We stayed in Villa 5. Very roomy villa with high ceilings, fireplace and relaxing hot tub. I know some of the other reviews mention privacy but the way the villas are situated, I really don't think anyone can see into them. After a lot of walking and sightseeing, we decided to have dinner in our villa which is delivered to your door at 6pm. Our meals were decent. The veal was tender. The last thing you want to do when you are away is to get up early. My only gripe is that breakfast is a bit too early and only gives you an one hour window from 7:30 am to 8:30 am.

Room Tip: Bring you own bubbles for the hot tub. The villa only had a small tube of shower gel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Public Relations Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Breakfast is between 8:30am-9:30am. This usually suits early and late risers. For health and safety reasons, we have an obligation to keep our foods fresh and so cannot keep our buffet (which consists of highly perishable foods such as dairy) open more than an hour. Our guests' health and safety is our priority at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    31
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
182
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A beautiful romantic setting amongst the bush. Rooms are large, comfy and cosy. Great big comfy bed and a fireplace and spa bath.
Gardens around windows could provide a bit more privacy, however it was obvious that there was landscaping in progress. Our villa (2) would have been even lovelier with the water feature running.
Enjoyed a massage with foot scrub and head massage, however, felt it was a bit rushed and the package did not last a full hour. (The massage was supposed to be an hour with added foot scrub and head massage, the whole thing lasted about 50 minutes) and I felt was a bit over priced.
Great hosts who know the are and can recommend places to see and eat.

Room Tip: Villa 2 was cosy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Public Relations Manager at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We try very hard to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and was concerned that you felt your treatment was rushed. Please do give us a call as we would like to find out what happened. We have since spoken to our therapists and reiterated your statement to make sure it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowooomba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited the escarpment retreat for our 5th wedding anniversary and had a beautiful relaxing time. The staff were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. The room was exactly what we were after, a cabin with a fireplace which made it very cosy.
The room was getting a little old and had a bit of a musty smell to it. The only real downfall we found was that since there are 2 cabins joined to hear other the walls are very thin. But we didn't end up finding this as a bother to us. The gardens were beautiful and the views at the end of the property are wonderful.
It was great being able to loan movies (and some latest release) for the night.
I would recommend staying there if you want a peaceful time away from the rat race.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Beautiful place to stay. It's very quiet and relaxing with amazing views and the rooms are very cozy.
I will highly recommend staying at the escarpment retreat but remember to take some warm cloths as it can be cold being in a rainforest environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

A great place to switch off (we did literally - no phones or screens for 3 days). The morning we couldn't make breakfast Gary rustled us up a morning snack the night before - my husband was impressed. After my spa treatment I emerged totally chilled out and the therapist had Googled how best we should travel to Sea World. Just nice little gestures many service providers don't bother with any more. The accommodation was unique, loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just Beautiful! Gary and Carolynne go the extra mile to ensure your stay is perfect. Personalised service and help with any request including dinner reservations and personal drivers. Staying back on a Friday night to check us in, when we were delayed by Jetstar. Thankyou very much!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend stay at The Escarpment Retreat. The villa was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. The spa bath was fantastic and the lovely four poster bed was heavenly. It was the perfect place to sit back and relax in the tranquil grounds. The food was absolutely beautiful and the breakfasts were to die for. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing hassle free weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Retreat

Address: 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escarpment Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escarpment Retreat and Day Spa is an international award-winning mountain rainforest sanctuary perched on top of Mt Tamborine. Set on four acres of botanical gardens and lush rainforest, complete with flowing stream, small waterfall and cliff views at the rear of the property through the surrounding valleys as far as the Gold Coast and beyond. Featuring romantic chalet style villas in a garden setting with a Balinese flavour, plus the "Edge House" family accommodation, an award-winning Day Spa, private Gold Class Cinema and a spectacular tree house common room in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Escarpment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escarpment Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.