We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day get away early bird special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Escarpment Retreat to your Saves list
Escarpment Retreat
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 day get away early bird special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent 3 wonderful days here we managed to pick an early bird special .Arrived met with Gary ,a really nice fella. We were giving the option if we wanted the sparkling wine then or later we opted for later then sat outside reading our books enjoying the beautiful surroundings and listening to the birdlife Room was as good as the photos ,sure its not such a bright room but sets the mood well . One thing i would mention is i think if your staying here for 3 days ,probably could do with a few more hangars in the wardrobe .
If you want they have a decent selection of dvds to pass the evening away ,we slept very well bed was large and very comfortable.
Breakfast was good and no rush at all .
Service was more on the relaxed tip,but worked well .Caroline at reception kindly helped us out on a few occasions at places to go etc ,as well as arranging the tamborine mountain hop on and off bus to pick us up ,i would thoroughly recommend using those guys if you dont want to drive a car ,they will take you to all the best places.
I hope one day in the future to return to Escarpment Retreat ,it was a wonderful experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    31
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
182
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Escarpment Retreat for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. We are both avid travellers, having recently returned from overseas, and found the Escarpment to be almost perfect in every detail. The rooms were clean and romantic, the food (both dinner and breakfast) were tasty and plentiful, the grounds and scenery are simply fantastic, and we found the staff to be both friendly and inviting.

The private Gold Class cinema was a great novelty (we wandered up there in our dressing gowns (provided) with a nice red tucked our arm). Another little bonus we discovered was the St Bernards Hotel which is only 3 minutes walk away - so easy access to drinks, meals and pokies if you don't want to drive!

We really enjoyed the flickering fireplace during the evening and waking to the sounds of the rainforest wildlife - overall, we had a great time. Certainly we will return to the Escarpment in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived at the Escarpment by accident having decided that we were unhappy with another venue. Carolynne could not have been more kind and helpful. Our time was private, relaxing and luxurous. The view was breathtaking. We could not rate it more highly... :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After looking forward to this romantic getaway unfortunately I can't help but feel disappointed by the overall experience.. Firstly the female at the reception rubbed us the wrong way as soon as we walked in - cold character who we felt to be unnecessarily condescending... On arrival at the villa we discovered that even though they are lovely they are far too dark- with all the windows and blinds open AS WELL AS THE LIGHTS it is still terribly dark inside. I ran the bath but the water kept draining out even with the plug in- annoying... Lastly the breakfast option only runs for an hour and not an option to have available in your room...

Overall I think for $400 per night they really need to pick up their game and make their customers feel welcome. Not to mention that there was no bottle of sparkling as we had been told at the time of booking. On check out there was not as much as even a question of how our stay was etc... Basically I get the impression that management just don't care.. It's sad really as this place has the potential to be the top of its competition up on Mount Tambourine... I do wonder why people work in the service industry when they clearly just dont have the social skills.

If you're looking for a romantic getaway maybe look for somewhere a little more guest friendly- not allocated 60mins for breakfast etc.. After all it is meant to be a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review as we understand that everyone is busy and that it does take time to write a review.We would like to respond to your review:
Re: Reception Greeting
Our feedback questionnaire is emailed to guests on checkout. It is comprehensive and includes questions about how guests were greeted. In excess of 90% of our guest responses show results between ‘good’ and ‘outstanding’ – over 95% of those responses were for the ‘female’ you mentioned at reception. Although we try very hard to please everybody, we just have to accept that everyone is different and that we cant please you.
Re: Check-out Issue Discussion
We sometimes have a queue of people waiting to check-out or calls coming in. Sometimes too, check out occurs right in the middle of the busy breakfast period. We do try to engage guests during check-out but usually this just isnt practical, which is why we made sure that there is a feedback form emailed to guests. By the time they get home, it is usually waiting for tme in their imbox. We rely on this guest feedback system ....more about it below
Re: Management Does Not Care
Out of many businesses in the Scenic Rim region, last year ours was voted the best. Last week Tripadvisor awarded us the Certificate Of Excellence for being in the top 10% internationally. This week the CEO of one of the largest charities in Australia visited us to say thank you for our efforts. Our comprehensive feedback system uses international best practices, is the culmination of 4 years of research and design. We implemented that system because we do care – it would only make good business sense to be this way. If the response shows an area that is lacking, we then plan an action response that would incorporate whatever department is responsible. Our next step would be to write a response to our guests telling them how we have addressed the issue.
However, we cannot rectify any problems unless the issue is communicated in the first place. It would have been wiser if you had communicated your problems during your stay so that we could have addressed them and your holiday could have turned out better.
Re: Lights
Part of our statistics includes ambience (ie romance) and most people prefer romance over bright light. However all villas now have a mixture of led (bright) lights and soft warm 2700k compact fluros. In addition, all villas have 100w standing lamps and 100w bedside lights. We walk a fine line between practicalities of reading and creating mood for romance
Re: Bath Plug
It is not practical for our housekeepers to fill up the large spa bath in between services so we really have no way of identifying such small issues as an ineffective bath plug. However, it would be a simple matter of informing reception as we have a back-up supply of whatever guests need (this is also written in the villa compendiums just in case guests do not know this). We also explain to guests that if they have any issues, they simply need to dial 9 on their internal phone. If we do not have whatever is needed, we would certainly endeavour to obtain it (we once drove 50km just to buy our guest a charger for her phone).
If you had communicated this simple maintenance issue at any stage during your stay, we could have done something about the matter,spared your annoyance and improved your experience
Re: Breakfast Only Runs For An Hour
Part of our attraction is that we are a small establishment. We do not ask guests to eat within one hour, simply to arrive for breakfast between these times. Guests are welcome to stay as long as they like. We are not like a large hotel, only have 6 villas and can only serve up to 12 people at any time. We cannot therefore pay staff to stand around for a long time. Our food is served fresh. We would be violating the health act to leave food out for hours
Again, if you had only communicated your perspective, we would have tried to accommodate your needs, spared your annoyance and improved the quality of your stay. We could have made up a continental breakfast tray, complete with toaster, condiments, fruit and juice the night before and send it up to your villa so that you can sleep late and still have breakfast.
Re: Price $400 Per Night, Pick Up Their Game
This rate is much higher than our normal rates. You had obviously booked during our peak period. The premium prices during peak periods are an industry norm across the world. Our suggestion is for you to book during non-peak periods so that you can reap the full benefits of our retreat while at the same time pay lower prices.
Re: Not To Mention There Was No Bottle Of Sparkling Wine
Our website is quite clear that guests receive a glass of sparkling wine and chocolates upon arrival. We would have mentioned upon check-in that guests can come to reception anytime during office hours to get their treats. Once again, you simply needed to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

IT HAS BEEN A COUPLE OF YEARS SINCE WE STAYED THERE, SO I WAS SURPRISED TO RECEIVE THIS REQUEST.
Hopefully it has improved. There is NO under-cover car parking - there was a massive hail storm the day BEFORE we arrived (the hail was still piled up everywhere) and had we been there our car would have been severely damaged. The walk from our car to our accommodation was all up hill and winding, and though very pretty, rather difficult (especially when carrying luggage). I'm all for mood lighting, but the lighting in our unit was so dim it wasn't possible to read the paper without a torch. There were three steps inside the entrance up to the bed level, and because of the lack of light I fell and hurt my knee. The bathroom (we were in an end unit) had a very large glass wall the length of the spa, but NO curtain or blind. Apparantly they have a problem with mould because of the climate. I bathed by very dull candlelight just in case there was anyone outside in the bush! The advertised bottle of sparkling wine was not provided, and when I asked about this, was told that because we were dining out, they didn't think we would need it. I insisted on having it anyway. The landscaping is quite unique and the units well decorated, but in my opinion the first priority needs to be the comfort of the guests, not just all show.
Definately not for anyone with mobility problems.
Ron and Pam

Room Tip: You woiuld need to see it before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ron and Pam,
We are sorry to hear that unlike most other reviews, you did not feel that the experience was satisfactory.

I would personally like to respond to your feedback and look forward to you having a positive experience should you ever wish to return.

Re: IT HAS BEEN A COUPLE OF YEARS SINCE WE STAYED THERE, SO I WAS SURPRISED TO RECEIVE THIS REQUEST.

We agree. The mailout is Tripadvisor’s latest marketing tool initiative. We were not able to modify the contents and have written to Tripadvisor twice to ask them to please stop sending these requests to our ex-guests.

Re: no undercover parking

Our retreat is in the midst of Australia’s first protected natural forests. You can imagine that building undercover or underground car parking such as those in the city would ruin the very atmosphere that guests seek us out for.

Re: Hilly and winding paths

We are located on a mountain. Most properties on the mountain have hilly or winding driveways or paths. Lifts or elevators as well as escalators are not an option as again, we are located in a natural environment and do not want to ruin the very atmosphere our guests seek us out for. It is only a short walk from the car park to the villas

Re: Dim lighting

We are a romantic retreat and the lighting reflects this. Part of our statistics includes ambience (ie romance) and most people prefer romance over bright light. However all villas now have a mixture of LED (bright) lights in the kitchen/lounge and soft warm 2700k compact fluros in the sleeping quarters. In addition, all villas have 100w standing lamps and 100w bedside lights. We walk a fine line between practicalities of reading and creating mood for romance

Re: Steps

The steps (two, not three) that you mentioned has an automatic sensor light that turns on the moment you step anywhere near the steps. We have them serviced every 3 months by an electrician

Re: Curtains and Blinds

The lower bathrooms have slat blinds and the other bathrooms which are nearly two storeys high, face the tops of the trees outside – well away from prying eyes and with a beautiful natural view as well

Re: Sparkling wine

We advertise a glass of welcoming sparkling wine, not a bottle. If staff gave you a bottle that you insisted on, it was only because they were going above and beyond what they were supposed to do.

Re: Mobility problems

We would have gladly placed you in a villa where there are provisions for mobility impairment had you mentioned at any point that it was what you required. As there was no communication on this matter, we therefore placed you in an ordinary villa. Proper and fair communication on your part would have solved this matter quickly for you and you might indeed have had a more enjoyable stay if our staff was informed.

Summary
We wish to thank you for going to the effort of posting a review as we know that it takes a certain amount of time to do so. If you had informed us at the time of your stay about any of your issues, we may have been able to assist you in having a more enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for a romantic weekend away and must say it was an almost perfect holiday! The fireplace kept us warm, and the breakfast on each morning was wonderful. Very highly recommend, and looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What an amazing stay we had at this beautiful retreat! From the moment we arrived to our very sad departure, we were completely bathed in kindness and beauty!! We have travelled extensively with our work and the staff here are the best of the best!! Thank you to all at The Escarpment....you are magical!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escarpment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Retreat

Address: 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escarpment Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escarpment Retreat and Day Spa is an international award-winning mountain rainforest sanctuary perched on top of Mt Tamborine. Set on four acres of botanical gardens and lush rainforest, complete with flowing stream, small waterfall and cliff views at the rear of the property through the surrounding valleys as far as the Gold Coast and beyond. Featuring romantic chalet style villas in a garden setting with a Balinese flavour, plus the "Edge House" family accommodation, an award-winning Day Spa, private Gold Class Cinema and a spectacular tree house common room in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Escarpment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escarpment Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.