We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple's break away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Escarpment Retreat

Save Saved
You added Escarpment Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Escarpment Retreat
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Night Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mount Tamborine
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“couple's break away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Escarpment Retreat after Easter as we needed a chance to relax and rest. The property is near the main road, but as it's well away from the busy areas on the mountain there isn't a lot of traffic or noise. It has security gates to ensure safety at night (you get a beeper to open/close the gate with your room key). The gardens are lovely and well maintained, creating a tranquil feel to the place. Carolynn was courteous and efficient in checking us in and giving us information on things to do on the mountain. The property isn't suitable for disabled visitors or those with mobility issues as you have to negotiate a steep path and steps to get to the rooms.

There are 3 duplex villas, a separate building with reception/dining room/sunroom and another separate building containing the cinema and spa. Despite booking well in advance and staying for a relatively long time we were given what I would consider the worst located room (unit 2). Our bathroom faced the walkway leading to units 3 & 4 so we had to keep the plantation shutters shut all the time for privacy. The only way to open and close them was to clamber into the deep spa bath to reach them, so it was easier to just leave them shut all the time - this made the room very dark and meant you didn't have a nice view from the spa like the other units would have enjoyed. The french doors opened from the lounge onto the small balcony but this faced directly across to the doors and balcony of unit 3 so there was no privacy there either.

The view over the escarpment from the back of the property is lovely (pity the villas aren't built there to enjoy the view) but the swing seat and furniture is old and worn. There is another little pergola with table and chairs beside the creek near the waterfall - nice location, but needs to maintained and furniture upgraded. Best place to sit and relax is on the balcony beside the sunroom with a book and a cup of tea listening to the waterfall while the sun warms your back. The website suggests there are nice walks on the property - that's really an exaggeration. The walk to the escarpment view at the back of the property is just walking down a gravel driveway past the manager's house. The very small rainforest area at the front of the property is picturesque, cool and quiet, but only about a 2 minute walking distance.

The interior of the villa is well laid out with quality furniture and fittings (though our lounge was quite lumpy). The king size 4 poster bed was gorgeous and very comfortable. There is a TV and DVD player (you can borrow DVD's from their library at reception, but choice is limited, so take your own) but if you'd prefer music you can connect your ipod or iphone to a fitting on the bedside clock. The kitchenette has enough to give you home comforts such without the drudge of having to cook while on holidays. There was only 1 well used chux wipe under the sink which we only used to wipe down the filthy table on the balcony - wouldn't use it to wash dishes.

We used the fire on one of the nights as it was quite cold but found it didn't warm the room at all so we had to revert to using the airconditioner.

The bathroom was spacious and clean with separate shower and spa bath. Despite promoting itself as eco-friendly the towel were changed every day even though we hung them up. Maybe they could consider giving people the option to keep their towels if hung up or have them changed by leaving them on the floor as happens in many other eco-friendly hotels these days. Replacing half used containers of body wash and soap each day is another unnecessary waste. Consider wall mounted shower gel/shampoo dispensers in the shower - cost effective and eco-friendly.

I wasn't overly impressed with the cleaning of the room. Don't think the floor was cleaned daily. By day 3 our floor seemed very dirty. The outdoor furniture was dirty and there were cobwebs around the doors and eaves (pay attention to detail). The worst was the day that the cleaner left the bag out of our bathroom bin (containing feminine hygiene items) on the kitchen bench.

We thought we were staying at Fawlty Towers when we went down for breakfast on the first morning. The woman serving was quite flustered and we had to wait ages for her to take our order. There was no coffee or tea bags left so she eventually brought a coffee bag as she didn't have time to redo the coffee percolator. Then we realized there were no cups anyway so had t wait for her to come back to get them for us. There was fresh fruit and yoghurt available on the side which was quite nice. Cereal selection was dismal - Coco Pops, Cornflakes or Muesli. There was a toaster and jams, but no bread to toast. Three types of juice, but they were the cheap sugary watered down supermarket variety. The cooked breakfasts however were excellent. During our stay we tried the scrambled eggs, poached eggs and full cooked breakfast and couldn't fault them. The hash browns turned out to be potato gems though. Service on the other 2 mornings was great, so think there is 1 staff member who couldn't cope with having a full house (as that's a maximum of 12 guests it's a bit concerning).

We used the cinema on our first night there. Bubbles and chocolates were left there for us to having while watching our DVD on the big screen. The seats are getting a bit old and tired and the footrest kept going down when my husband put his legs on it.

We had the 2 course meal from Sundowners delivered to our room on the 2nd night. The prawn linguine was quite tasty, though way too much pasta. The cheesecake and pavlova were very average. I'd recommend eating out. Highly recommend Masala Shanti, the indian restaurant near Gallery Walk. We ate there on our last night and found it exceptional. We ate at St Bernards next door on our first night. The food there was average, but the views and atmosphere were fantastic - go there for a drink and view over the escarpment late in the day, but don't bother with dinner. The coffee plantation has the best coffee I've had anywhere for a long time - no bitter after taste.

I had a one hour massage on our last afternoon there, hoping to end the trip in a relaxing way. I have never had such a painful massage before. My forearm was still sore and bruised a week later. It was most certainly not relaxing and caused pain rather than relieving it.

One activity that isn't publicized on the mountain that we really enjoyed was barefoot bowls. You can bowl any day (free on Sundays, $8 each on other days) for as long as you want and the drinks are cheap as chips.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Escarpment Resort but there are details they need to work on to make it truly top class. I've certainly stayed in less expensive properties that were better quality and better value, though not on Tamborine Mountain I admit.

Room Tip: Units 1 & 6 have private balconies. Avoid 2 & 3 as their balconies and french doors face eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    30
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
163
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you're looking for a romantic getaway to the Mt Tamborine region, Escarpment offers brilliant luxury villa accommodation that will exceed your expectations. Gary and Carolynne are both very friendly and helpful hosts who strive to ensure that you get the best experience from your stay. This accommodation is perfect for those wishing to share a romantic getaway or to simply relax and sink into a peaceful world of their own, consumed by the beautiful sounds of nature. The views are terrific, and the experience of the home cinema is one not to be missed. I was highly impressed with the quality of the breakfast provided each morning, and wished I could only stay longer. It's no wonder why Escarpment receives such brilliant ratings with it's unique experiences. I recommend this place to all travelers searching for a peaceful retreat away from their everyday busy life. One again, thank you Gary and Carolynne!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
That is very kind of you Conal. We love the effect that the escarpment has on people when they arrive and come under it's magic spell. We see it on their faces and we know that there is more to come when they get to their romantic villas. So thank you for putting into words and sharing what the feeling is like when guests stay at the escarpment retreat

PS: Susy, our new masseuse, is getting lots of ooh ahhh's from our guests during their treatments. Will arrange a complimentary massage for you next time you would like to escape up here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent three nights over Easter at Escarpment and cannot rate It highly enough. Carolyn and staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms have all the comforts of home with a luxurious feel and the grounds are peaceful and very well kept. Susans massages and facials are to die for and the spa in the room is huge with great views. We will definitely be back come winter time so we can light the wood fire.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our recent getaway to the Escarpment was one to remember. Upon arriving through the gates, we had stepped foot into a sanctuary of calm which was very much needed from our busy every day lives. The private villas were equipped with divine four poster beds, large spa bath, fireplace, private balcony and overall very romantic design perfect for relaxation. The grounds were perfectly manicured and the view over the valley was to die for! During the day, we'd wake up for a magnificant breakfast cooked promptly and served delightfully by the cook.
The Escarpment was situated near the Witches Chase Cheese Co. the world renouned Mt. Tambourine Distillery and for the sweet-toothed, 'Fudge Heaven'. For a bit of adventure we visited the glow worm caves on Mt Tambourine, the Sky Walk and had trips to Lamington National Park. In the evening we had a Gold Class cinema Package which included access to the cinema room for a whole night, champagne and chocolates!. A big thank you to Gary and Carolynne who were very friendly and went out of their way to help us and inspire our travels. Will definately be going back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
We appreciate the Fantastic Feedback on your Gorgeous Getaway. Especially liked your helpful overview of the many great things to see and do when guests come up here. Many guests are stressed to the max when they arrive. Being able to escape here where they can turn off, relax and rediscover their most special relationship with each other is the very essence of what we strive to provide. Thank you Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying one night, ( wish it was longer) of bliss at the Escarpment Retreat.

Booking accommodation was easy and hassle free after a couple of emails, all was organised.

We drove through the gates and it was like driving into another part of the world..beautiful landscaped gardens, with a lush tropical feel surrounded us...with the feeling of peace and tranquility.

We were quickly checked in and after a friendly chat, decided to come back for our champagne and chocolates and walk around the grounds...

The villas are beautiful, amazing, blending into the rainforest like grounds, with wood and stone and glass, natural elements. The four poster bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious with a generous sized spa , surrounded by a bay window, giving the feeling you were outside.
Comfortable lounge, with tv/dvd - ( we took advantage of their dvd library), double doors opening to a deck and chairs to relax in. Also, fire place with basket of wood/kindling if you wished to light. Lots of small touches such as candles scattered around the villa, ready to be lit, giving a warm romantic glow in the night.

We went for a walk through the grounds ( a must) and followed the path to end of the property, where a chair swing greets you...and the most amazing view through to the gold coast, it was here we sipped our glasses of champage and nibbled on chocolates.

All you could hear was the birds.....peace and quiet.

A gazebo is also on the property next to a babbling stream with a small waterfall.

Breakfast was 5 star and plentiful. Cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee, juices plentiful, also given a menu for choice ranging from yummy pancakes to full hot breakfast eggs, bacon etc.

Will def. be back and want to try the spa ( lots of options)!

Thank you for a wonderful, pleasurable stay.

Chris and Sylvia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
What a lovely review, especially for emphasizing what our property has to offer.

Reviews like yours inspire people to escape and stay with us so thank you.

Life is always more fulfilling when we can help to make others life more enjoyable. The biggest "complaint" that we get on departure is guests wishing that they had stayed longer.

Looking forward to having the both of you back with us again and having you experience one of our divine massages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The arrival was magnificent - lush surrounds and a pleasant greeting from the management Gary and Caroline. We were welcomed in the sitting room with freshly brewed coffee whilst listening to the sounds of the flowing stream below. The room was beautifully appointed and the four poster bed sensational not to mention the amazing spa bath - fit for two!
The onsite gold class cinema is perfect and they have a great selection of movies to choose from.

Room Tip: all rooms are surrounded by lush tropical rainforest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.

Pleased you liked many of our features including our cinema. Regarding our great range of movies, we quickly learnt that we are better to go with the best rather than the latest and so we use David's top 100 (from The Movie Show) as there will always be movies there that guests have wanted to watch but never got the chance.

We felt very privileged that you stayed with us for such an important occasion and were able to experience many of the things that we can offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon although we didn't announce this. I can understand another reviewer feeling the lady on reception was somewhat unfriendly as this also bothered me (more than my partner). But on the following days we stayed she was very helpful and generous, and was responsible for organising really lovely breakfasts. Breakfast wise the selection was really quite nice.
Rooms have all the usual although no microwave. Quite dark also through lack of natural light, although beautifully appointed and what a bed!! Just like a cloud.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscarpmentRetreat, Owner at Escarpment Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you very much for the review.

Yes Carolynne will do anything to make guests stay special. She has a heart as big as Phar Lap's and her breakfasts are to live for (definitely not to die for).

The microwaves are complimentary as mentioned on our website and in the compendium. It's just that folk tend to come her to escape cooking and the breakfasts are so large plus we often supply dinners at night as part of the packages so they really dont have a day to day use.

So we have removed anything that resembles having to work, from the villas unless they are requested in which case we deliver them and set them up. To get a microwave guests simply need to dial 9 on their internal phone

Am pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your breakasts. Worth passing on that as a first for mt tamborine, we are now providing gourmet in-house dining every night of the week, delivered direct to guests front doors

We are trying to work out whether folk want atmosphere or light. It is probably a combination of both so we are experimenting with extra lights and hope to have them strategically located so as not to kill the atmosphere. We decided that if we put them in as overheads it would destroy the mood. We ordered equivalent of 100 watt incandescent 3000k warm white bubs for the new portable desk light but they are a special order and it will still be another month before they are made

Yes the beds are amazing. In the good old days, we would knock on guests doors to remind them that they were going to miss out on the fab breakfasts, only to be greeted by someone two minutes later who we had woken from a deep sleep and wondering what was going on. So now we let sleeping guests sleep

All the best to the two of you for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Escarpment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escarpment Retreat

Address: 123 Alpine Terrace, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escarpment Retreat 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escarpment Retreat and Day Spa is an international award-winning mountain rainforest sanctuary perched on top of Mt Tamborine. Set on four acres of botanical gardens and lush rainforest, complete with flowing stream, small waterfall and cliff views at the rear of the property through the surrounding valleys as far as the Gold Coast and beyond. Featuring romantic chalet style villas in a garden setting with a Balinese flavour, plus the "Edge House" family accommodation, an award-winning Day Spa, private Gold Class Cinema and a spectacular tree house common room in the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Escarpment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escarpment Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escarpment Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.