We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aaronlee Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aaronlee Retreat to your Saves list
Aaronlee Retreat
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13 Munro Court, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Lovely Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last weekend we stayed at this amazing place with beautiful cottages and breathtaking views. The spa cottage was spacious, nice comfortable furniture, great verandah, yummy breakfast supplied and was extremely clean with all the comforts of home. We enjoyed cooking on the barbeque and sitting in the peaceful grounds. Ian was very helpful explaining the local area and interesting places to see. I would recommend these cottages to everyone and can't wait till we are able to have another stay.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My partner and I decided to head to Mt Tamborine for the day before heading back to work from Christmas holidays, we were having such a lovely time that we made the spontaneous decision to stay for the night, after determining our budget and making a few calls we found Aaronlee. What a magnificent place!! (Who knows what the person in the review before me is writing about!!) We booked the spa suite for $24 more than what we were going to pay at a local motel (which reminded us of Faulty Towers), a spacious 2 room suite + bathroom with a spa bath, beautiful bacon, eggs, & bread provided in our fridge so we could cook our breakfast at our leisure. The views, wow!! Absolutely spectacular!! And on top of the views you have access to the BBQ!! The pool was refreshing and the best part was that it was just so quiet, we got the last room and you wouldn't have known anyone else was around. Ian the Owner was just so accommodating, easy to chat to and quite the cheeky character (he'd probably say the same about me!!). Anyway Ian, once again, sincerest thanks for a wonderful short break!

Fae & Mark

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family of 5 managed to book a 3-bedroom cottage at Aaronlee Retreat for 2 nights in early Dec, with much thanks to the help of Tamborine Mountain Chamber of Commerce.

We were really wowed by the beautiful surroundings of the cottage, especially the views of the mountains and Gold Coast in the distance. The cottage is very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is quite well equipped except it did not have bowls for cereals. We were given eggs, bacon & bread to cook our own breakfast, plus a complimentary bottle of wine. We wake up to clean and fresh air, and much greenery every morning. My children had fun playing with the dog, Hugo from next door too.

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and would love to come back for a longer stay. Thank you so much, Ian, for having us.

Room Tip: Bring your own bowls & a frying pan, or foil to use in the oven. I did not use the grill pan pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Aaronlee for 3 nights in a Spa Suite. The rooms were spacious and tidy, good supply of breakfast (bacon, eggs, bread) but what made it stand out was the location. As well as being off the beaten track and very peaceful - the views were great from every room. There is a swimming pool (although we did not use it) and a love swing that we sat on every night with a glass of wine and admired the lights of the Gold Coast in the distance. There is plenty to do in Mt Tamborine - including beautiful rain forest walks, great eating spots. We recommend the St Bernards Hotel for views and dinner (they do a mean roast on Thursday nights) and Cafe Deli Vino for coffee/cakes). We will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Offering panoramic mountain views, the traditional Aaronlee Retreat is beautifully and centrally located in Tamborine Mountains..
The rooms are all non-smoking and equipped with tea-making facilities. Some rooms have a balcony or a terrace. WiFi in the rooms is provided free.
The atmosphere is very therapeutic and we kinda regretted to have made the booking for only 2 nights stay. I would definitely return for longer duration..
The owner/manager Mr Ian Portos is a wonderful person and very helpful. My kids fell in love with the neighbors dog named 'Hugo'. Apparently the dog love kids. My overall experience was exceptional with the nice smelling breeze early in the morning and plenty of space for all. All the theme parks like Dreamworld/Whitewater world are nearer to the place.

Room Tip: Try and request Ian for the unit overlooking the mountains. Also if you have more individuals in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A beautiful location for a nice relaxing break. The accommodation is spacious and everything is provided, including very generous supplies of bacon, eggs, bread, marmalade, etc. in the fridge. The owner, Ian, was very welcoming and helpful. A thoroughly enjoyable break, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The two bedroomed cottage is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I recently stayed at aaronlee with my sister and found it to be a wonderful friendly & quite place which was just what we were looking for. The management were wonderful and couldn't do enogh to assist us. Thank you Ian. I will be definately staying with you again. Judy & Deb

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aaronlee Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaronlee Retreat

Address: 13 Munro Court, Mount Tamborine, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Mount Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aaronlee Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aaronlee Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaronlee Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.