We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious living, fine dining and warmest of welcomes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Villars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau de Villars to your Saves list
Chateau de Villars
Rue du Moulin, 24530 Villars, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Villars B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gracious living, fine dining and warmest of welcomes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We heard about Kevin and Bill's wonderful chateau through Crossed Grain, the magazine for members of Coeliac UK (http://www.coeliac.org.uk/food-industry/marketing-opportunities/crossed-grain-magazine). We love visiting France but gluten-free security is hard to come by. Not, though, at Chateau de Villars. From the moment we crossed the threshold we knew that we were in a safe place. My wife could relax and enjoy everything on the splendid menu, confident that the kitchen was managed scrupulously to avoid any gluten contamination.
Then we forgot about Coeliac disease!
We got on with revelling in the grandness of the chateau, its exquisite grounds, wild flowers and trees, its tranquil atmosphere of relaxed luxury and the attentive but discreet care shown by Kevin and Bill and Richard. We made good use of the honesty bar,and had cocktails mixed for us with aplomb. We relaxed in the library with our books and felt utterly pampered. Our rooms were spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated. In the heart of the country, we were serenaded by spring birdsong, undisturbed by the outside world.
We are so grateful for the revitalising break we spent at Chateau de Villars and would thoroughly recommend a visit. We will definitely be returning....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riberac, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Haven't stayed at this hotel, but was lucky enough to have Sunday lunch there recently. Beautiful building from the outside and equally stunning inside. The owners have rennovated the building sensitively and the comfortable furnishings make your feel you are in your very own country house (I wish!) From the word go, we were made to feel amazingly welcome, and as it was a little breezy we were offered either a table inside or outside on the veranda. We chose outside. although the pretty dining room with lovely chandelier was tempting but the stunning terrace with stone balustrade overlooking the extensive grounds won the day. Food was amazing, and for anyone with speical dietary needs, the owners, Kevin and Bill, go out of their way to make sure you that have what you need. Can't recommend more, the excellent food, the hosts and their lovely labradoodle puppies made this a really civilised, stylish way to spend a few hours! Hope to add to this review in the future with an actual stay at the hotel....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went for our first visit to Chateau de Villars in June as my wife had recently been diagnosed as a coeliac. I was slightly apprehensive as I like my "normal" food and being 6ft 6ins tall like my comfort with a large bed. I need not have worried. As has been previously stated by Truda who we met in June, Kevin and Bill make you feel totally at home as if you are joining them for a luxury house party. The food prepared by Bill and assisted by Richard is outstanding whether you are a coeliac or not. Breakfast is dual purpose so I could still have croissants and french bread from the local boulangerie but with clear demarcation to ensure no cross-contamination. The rooms are a delight; all tastefully furnished and the bed was large and comfortable!

We wanted another restful break and managed to book a further five days last week and have just returned home. Another wonderful experience with again delightful other house guests. I am not sure how Kevin and Bill maintain their high standard.

We shall return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's lynn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Having read the other reviews I will not repeat those eloquent words and totally endorse them. What stands out, apart from the wonderful accommodation and food, is the hosts, Kevin and Bill helped by Richard who really make the holiday and you feel you are visiting and being made most welcome by friends. There is no other experience like it to my knowledge. I also endorse the quality of the food and emphasise that it is for main stream dining not just for coeliacs and other dietary needs although they are superb at this catering and anyone with those needs can be totally relaxed. We have been four years on the trot and will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at Chateau de Villars in late May, 2012. The Chateau is one of the finest privately owned and managed small hotels with a restaurant that I have ever stayed in. The hotel and its grounds are beautiful. The rooms are all different and furnished with very comfortable beds with gorgeous linens, very good lighting and beautiful wood furniture. The bathrooms are very modern with all of the amenities one would expect at a fine hotel. The kitchen consistently turns out delicious food served in an elegant manner both inside the well appointment dining room or on the beautiful outdoor terrace. There is also a swimming pool. The management and staff of Chateau de Villars are very friendly and knowledgable about the local area. The hotel is located in Villars, a small village in the Dordogne region of France, and is close to many other beautiful villages and magnificent 16th century chateaux. Villar also has it own Grotto with dazzling rock formations and prehistoric cave paintings. The hotel is located within a two hour drive to the city of Bordeaux and its world famous wineries. Chateau de Villars is a perfect place to stay in the French countryside to relax and/or to explore the Dordogne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredakers
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family had never been to the Dordogne region of France, and we chose to visit the Chateau de Villars. The property and chateau were perfectly beautiful. English speaking hosts, Kevin and Bill were very formidable and we enjoyed their joyous hospitality not to mention their delicious cuisine. We visited the small village of Brontome which was very charming. Our son enjoyed the swimming pool and we all had a more than magical weekend. Our visit of three days, was much too short as we could have stayed for a week or more being totally pampered by Kevin and Bill! It was a magical weekend and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We viewed all 5 rooms in the main house along with the guest house and the apartment which is for re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the immense good fortune to stay at the Chateau de Villars for a week in June 2012, a truly wonderful holiday in all respects.
Kevin and Bill are the most welcoming and hospitable hosts, their continuous hard work, forward planning and meticulous attention to detail belied by the peaceful and serene atmosphere of the Chateau. Their flair for design and Kevin's tasteful photographic compositions have created a beautiful venue for their guests, but their generosity and kindness turn the luxury of the surroundings into a home. From the restful bedrooms, with well-appointed bathrooms, to the many comfortable places both inside and outside in which to sit and relax, one is spoilt for choice. Then there are the beautiful grounds in which to stroll, the heated pool in which to laze or splash, the fascinating books in the Library to peruse. And where else would you spot the owner doing a secret pre-dinner test of the dining-room chairs and adjusting the shades to avoid a sun-in-the-eyes situation for the diners?
Bill's kitchen wizardry produced unfailingly sumptuous meals and Richard's desserts were to die for. And for me, the dishes provided inspiration to cheer my jaded repertoire at home - how much nore inspiring must Bill's cookery courses be! His caring and discreet attention to food intolerances added peace of mind to the enjoyment of the feasts. But this was not just coeliac foodie heaven, this was everybody's foodie heaven.
Good wine, friendly company, fun, laughter and tall tales at the evening dinner table caused us to linger while the evening air cooled, and before we had even realised the need, soft woolen wraps were produced by our solicitous hosts to warm us. For us, as animal lovers, the lovely laid-back cats, exuberant Labradoodle puppies and dignified Devon, the corgi, added an extra dimension. But non-animal people need have no worries, the pets are whisked away to their separate home if their company is de trop.
We did manage to drag ourselves away from the Chateau occasionally and found a superb area to explore. The lovely village of Villars itself, the historic towns and chateaux, the lively markets, superb limestone caverns, the pretty Perigord Vert countryside - and kingfishers over the River Dronne. But for us, the Chateau was the heart of the area. Long may it beat its perfect rhythymn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Villars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villars

Address: Rue du Moulin, 24530 Villars, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Villars
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the city noise, deep in the Dordogne countryside, for complete relaxation. 9 acre park heated pool Near Brantome, St Jean de cole & Perigueux Come dine with us as well at "Chefs" at Chateau de Villars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Villars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Villars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.