We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great wilderness experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shining Tree Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shining Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shining Tree Camp
Save
You added Shining Tree Camp to your Saves list
General Delivery, Shining Tree, Ontario P0M 2X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“a great wilderness experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

we stayed at shining tree camp for 4 days in june 21-25th, what a nice spot... owners were very kind and friendly, loved our little cottage with the big window to the most beautiful lake and store was stocked great.... I am missing it already..... thanks shining tree camp for starting the summer with a bang......

Room Tip: all the cabins face the lake and are awesome....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Owner at Shining Tree Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and would love to see you return. We noticed a three out of five for sleeping and would like to add that we have since put all new beds in that cabin, in fact all the cabins have been done. Thanks again, Derek & Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

went back to shining tree camp in march of 2012 to snowmobile for a week the cabin was clean cozy and warm derek and cathy were their usual charming selves always eager to please 4 to 5 feet of snow conditions were perfect put over 1000 miles on sleds in a week awesome time winter in shining tree is a must for any snowmobiler go once and you will be hooked !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Owner at Shining Tree Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Wayne, as usual it is always great to see you and wife Lisa here @ our camp. Thank you for the great review and sure I will see you again! Derek & Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

i have been to shining tree camp both in summer and winter i experienced exellent hospitality both trips from cathy and derek.fishing in july was good caught a bunch of pickeral pike and bass with a few white fish mixed in.the winter trip was for snowmobiling and you could not ask for a better spot to start a sled trip from. the cabins are clean and tidy and the washrooms and showers are spotless.it is a great place to go relax and let the stress melt away.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Owner at Shining Tree Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for the review. See you again, Derek & Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our family stayed at Shining Tree Camp from August 12 - 20, 2011 and had a fabulous time. The hospitality provided by Derek and Cathy is second to none! They were both extremely pleasant to deal with and just go above and beyond to ensure your stay is a good one.

Cottage # 6 was clean with lots of room for four adults and two teen boys during the first couple of days of our trip. We certainly weren't tripping over each other or fighting for space as there was lots of room inside and the wrap around deck overlooking the water provided lots of room outside during the day and evening, as well :) Although there are no bathroom facilities in the cottages - the centralized bath/shower area is well maintained, modern and clean. The towels and linens provided in the camp were great quality ... it was just like being at home.

The fishing was plentiful - lots of smallmouth bass, some pike and a few pickeral. Spent a lot of time in the boat which was clean, comfortable and good on fuel.

Derek organized a bear hunt for our son and he took the time to explain what he does to ensure a successful experience, from showing how the bait is prepared to providing hunting tips. One resident said "if you are hunting out of Derek's place - you'll do well ... he definitely knows what he's doing". Our son saw lots of bears and successfully took his first bear.

Amenities in Shining Tree are sparse ... but Shining Tree Camp keeps a fairly well stocked store - everything you need and more! There is an LCBO just down the road in case you run low :)

Overall a fabulous relaxing vacation! Derek and Cathy take great pride in their camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Owner at Shining Tree Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed your return this past summer. Sorry it took so long to respond, finally figured this stuff out! Derek & Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I have been going to Shining Tree, ON since I was a little boy (9) and am now in my 30s. It is worth the 12 hr drive! It is a great place to relax and forget about everything. There is lots of wildlife that can be seen up close (sometimes too close). I have seen bears, wolves, beavers, moose, eagles, foxes, otters, and many other creatures. The fishing is great and the lake is HUGE but still good for small boats. There are plenty of other lakes around also. The best part of Shining Tree is great relaxation and not much traffic or noise. You can go to sleep hearing only the wind going through the trees and once in a while loons. The sunsets are unreal. The days are pretty warm (80-90 degrees) in July and August and cool at night.

The owners have done a great job at making people feel at home. The cabins are always fresh and well kept.

The only things to dislike for some people are the beds (I'm used to my pillowtop mattress), shared showers and restrooms, and the mosquitos. But trust me ...it is all worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, Owner at Shining Tree Camp, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Sorry it took so long to respond, I didn't know I could for one and have finally figured this stuff out. A lot has changed positively since your posting. We have replaced all the beds with new ones. Thank you for the good review. Hope you return. Derek & Cathy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shining Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Tree Camp

Address: General Delivery, Shining Tree, Ontario P0M 2X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Shining Tree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Shining Tree
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Tree is well known as the place to go for a complete variety of fishing and hunting opportunities to suit everyone's tastes. We will treat you as friend from the minute you arrive and do our best to help you get away from the turmoil of everyday life.If fishing or hunting are not in your vacation plans, we have miles of bush trails for hiking, bird watching, ATV or just get away from it all. For the rock hound, the Shining Tree area has a long history of mining activity. Explore old abandoned gold mines or search along bush trails for treasures for your rock collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shining Tree Camp Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shining Tree Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.