We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bash” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irby Mill Pub

Irby Mill Pub
Mill Lane, Greasby CH49 3NT, England
+44 151 604 0194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Greasby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: English, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the irby mill only has a small restaurant they welcomed and accomodated myself and 15 friends for sunday dinner.
The pub was busy with eaters/drinkers yet the service was great, the food brilliant and we all had a great time, in fact I took the girlfriend back the next night!

In this age of pre-packed food its great to go to a great british pub and eat well prepared fresh grub.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    72
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice surprise. Excellent food for the price. Very comfortable. Lived very close for so long & was pleasantly surprised thaty we had not been there before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked four days in advance of my bithday 21st October for myself and family. On arrival was informed no details of reservation yet Manager had my name and details in diary. We were informed all tables full and we could wait if we wanted. I was upset and humiliated, then a table became free and we stayed. Although food was good very cramped. Do not book for a special occasion as they don't understand about a reservation or a customer experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect, the building g gorgeous, the interior warm friendly and relaxing! The people are all very pleasant and friendly! The staff are very knowledgable and smiley helpful! The food........unbelievable! This is real food as it should be! I've had many of the dishes on the menu over the last few months and couldn't fault any part of Amy of them! It's the place to go either it be a party, a date or with a couple of friends for a pint of the best ales around!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ver good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Four of us tipped up on a busy-ish Friday lunchtime and predictably all plumped for fish and chips. We were not disappointed. The fish dominated the plate and was coated with a lovely thin, crisp batter. The fish itself was really fresh, a delight, flaky and tasty. The accompanying chips could be more accurately described as chunky potato wedges with skins on. They had been cooked more than once (a good thing) and were absolutely delicious. THe mushy peas also served got the thumbs up. Bar and food service was friendly, efficient and pretty quick given the food was cooked from scratch. We all said we would happily return to this excellent gastro country pub next time we find ourselves on the Wirrall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irby Mill Pub also viewed

 
Thornton Hough, Wirral
 

Been to Irby Mill Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irby Mill Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.