We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Wonderful Staff and Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballathie House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ballathie House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballathie House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Wonderful Staff and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My party of four were on a fishing trip (no luck with that but we had a great time). The Ballathie is an excellent hotel but the staff were wonderful. Due to an error, our original trip had to be postponed but Stephanie Vidal stepped in and sorted everything out brilliantly with new dates and outstanding service throughout. The food here is excellent. The main hotel restaurant is quite posh (a waiter asks you for your choice of water-garnish from a colourful tray) and food was great. The Bistro is less formal however still a high quality establishment (no burgers or pizzas here). Food here was just as good, steaks served piping hot and very tasty. Staff here were extremely polite and helpful again. Hotel is in a picturesque country location but also a short drive to Perth. I rate the hotel very highly indeed and will return in due course. A great hotel complemented by great staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Ron H,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

It is wonderful to read how our newest Head of Department, Stephanie, from our reception team, was able to exceed your expectations when managing your booking. Thank-you for your appreciation of her.

I am sorry that you never caught any fish, but I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the main restaurant and our Bistro. We really appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ballathie, with some worms maybe….. (I am certain the fishing fraternity are going to kill me for that comment…)

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    124
    34
    17
    13
See reviews for
66
307
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our second trip to Ballathie and the first time we have stayed ...we were not disappointed.
Everything about this hotel is of the highest standard , the staff are friendly, courteous and polite, nothing is too much trouble for them.
The hotel itself is fabulous , full of olde world charm with an interesting history. Bedrooms are not outstanding but the view more than makes up for that.
The food was simply fantastic !!! we eat out a lot ...but found this hard to beat for presentation,innovation and most importantly taste...delicious !
We will certainly visit again and would not hesitate to recommend this fantastic Country House Hotel

Room Tip: request a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear MollycatScotland,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about Ballathie – Thank-you!

Scott and his team in the kitchen create some really amazing dishes. I have shared your review with him and he is grateful for your comments. More evidence of his skill is evident from the fact that he has retained a gold medal for Head Chefs for the past 3 years from the Scottish Hotel Awards Scheme.

We do hope you return soon in the autumn to experience so of Scott’s seasonal delights.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a long journey home after staying on the island of Skye. There was a wedding on in the main hotel and we were offered an evening meal and a lift to their small bistro on the estate. We were also staying in the lodges away from the main hotel.
Our room was adequate but could have been cleaner. There were tea stains on the wall and a few grubby marks around. Whether this was a cleaning issue or a redecoration issue we weren't sure. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the towels lovely and white and fluffy and loads of hot water. The curtains could have been thicker as the light streamed though them at 4/30am and woke us.
The staff were friendly and we appreciated the lift to the bistro as the heavens opened after we arrived. The food was good and again the service was good.
Breakfast in the main hotel was also nice and we both enjoyed it.
For what we wanted, a break in our journey it served us well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Flolincln,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about our three stared Sportsman’s lodges.

I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team, to ensure that standards at Ballathie are maintained – I appreciate your comments and care you show for Ballathie’s reputation, Thank-you!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the service we have to offer and the upgrade of rooms amenities and towels.

We do hope you come and stay with us again when you travel to Skye to be with your family again.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If we had stayed in the main house, it would have been so much nicer I think. The ambiance of this old hunting and fishing lodge with its wonderful big rooms filled with period furniture would have been grand. Just the smell of the place - logs burning in the fireplace, people sitting around having drinks and looking at history all around them. Instead we were in the riverside rooms which were much more ordinary and lacking the special touches that the lodge had. They did have front and back doors so you could sit outside on a little patio and look at the river and the birds though. It was extremely quiet here too for a good nights sleep and offered all you could want in a room. There was nothing wrong with these rooms - we enjoyed our time there, just not the same ambiance.

The meal we had for dinner was just so wonderful and the breakfast the next morning was excellent as well. I would stay here again, but in the main lodge.

Room Tip: Book the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Icantravelpanama,

It is wonderful to receive a review from such an experienced traveller.

I am sorry that you did not get to stay in the main building of our hotel. I agree with you, the main hotel does have more of an auldy world ambiance. The riverside building is targeted at guest who are looking for brighter, more modern rooms with an emphasis on the environment it is located.

I am however delighted that this did not distract from your stay and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views from your bed of the river with all of the silence and your own private balcony.

I look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future back to Ballathie and booking a room in our main hotel building for you.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Now it’s very difficult to view a small hotel fairly when descended on by 70 or so guests especially ones who are as perhaps difficult as our car club. There were also some others staying I believe and extra dining guests as well.
I would comment that the main house is well kept and obviously things at more normal numbers would be considerably better however some things stood out.
Breakfast was very ill considered but improved slightly on the last day. The buffet lunch as served was again poor, basic and poorly delivered. The evening meals were much better however two thing were blatantly obvious. The first was the staff were overwhelmed although they tried very hard and I felt very sorry for them. One person in the bar struggled to cope, serving staff were just too few as were no doubt those behind the scenes. This led throughout to a real drop in the delivery level that could have been achieved.
However we were not the norm however that’s the number of guests they can accommodate so they need to be able to deliver and they just did not.
Stayed in the riverside lodge rooms and whilst they were pleasant they were very dull in there décor and the walk backwards and forwards was not sensibly arranged, path, lighting or access wise to the main hotel.
This hotel could really sing and perhaps does when not under pressure however it does not at present and when full and I felt dropped its standards. What a shame.

Room Tip: Choose a main house room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear BatmanMalbourgh,

It is disappointing for me to read your recent review about Ballathie. I would appreciate the opportunity to elaborate.

Please may I begin by stating that you were the only residents and diners at the hotel. Due to the number of diners we, as a hotel, made the decision to offer your group exclusive use of the hotel.

I would like to thank the president of your motor car club for writing to me personally (the letter is still on the staff room wall) thanking me and the team for handling a “difficult bunch of people”. He mentioned in his letter how impressed he was with the way we handled an “almost orchestrated group of people who seemed to always arrive 10 minutes before eating time would end, expecting to sit for an hour and each individual demanding to receive the same level of service, even although we were a group of more than 70 people”. He went on to thank me for the way the Team handled the 2 trips we had to make to accident and emergency “During two isolated incidents that took 3 people away from breakfast and dinner, the hotel still ran like clockwork!”

I am delighted that the president ended his later with this statement, “A superb event and we will be back”.

I guess this could be the same hotel running the same event only looked at from two different angles.

Thank-you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here last Sunday night and had an excellent experience. Very friendly and helpful staff especially the lad serving in the bar. Great dinner with plenty choice and breakfast was all you would want except that every time I looked for orange juice there was none left. A minor irritant in an otherwise faultless visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear 750Graham,

Thank-you for taking the time in writing a review about Ballathie.

I am sorry about your breakfast experience with our orange juice. I have taken this up with the Food and Beverage team and they have assured me that more attention to detail will be focused– I appreciate your comments.

I am delighted that this did not taint your stay in anyway. I have passed your comments onto Paul, our barman, who was delighted that he was able to exceed your expectations.
We do hope that we get to see you again when you are traveling down from up North.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes etc and it was very well done there was more than enough and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was to much trouble and they made sure that there was plenty of coffee etc. I think whoever is in charge should be very proud of both the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Scotishlady55,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

Scott and his Kitchen team work hard to produce everything individually for our afternoon tea offering. This attention to detail, coupled with our enthusiastic front of house team who he has trained is a recipe that has proved to be a hit with most of our guests. Thank-you for your appreciation!

I am exceptionally proud of our team – possibly the most privileged hotel manager in Scotland.
We look forward to welcoming you to the banks of the Tay in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
18.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 22 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hilton Dunkeld House
Hilton Dunkeld House
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
6.6 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
18.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#18 of 22 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballathie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.