We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Nephew´s Stag (fishing) Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballathie House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballathie House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballathie House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chorley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“My Nephew´s Stag (fishing) Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just returned from an unforgettable weekend at Ballathie. Seven fishers all seeking our first salmon and celebrating David's last weeks of the single life. All were warmly received on Friday even though I was very late. Chef had prepared a delight of cold meat, cheese, parfait and salmon accompanied with warm bread, crispy oatcakes and Ballathie butter, a great welcome. We stayed in the very spacious sportsman's lodges which were comfortable, clean and exactly what we needed to give easy access to the river with minimal disruption to other guests by wellie wearing fishers.

The Tay was almost unfishable, but under the expert tutelage of George and Garry the expert Gillies of Ballathie beat (I cannot recommend their services more highly, they are both knowledgeable and hilarious in just the right blend), the stag caught his first fish, a kelt of around eight pounds was returned alive and well after a fine 15 minute battle to bring him to the net.

Our rate included dinner, bed and breakfast and as such was superb value for money given the quality of the menu at the hotel. For those who have a passion for wine, the cellar is vast and varied, offering an option for all budgets.

The staff were welcoming, helpful, accommodating and tolerant of seven chaps having a great weekend. They are a great bunch with an obvious sense of humour, having posed for a 'naked' charity calendar. Make sure you get a copy, it's in support of a worthy local charity Tayside Children with Cancer and Leukaemia (TCCL), the staff who were working signed their pages on our copies which was a lovely personal touch. Jody and Gail you are both funny, your comments really made us chuckle, thanks for putting up with us. Having the chance of a chat with the boss (Mr December) before dinner, who knew about the stag's catch, was the touch of a hotelier that has the interest of his clientele at heart. Please know that your staff are a credit to you.

If you like great service, good food, wine, salmon fishing, scenery, peace or fresh air. You simply must go to Ballathie.

Room Tip: Sportsman's lodge great for fishers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Michael F,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about Ballathie.

It was wonderful to meet all seven of you and ensure that Davids stag party went off with a bang. The cherry on the top was that he caught a salmon on the Ballathie Beat! On reading your review in our daily morning meeting, our team was really inspired by your kind words - thank-you for your appreciation!

We hope to see you again soon at Ballathie, were we look forward to offering you the same exceptional service and Fayre.


Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    112
    25
    15
    13
See reviews for
59
266
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay sat 8th feb.. we were initially not to impressed with our sport lodge however the manager and the girl on reception quickly moved us to the riverside building which I have to say was stunning the view from the balcony onto the tay on a crisp Sunday morning was just the tonic to blow off the cobwebs from our sat night in blairgowrie. . We will definitely be back and a big thanks to the girl on reception. .. sorry I cant remember her name!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Eddie40206,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the accommodation you booked using one of our online agents. I am very delighted that we were able to solve this for you, so that you were able to enjoy everything Ballathie has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again back to Ballathie, Please can we request that you contact reception directly so that we can avoid these incidents occurring again.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

my wife and i and daughter and partner had a nice relaxing coffee and biscuits sitting beside a beautiful staircase looking out to the well kept lawn.the service from the young smiling very polite waitress {linzi i think} was second to none.on our departure we were asked my manager {very professional}if everything was okay and wished us a good day.we will be returning to ballathie for sure.

Room Tip: we did not stay at ballathie but we had heard leaving guests remarking on there first class break fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Roderick199,

We appreciate your kind words in your recent review about Ballathie - Thank-you!

Like all of our staff, Lindsey is an asset to our team. We all try and work together like a family; and like a family we have good days and bad days. Our bad days strengthen us to make our good days achievable as a team

It was wonderful to welcome you and your family to Ballathie for coffee. We do hope you return soon and enjoy more of what we have to offer.



Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

During the winter season, Ballathie offer a 3 course lunch for 16.95 GPB. Excellent choices, at least 3 for each course, service is wonderful and the portions are just the right size with marvellous presentation. The atmosphere is perfect for a special lunch, roaring fires, coffee in the drawing room afterwards. Great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Fiona C,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

Like our evening meal experience, our lunches have become very popular. Our team work hard to ensure that the same care and attention is placed into every meal we prepare - Thank-you for your kind words and appreciation.

We hope you return again soon and spend more time enjoying our Fayre.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The stay at this manor home is something for your bucket list. Our stay was the sixth visit in twenty years and not one time has it been average. The rooms are old world that have nice views. The food has been rated as some of the best in Scotland. We had great breakfasts and exciting tasty dinners with creative and visually appealing dinners ,leave rooms for the delicious desserts. Dinners are ordered in the parlor with wine or drinks and canapés. After dinner we would go to the small bar for local Scotches. The WIFI was not perfect but acceptable, this seems to be a common thing in older Manor Homes. Finding this location on the River Tay is a challenge but I did drive to St Andrews to play golf on one day. I did not get lost that day.

Room Tip: Room looking over the river is best , room 2 or 4 , only stay in the older main part of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Nicetom,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie.

We are delighted that there is now one less item to go into your bucket list. Our food is becoming the reason many of our guests continue to return to us. Scott our chef, continues to strive to achieve perfection - His team really appreciated your kind words; Thank-you.\

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future to our haven on the Tay.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge Of Earn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I and daughter had a fantastic Champagne Afternoon tea at Ballathie. A glass of house champagne each , complimented by a huge amount of sandwiches and cakes and scones and jam and cream, awesome.

The service was excellent and we were even asked if we wanted more tea, cakes etc! No way could we even finish what we had at first.

Lovely to sit in a comfortable room with nice fire on a cold afternoon.

Also, the access road has been resurfaced since our last visit which makes a huge difference.

Well done,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Graeme K,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie – It was wonderful to welcome you back.

We have worked hard on the hotel and the hotel grounds this year. We have tried to enhance all of the hotels features to enhance her charm. We will continue to try and match our wonderful hotel with great Fayre and wonderful service. It is rewarding to read your appreciation for both of these aspects – thank-you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Ballathie in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

just returned from a over night stay staying in a riverside suite which I booked late the suite was just what we were looking for . food in restaurant lovely could have eat a larger portion as this was our main meal after a long walk along the river bank wonderful will be returning soon staff very friendly ps please deliver morning papers to rooms

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Hector451,
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about Ballathie.
It is rewarding for us, as a team, to read that you enjoyed yourself so much when you were with us. I am sorry that we never asked if you would like a larger portion, had we had known, it would have been our pleasure to deliver this.
I hope that you will return soon to us to enjoy our walks along our river bank.

Best Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballathie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.