We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballathie House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ballathie House Hotel to your Saves list
Ballathie House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Have not yet stayed the night here yet however when at ballathie for a wedding the food was hot and tasty. However when I came on my birthday for afternoon tea I was disappointed.. The food had just been bunged on a stand and the cakes were squished like they had just came out a packet as well. Staff were good though.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Kayleigh S

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel. I also appreciate your correspondence to my messages using the tripadvisor messaging tool.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us during a wedding you attended last year.

Thank-you too for your comments on the wonderful service you will receive when you visit us.

I have done some investigation into your experiences during your visit for your birthday – thank-you for your opinions.

I would like to start by pointing out that your review is based upon a visit you made to us at the end of last year. Since this time, we have taken on a dedicated Head chef who is passionate about food. Scott Scorer has been with us since March this year and he has appointed two very talented Pastry chefs, who pride themselves for their home made cakes, pastries, bread and petit fours. Almost everything we serve for afternoon tea is home made.

I hope that you take up my invitation and come and see how we are evolving and aspiring into becoming one of Scotland's greatest hotels.

Kind regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    96
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
52
229
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Me and my partner only stoped for lunch one early afternoon. Had a 2 course lunch, presentation was lovely and the food tasted even better. Service was very welcoming and friendly. The only thing I missed was a bit of nice music in the background so you don't need to listen to conversations of other dining guests especially when it's not that busy. But surely we would return and will recomend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear 8unros,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about your lunch with us here at the Ballathie House Hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Scott and his team in the kitchen do everything they can to ensure that only the best produce makes it into our restaurant. I am certain that they will be inspired and motivated to hear your kind words – Thank-you.

We hope you will return again soon to enjoy our wonderful Scottish Fayre and friendly hospitality.


Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We travelled here late. We phoned the hotel when we were 5 miles away and informed them that we would miss the 9:30 cut off for eating int he restaurant and could they arrange a cold tray. We were informed that they would keep the chef back and we were welcome to choose anything we wished from the restaurant menu on arrival. We were greeted by a smiling receptionist who suggested we ate before we checked in, and led us straight to the restaurant where the waiting staff had prepared a table. We ate a superb meal with good wine and thanked all the staff. We were shown to our room courteously.

We informed reception we would be leaving at 6:00am the following morning. A buffet breakfast was prepared for us with hot coffee and they had lit a fire for us to sit by when we went down to the lounge in the morning.

We intend to revisit soon and enjoy the grounds and location in the light not to mention the hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Duncan B,

Thank-you for taking the time in sharing your experiences at the Ballathie House Hotel.

I could not agree with you more. As the new General Manager here, it is such a privilege to work with such a professional team. Gail Schofield, my Assistant Manager is fantastic, very supportive and exceptionally knowledgeable about the hotel. The Head Chef, Scott Scorer, is constantly pushing the boundaries with his food and is passionate about his team and our suppliers. I am fortunate too to have an amazing Head House Keeper, Maureen Grant, who has an exceptional eye for detail. The list goes on with Lin Mitchell, our Marketing and Sales Manager, keeping us focused on moving the hotel forward. If I am honest, the whole team is very positive and welcoming - I must be the most blessed man in hospitality today! This must be the reason for having such a “home feel” when you stayed with us.

Thank-you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again to our haven in Perthshire!

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been going to Ballathie for the last 8 years for Hogmanay and will be there again this year (2012).

That in itself is praise enough.

We have close friends who have been there many many more times than we have.

The staff are exceptionally welcoming, the food always of the highest quality and the atmosphere is as you would wish it to be in your own home if you were hosting a weekend gathering.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main House, rather than Riverside. Some rooms are a little small. The Deluxe rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Ballathie House Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Andy B,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about Ballathie House Hotel.

It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your past 8 Hogmanay’s with us. All of the staff here put in lots of effort to ensure that the event is a success. This year is going to be another night to remember. We have been planning for a few months now to make this our best event ever. – It will be wonderful to share this occasion with you.

Thank-you once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again to our wonderful Hogmanay experience

Regards,

Jody Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in one of the riverside rooms. Very comfortable with own wee balcony overlooking the River Tay. A minute or so's walk takes you to the hotel which is grand without being stuffy. The lighting, fires and warmth all makes for a very comfortable and appealing place to be. Dinner is out of this world. Gift from the kitchen presented beautifully pre starter to wet the appetite. On both nights there were different choices from duck to wood pigeon, venison to seabass amongst others. Desserts also worthy of ooohs and aahs. The staff are very attentive and welcoming also and it is clear they take pride in the service they deliver. Best hotel visit I have had in a long Time and at very reasonable rates given the all round excellence. Will be booking again next year. Thank you Ballathie.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

As a Wedding Photographer, I am fortunate to visit and eat in many spectacular venues, Ballathie is right up there. As a previous reviewer said, catering for large numbers is not easy but time, after time, Ballathie produce spectacular food. I have also stayed here and eaten outwith working and I can honestly say it is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Don't be put off by the fact this is a very high class place, it is homely and comfortable

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose Ballathie House after much research as our wedding venue because of it's excellent reputation. We were not to be disappointed, every aspect of the of our stay was perfect. We must take this opportunity to complement the staff who were friendly,attentive and efficient. We couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballathie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballathie House Hotel

Address: Kinclaven By Stanley, Stanley PH1 4QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballathie House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballathie Country House Hotel is a 4 star Country House Hotel located on the banks of the River Tay in Perthshire, Scotland. We have an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant in which we provide a tranquil setting to enjoy the wonderful food that our kitchen brigade create with locally sourced produce. Awarded Best Rural Restaurant of the Year at the 2010 Hotel of the Year Awards and Country Weddings Award at the 2011 Hotel of the Year Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballathie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballathie Hotel Perth
Ballathie House Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballathie House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.