We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dilapidated!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tayside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tayside Hotel to your Saves list
Tayside Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tayside Hotel
51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dilapidated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff at the Tayside are unfortunately let down by the tired and dilapidated hotel they work in! It reminded me of 'Del Boy's' stay in the 'Villa Bella' in Only Fools and Horses Jolly Boys Outing!
The room we stayed in was average and quite cold, the radiator was so old it didn't work anymore. The shower in the bathroom took forever to heat up and when it did it was not consistent. However, hot running water from the bath was available.
Breakfast was average nothing special, although the menu did have an okay choice.
Our stay was heavily over priced for what it was and I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaysideHotel, General Manager at Tayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear LeahDawns,

Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking time to review the Hotel.

I am delighted that you received such fantastic service from our Staff during your stay with us at the Tayside.

I am however obviously concerned about your other comments especially as you label the Hotel as being 'dilapidated'. I can honestly say that I have never heard the Hotel referred to as that and as you haven't left any specific details I would find it hard to respond to the criticism.

I can confirm however that at the time of your visit the heating system was switched off due to the high temperatures and fine weather that we lucky enough to experience. This is why you would find that the radiator in your room was 'not working'. If you had contacted any member of Staff then we would have gladly rectified this for you.

With regards to the hot water flow from the shower I am a little confused as, along with the bath, it is mains fed. Therefore, with the bath having hot water there should also have been hot water from the shower. In case the shower controller is faulty I have requested our Plumber to inspect the shower and arrange repair or replacement as required.

As I hope you will appreciate if such faults are not brought to our attention it is hard for us to know they exist.

With regards to Breakfast, as with all our other menus, we constantly review what is offered and would be happy to receive specific feedback from you with regards to any suggestions so we can improve from 'okay'.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me at the Hotel or via reception@taysidehotel.co.uk

yours sincerely

Joanne Hardy
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very poor. Rooms poor. Served raw scampi. Then told by one of the owners there was nothing wrong with the meal! Checking out after one night and will not be returning. I have stayed in most of the hotels on business in and around Perth. This is one of to poorest I have had the misfortune to stay in. My advice stay else where.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaysideHotel, Manager at Tayside Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ian J,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your stay at the Tayside. We are always concerned when a Guest leaves unhappy and always look to remedy the reasons for this. Having spoken to all of the staff who came into contact with you I would like to give the following response:

(1)”Rooms poor”: You have not specified what made the ‘room poor’, please contact me if you wish to comment further. The room you were allocated was to the specification of your Employer: a double-bedded, single occupancy, en-suite room which was recently refurbished with new furniture and soft-furnishings;

(2) “Served raw scampi”: During your stay you were served scampi which you believed was not properly cooked. I would like to address this issue by explaining that the food you were served was thoroughly tested to ensure that it was cooked to the required legal temperature prior to being served and was recorded at 82 degrees Celsius. The product we use is wholetail scampi which is a superior product with a different texture and appearance in contrast to the reformed fish that may be served in many other establishments. On raising this with Staff you were immediately offered a replacement meal or an alternative choice from the menu but you declined either option;

I am disappointed that you did not mention this and the Staff that went out of their way to serve you an impromptu early breakfast even though you did not request it.

Should you wish to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to contact me at the Hotel via reception@taysidehotel.co.uk

Joanne Hardy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband was taking part in the Etape Caledonia cycle in Pitlochry and we booked into the Tayside Hotel for the night before the cycling (as had lots of other cyclists). The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Even down to them starting breakfast at 5am on the Sunday morning so the cyclists could eat before leaving.

We had dinner in the hotel on the Saturday night and the good was lovely and portions were just the right size. Wait staff were attentive and friendly.

The room was clean and spacious with a sparkling clean bathroom. Bed was comfy and we both slept well.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just returned from the Tayside with my wife,son his fiancé and his son decided to have a change to usual Sunday lunch and went out for High Tea.Stayed 10mins away for past 12 yearspassed it on numerous occasions first visit. Good choice of main courses we had four different mains and all were enjoyed, the toast went down well then coffee or tea with a selection of 5 different cakes all homemade we really recommend the meringues all ate toooo much. Reasonable price and sure we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Took my son for a meal and wasn't disappointed. Steak pie, good helping and tasty. Fish very good indeed. Pleasant staff, prompt service, comfortable surroundings. We stay in Stanley and are lucky to have this place. Local walking/excercise group had Xmas lunch here and all very pleased with meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Lived up the road for 6 months and used the hotel for eating. Excellent food and brilliant staff. Lovely hotel with lots of charm and warm hospitable people. Eat there and be suprised. Great hotel. Cosy and always meet some interesting people in the bar and lounge.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here as part of a business trip, as the office sort out bookings I can't comment on rates etc as I don't know.

Check in was smooth enough, we stayed in room 16 ( the digits need to be put on door next to 15 so you know its room 16 as layout suggests possible shared bathroom with room 15) room was a little tired in appearance and the ceiling wall paper were completely different rolls! No mirror in bedroom so my wife struggled drying and straightening her hair in morning.

The bathroom was really big and spacious and of a good quality, nice and modern, shower was ok, would have been amazing if it was more powerful.

Our bed was really comfy and warm and we both had a great nights sleep.

We didn't eat in bar but our colleagues did and they said the food was really nice and all home cooked.

Breakfast didn't start until 7.30 we needed to leave at 7.30 so the staff came in early and started at 7 which was really nice of them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonian74, Owner at Tayside Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Tayside and we're happy to read that you had a good nights sleep and we were more than pleased to able to accommodate your early departure with an early breakfast service - this is something we are always happy to do if Guests request it.

Obviously we are always disappointed when a Guest isn't 100% satisfied with their stay and we take to heart every comment in an attempt to improve ourselves for future Guests.

Room renovation and redecoration is a constant programme, as I am sure you will understand, so we are a little disappointed to read your headline describes the Hotel and our rooms as 'tired', especially as the room you were accommodated in was only recently refurbished. The result of this being the large bathroom you commented on as opposed to a smaller shower-room which was previously contained within the Guest Room itself - hence as well your keen eyes noticing the difference in paper on the ceiling where this 'room' was removed.

As a side note the desk in the room features a 'lift-up' section which would then have provided you wife with a mirror to use.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will return at some point in the future to see what work we have undertaken in the Guest Rooms over the coming months / years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayside Hotel

Address: 51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tayside has been welcoming weary travellers with good food and a warm bed for over 100 years.Today we are proud to continue this tradition with genuine warm hospitality, well appointed Guest Rooms and traditional home-cooked cuisine all offered in a unique atmosphere where you can relax, unwind and take in all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayside Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.