We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tayside Hotel

Tayside Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tayside Hotel to your Saves list
Tayside Hotel
51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hi

Stayed with brother and 2 kids for a fishing trip, 4 nights

The staff are excellent, Sophie (save the fish), Kirsten and Jo to mention but a few

Nothing was a problem, very helpful and friendly

We arranged for food to be delivered at lunchtime every day, was always bang on time and hot! Plus very generous portions

A bath would be nice but not a drama as good showers. Beds very comfy as well

Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were given a voucher for christmas for the restaurant at the Tayside Hotel. despite living in the neighbouring village, we didn't know of it's existence. We had a High Tea which was excellent, we couldn't finish everything we were given to eat! The food was delicious, the surroundings very comfortable and the staff very friendly and welcoming. So glad we found ot about this place, we will defintely be returning. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the Tayside hotel from 29-31 Oct 2012 along with 4 fishing friends and I must say it was a very pleasant experience.
The rooms were comfortable and the evening meals and breakfast were excellent and the staff were brilliant.
If I may make one suggestion to the hotel on behalf of myself and my fishing friends it is, the lack of a heated drying room for our wet waders and wet fishing clothes would be nice to have.
All the same we enjoyed our stay and I do hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We went into the Hotel which is quite close to where we live and our party was 3 adults and 2 children (aged 5 & 2 ). The staff were most welcoming and had stuff for the kids to do whilst they waited for their food. There is a good children's menu with as much soft drink as they can manage. All our food came promptly and it was good pub food, also great puddings.
Why go to these fast food places when a much nicer place, with better food is so close to Perth.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good all round hotel. stayed here twice now while fishing the River Tay and you cannot fault it. Rooms clean and warm, good bar and meals are well priced. My only moan is the rooms do not have a bath, and after a day fishing on the river a soak would be nice. But the showers are hot. Good Breakfasts as well. WiFi as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the 4th year we have stayed at the Hotel whilst having 3 days fishing on the Tay .Good food and friendly staff ,packed lunches provided for our days fishing and we caught fish ! Will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We Stayed at the tayside at the weekend with another couple ,we found arrival very welcoming ,rooms clean tidy and had all you would need,the staff were very helpful friendly and the food was very tasty,we would recommend the tayside without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayside Hotel

Address: 51-53 Mill Street, Stanley PH1 4NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tayside has been welcoming weary travellers with good food and a warm bed for over 100 years.Today we are proud to continue this tradition with genuine warm hospitality, well appointed Guest Rooms and traditional home-cooked cuisine all offered in a unique atmosphere where you can relax, unwind and take in all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayside Hotel Stanley, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.