We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery - outstanding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Highwayman

The Highwayman
Hermanus Holiday Centre | The Holyway, Winterton-on-Sea, England
01493 393607
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Polish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Highwayman Restaurant is run by local chefs Stuart Hutchinson and Pawel Kuziela. After taking over the Kitchen in June 2013 we are working hard to make sure that we support local suppliers and deliver great food and service.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Carvery - outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were staying at the Hermanus (will do a separate review of that) - having gone for a walk on the beach a bit of Sunday Carvery was required!

Absolutely massive portions, very friendly staff, amazing value for money, very good veggie option.

Well worth eating there (especially if you are staying there!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed our carvery and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    25
    8
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices. Best and most generous carvery ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The setting is pleasant, with a nice view out to sea. We sampled the carvery today. The meat is beautiful and the portions are massive. The staff member serving the meat was friendly, polite and good with the kids. The vegetables were endless! Not just a few types, but a massive choice. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We shall return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the service which you received. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Horwood, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a very welcome pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

having visited this area of Norfolk for the last 20 years we have always struggled to find a good restaurant offering 'fine dining'. What a pleasure to have visited The Highwayman this year and enjoyed such a lovely meal. We started our meal with a different starter each, the scallops for him and the tempura prawns for myself, both delicious and beautifully cooked and presented. Followed this with steak for him and the belly pork for me, again very very nice. The waitresses were very efficient and polite with a cheerful smiley attitude. A wonderful sea view setting and great food is however being undermined by the rather shabby and out of date state of the rest of the site, the ladies toilet for example, although clean, has seen better days having very old, stained carpet (any carpet being a definite no-no in toilets), toilet doors with broken locks and the whole place generally seems to need a good re-decorating. After experiencing the ups and downs of The Highwayman restaurant over the years we are pleased that very talented chefs appear to have arrived and we wish them luck.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Manager at The Highwayman, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the service which you received. We are sorry to hear that you felt that we were let down by the rest of the site however we sadly have no control over the decor etc. We will continue to provide excellent food and service and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small portions for pub food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food here was excellent - we ate off the bar menu as the restaurant is only open wednesday-sunday.

The fish was lightly battered, the pie was fresh (although slightly tomatoey) and the ham was beautiful. The hand cooked chips are also nice. However, we felt the portions were small - at average pub price of £8 for a meal 2 eggs, 2 slices of ham and 7 chips really wasn't filing enough - the sme for the fish although the fish portion was big enough more chips would have been more filling. The pie, in contrast was a larger portion however was not as nice for th eother meals.

Ideal portions for a lunch so would visit for lunch rather than dinner.

Decor shabby, however this looked better in the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at The Highwayman, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your meals. You are the first guests to comment on the portion size being too small and it is something that we will take a look at. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A suprising experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Suggested by a local and advised that it has changed hands two months ago.
My wife and I visited yesterday p.m. and had a excellent two course meal of soup followed by a sea bass rissotto and for me a steak.

With a drink each the bill was just under £40.
Quality and service second to none.

Shame we go home Saturday !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuart h, Owner at The Highwayman, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highwayman also viewed

Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk
Rollesby, Norfolk
 
Ormesby St. Margaret, Norfolk
 

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highwayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.