We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devonshire Arms

Save Saved
You added Devonshire Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devonshire Arms
Grassington Road, Cracoe BD23 6LA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cracoe B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We came across this place by accident when looking for somewhere to eat. It was pitch black dark and it was the first place we drove pat. The staff were very naturally welcoming. They were friendly and polite but not where it was put on as an act you could tell they were genuinely like this. The pub itself is very warm and cosy and clean. It's dog friendly and the owner had a lovely dog. The food was proper home cooked and delicious. I had the mushroom risotto and can honestly say it was the tastiest risotto I have ever tasted. Portion sizes are generous but not over he top. The pub is very clean and cared for. I would definitely make a trip out just to eat here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
27
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I visited the newly refurbished bar with a friend yesterday evening. I was immediately met with a warm welcome into a homely bar area, displaying tasteful furnishings and a roaring log burner. Whilst perusing the menu I was undecided as to which of the 3 beers to have, so I was offered a taster of all 3 presented on a natty tray; a fab idea and something I've never encounter in any pub before.
My friend and I both opted for the 6oz sirloin steak, served with chips, garlic mushrooms, salad and accompanied with onion rings. The food was well presented and tasty, moreover served with a friendly smile; sounds simple but so many fail to get this right, but not here. We followed the steak with a creme brûlée and coffee. The bill came to just over £41 and I felt was good value.
The new team at the helm seem to have got the raw ingredients right, ambience, welcome and good food. I shall definitely be back and recommend this pub as a good eating house in this part of the southern Dales.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caterham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I enjoyed this very good welcoming hotel with friendly staff. For the money it was an excellent hotel with clean rooms nice atmosphere good food and good facilities. Its a perfect hotel if you want to have a traditional pub hotel that won't break the bank

The major disappointment lay with Expedia who on numerous occasions kept trying to cancel our booking there as they are totally disorganised, if you have to book through expedia maybe best checking with the hotel directly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked in over the Grassington Dickensian Xmas Festival...Cold weather..but as always the welcome at the Devonshire was so warm..our room was equally so. clean and well appointed..no complaints. The staff were so attentive and kind and the bar had a great range of beers and spirits. The food was outstanding..the best ever and the chefs own home made crackers served with the cheeseboard were to die for...gotta get the recipe. Well done Dave and Team Devonshire...no point going elsewhere...Glowing recommendation from us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bp Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Friday 29th November 2013, we took one of the cheaper smaller rooms and found it just about ok, lovely and warm and most importantly a comfy bed, as well as having usual basic requirements like TV, Tea and Coffee kit and shower gels etc etc.
The staff especially the young girls were attentive, helpful, pleasant and quick with the meals which in our case were the tastiest fish pie's we've had although a little on the small side.
The breakfast offered the usual mix of cereal, fruit and good old English in which we thought maybe the bacon had been done and then left bit too long so was on the dry side otherwise everything was good.
The most important thing is we'd definitely come back because we loved the olde worlde ambience and it was easy sitting beneath the low beamed ceilings and imagining a horseback traveller calling in for a tankard of real ale and settling in font of a coal fire .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

was heading to another pub for dinner when we came across this gem. Recently taken over by a new owner who clearly likes quality food and wines we were very happy with the meal, service and welcome.
we will be heading there for Sunday lunch very soon!!

Martyn

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed having booked late for a friends wedding. As we were going to the wedding in Burnsall just after lunch we needed to book in early. I rang and asked on the morning if we could book in early, it was no problem for staff to have our room ready early. We arrived and settled in to our room getting changed for the wedding. The room was fantastic, considering the price, which was very reasonable!
We got back to the Devonshire late evening and had a few drinks, staff were very friendly. Ordered some food very late and didn't have to wait very long to get what I ordered which was also very nice.
In the morning had a very nicely made fry up! Again staff very accommodating. We checked out and the staff were so nice to help us retrieve our car from the wedding venue.

Note the management are new from this summer, 2013, don't let the negative reviews of the venue from other guests put you off!

All in excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Address: Grassington Road, Cracoe BD23 6LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cracoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cracoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Pet Friendly Coaching Inn dating back to the 16th century with lodgings. We are ideally situated on the outskirts of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. We serve bar and restaurant food and offer a great selection to cater for all tastes. We also cater for parties and private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Hotel Cracoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devonshire Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.