We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding - Sunday 31st March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazlewood Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hazlewood Castle to your Saves list
Hazlewood Castle
Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Salford
1 review
“Our Wedding - Sunday 31st March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Hazlewood Castle and I cannot speak highly enough about the people or the place. I don't think we could have asked for more, from the beautiful surroundings to the excellent food the whole day was nothing short of perfect. I would like to add special thanks to Melissa, Georgie and Heidi who ensured the day ran like clockwork and were never far away should we have needed them. Many of our guests remarked how beautiful the surroundings were and what an amazing venue we had chosen. All in all a fantastic couple of days. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
So pleased to see you had a great wedding day. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    81
    42
    28
    19
See reviews for
80
209
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were really disappointed in our stay here. We had reservations for a week, but checked out after the second night. While the castle and grounds are very impressive, the accommodations and staff left much to be desired. There was no real welcome, the car park is quite a distance from the rooms (or our room in this case), and it appears with the war in Afganistan, there is a shortage of footmen, as we were offered no help getting our luggage up the many stairs, until we reached the top and lost control of a bag. Getting in the room it was cold, with the bathroom colder. The heat was not working. I mentioned this to reception, who said she'd have someone check it out. When we returned after dinner, the radiator in the bedroom and bath were warm, but only slightly. The bathroom never warmed at all, and in the bathroom was only 1 towel, and 1 bathrobe, so I had to go to reception to get supplied. Truly not worth the money imho.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Disappointed we were not able to resolve your issue whilst with us. We much prefer to be aware of any issues whilst still on site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently attended a wedding at Hazelwood Castle as a guest and I want to summarise my experience so future wedding guests at this venue are pre-warned in terms of what they are likely to expect.

Arrival

We arrived with hope of being able to check into the rooms before the 3pm check in time, so we could relax knowing our bags were in the rooms etc. However, this transpired to be a pipedream. 3pm came and we got told by the reception staff that the rooms weren’t ready yet (no inkling of an apology, just stating the fact). 330pm came, the rooms still weren’t ready, this time we got treated as an inconvenience and received a dismissive ‘they are going fast as they can’. 4pm came (the time we due to be seated)- rooms still weren’t ready. 415pm and 1 of the rooms was ready but the other 2 still weren’t. So my relations had to go and get seated in the knowledge that they wouldn’t be able to check in until the speeches and dinner was finished, c.6pm. Throughout this time not once did we receive any hint of an apology or sympathy from the reception staff for the inconvenience. Instead, they were bordering on belligerent which was not what we really expected or appreciated.

Furthermore, as we were about to go into the dining room, we were waiting at the bar to get a drink to take in with us, at which point we were abruptly told by the schoolteacher-like MC to go into the dining room immediately because we would be able to come back in ‘two minutes’ to get a drink as they just wanted us in there for the arrival of the bride and groom. Well, this ‘two minutes’ turned out to be a bare faced lie as we had to listen to all the speeches with no interlude to get a drink!

Breakfast

Although we went down for breakfast at 9am, which left a good hour before the service was closed, they had already run out of orange juice. When the breakfast eventually came it was semi-warm, with no toast. We had to ask for the toast and when this eventually came (half a slice per person) the breakfast was pretty much finished and the toast came with no butter, so again, we had to ask for butter. The butter came and it was pretty much redundant because the toast was now cold. The coffee which was served was also luke-warm. And beware; if you like milk with your coffee, this is an additional extra so you will have to ask for this too. The waiters/waitresses were mostly re-active rather than pro-active, they were all quite young and you sensed that they were just going through the motions with no real effort to make the customer experience a good one.

Summary

The overall experience at Hazelwood Castle was a good one because it was a happy day for the married couple and all family/friends, however the everlasting memory will be of poor customer service. A greater attention to detail regarding the treatment by staff to the customers would go a long way to improving this location as a wedding venue.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We do advise check in is from 3.00pm. For early weddings we do recommend booking for the night before. We also offer changing facilities and bag storage.
You will appreciate that our MC`s only focus during a wedding is to ensure that the wishes of the Bride and Groom are adhered to all times. On this occasion guests in the bar who had not taken their seats,so that the wedding breakfast could commence, were needed to be asked a number of times to sit. I am sorry if this inconvenienced you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

we had our wedding here March 2013.

I can't fault them. All the staff I dealt from the reservation desk to our wedding organiser and then our excellent hostess on the day made everything go so smoothly. If your planning a wedding, make use of the beautiful chapel and book the choir.

An excellent day was had by all based from all the feedback we've had.

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Delighted that you had such a great day. It was a pleasure to look after you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed overnight on business at Hazlewood Castle on 8th April 2013 and the two key positives that stood out for me were the warm, friendly and efficient service of the staff and the great dinner served in the cosy restaurant under the castle - most enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just wanted a few days break before attending a family wedding in Bradford ... found Hazlewood Castle via Superbreaks and got a great three nights for the price of two offer. We were given a brilliant suite, and enjoyed a great meal the first evening in their restaurant ... the setting in wonderful, the staff friendly and helpful, and we would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So pleased to see you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a lovely two day stay at Hazlewood Castle in one of the four poster suites. Beautiful room and tastefully decorated.

Had a great meal in the restaurant and looked after very well by Saj, who provided excellent service for us.

Was also given a tour of the hotel by Steven who knew very much about the hotel and its history.

Thanks to Natasha on reception.

Highly recommend staying and we hope to come back again soon!

Room Tip: Recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will make sure the people you have identified are made aware of their great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazlewood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 35 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hazlewood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazlewood Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.