We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potipot Gateway Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Potipot Gateway Resort to your Saves list
Potipot Gateway Resort
Barangay Sinabacan, Candelaria, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great service from the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went here on a package from one of those deal sites which includes full board as well. Had a great time staying here. Service from the staff was really excellent. Rooms were clean and comfy. Food was also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It's less than 2 weeks and we still cannot find a place to go to in the North (we normally have a group trip every Mar with my HS BFFs, 10adults and 2 kids this time).

Then I googled Potipot, and saw this Potipot Gateway Resort in Candelaria, Zambales.

It's convincing on the photos, hoping that it was the same upfront.

So I called up the resort. and was happy to talk to Ms. Maricel and Ms Lina, they were friendly and accommodating via phone. They answered my sms inquiries right away.
I asked if I need to make a bank deposit. They said I can pay it at the resort. That's a good thing, no need to settle anything yet until we arrive or leave the resort.

We arrived after 5hrs of road travel from Manila. it was almost 5am. I was given instructions that the resort can be found right after the footbridge. (where is that footbridge? haha)

We reached the end of the road, and we saw the signboard "POTIPOT GATEWAY RESORT". We parked the van inside this gated space. And off we walked towards the "footbridge".

Dimly lighted, but the view is good. Then after the footbridge is the main gate towards the resort. We were welcomed by the flowery & green path. I was told by Ms.Maricel (over text) that the guard will accompany us to the room, wow! early check-in at no extra cost.

We had a room reservation at the W.Stone House (ground floor is all ours). 2 spacious rooms with own bathrooms, a kitchen with water dispenser and mini-ref and lounge. The beds are soft and pluffy pillows are provided. For the 1st room, it can accomodate up to 8pax. While the 2nd room can accomodate 4 pax.

Cafeteria is open by 7:30am, this area is so wide, lots of tables and TV too. We had a quick breakfast. Then as agreed on, we took the package for island hop to Potipot island (just 10mins away). They have a speedboat :)

I asked them if they can deliver our lunch to the island. and I was glad to hear a "Yes!". Around 11:30AM, 2 staff delivered the food. We were amazed that they brought collapsible tables and a couple of chairs when there's already wooden table under the trees. Plus they have a table cloth? it's kinda funny that it looks like a mini-buffet party in the island. We had Pork sinigang, buttered shrimps and Chopsuey. Plus 3 pitchers of juices and fruit salad for dessert. Yummy!

There are hammocks, swings, bench. There are turkeys roaming around too. They have kiddie and adult pool. I think deepest part is 5feet. Too bad, it's just an overnight stay, we were not able to enjoy their beach front (though it's not white sand, i think its still nice to swim at).

For dinner, another favor I asked from them is to set it up beach front. We have a candelit dinner at their veranda. Nice and sumptuous! Grilled pork, squid, ensaladas, halaan soup , fruits.

Going back to the crew, they provided the best service ever. Very attentive and corteous! Great job! Give them a salary increase or incentive! :)

We just had a very little disappointment on the water quality/pressure. They said the tank blew off/ was damage that morning. we had to wait to be able to take a bath coming from the island hopping. And water was not clear. there were small particles of i dont know what coming out from the shower/ faucet..eewww. But they were able to fix it after few hours.

Menu is a bit pricey. (P160+ for their tapsilogs..).

For the W.Stone House (10-14pax) - P10K
For the island jump P350/head

But overall, everything was alright. I will recommend the resort to others who want to enjoy the serene place for their vacation in the North.


contact ms.lina/maricel 09175548554 for inquiries/reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have so much fun staying at Potipot Gateway Resort last weekend. Clean room, silent place and very relaxing. Ambiance is great facing the Potipot island was so refreshing and relaxing.
We enjoy the speedboat ride to Potipot island and stayed there for almost 4hrs swimming and kayaking.

Kudos to John one of the resort's staff who is very accommodating and attends to anything we need. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We found Potipot almost by accident on Tripadvisor and came here for 3 nights in early February. It was really wonderful! The place is not 5 star of course and has its quirks but it is extremely clean, spacious and well looked after. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially John, who looked after us. Our room was upstairs with a view of the beach and was great - TV, wifi, aircon, everything, even though all we did was relax by the pool or in a hammock or on the little terrace watching over the beach. We also had a really amazing full body massage and spent a day on Potipot Island which is extremely close by. The staff provided us with a packed lunch and snorkelling gear etc, showed us to a lovely spot and then left us there to enjoy our day. It was perfect!
The only thing I would add is that they should consider making their menu smaller. It offers a great variety of lots of tempting sounding food but unfortunately a lot of it was not available when we asked. I'm sure this is due to the remote location in general but it would be wiser to offer 7 or 8 main dishes and always have ingredients to make them, rather than have to say things are not available.
This place is certainly not the cheapest place on the beach but we felt that it was excellent value for money and we had a really amazing time! We hope to return one day in the not too distant future...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

T'was indeed a fun filled short vacation we had with friends and much more remembered and enjoyed because of the service we received from Potipot Gateway Resort staff. Special mention to "John" who really showed us the rooms and who patiently answered all our queries...attend to all our needs. Good job John!

Its strategically located near Potipot Island...we were transported to the island by a speedboat. And fetched at our time of choice...very convenient. The resort has lots of nooks where you can hang out either chatting with friends or just reading a book. We chose the room near the swimming pool...clean and relaxing. They have a very spacious bathroom with bath tub. They even provide a hot & cold water dispenser (with water) for the guests.

Nice place! Nice staff! Good service! Worth another trip back!

Keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PotipotGatewayResort, Corporate Affairs Officer at Potipot Gateway Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Potipot Gateway with tripadvisor.

It is always our pleasure to make every guest feel at home with their stay at Potipot Gateway.

The sharing of your experience inspire us to improve and do more.

We hope to welcome you again at Potipot Gateway Resort.

Best Regards,

John Michael Domenden
Corporate Affairs officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading some reviews prior to visiting, I set myself for lowered expectations of the place, but there was really no need.

I stayed at Potipot Gateway Resort for 3 days and 2 nights with friends - we were a group of 4 and we stayed in a room at the 2nd floor of the Beach Front House.

1) In general, services of the staff were great (they are a group of 17 individuals all employed by the owner full time to tend to the resort, and all of them are relatives of each other, from all the way in Pagadian City in the south). They were warm, friendly, helpful, and sincere about doing their jobs, so much that your stay will really make you feel at home and relaxed, and confident that nothing untoward will happen during your vacation.

2) Food served for all meals was good, not "great" but good enough to fill and satisfy, and commensurate to the budget and the price we paid. (We availed of the Cash Cash Pinoy promo/voucher - which was a GREAT deal, by the way: P11,999 for 3D2N for 4 pax, all meals and boat ride to Potipot included.)

3) Rooms were clean, although for the Beach Front House 2nd level rooms - they could use a renovation already, especially for the bathrooms. Although quite clean and comfy, and the rooms smell good, they can still do better. E.g. change the bathroom doors, make sure critters don't roam arond the rooms, etc. The staff made up for their excellent service though - they gave us everything we asked for - extra towels for the bathroom floor, ash tray, drinks to be brought up to the veranda, matches, mango shake, anything really.

4) Massage services are excellent. Gave me a good night's sleep afterwards. And they serve you not just the full hour but perhaps 15-20 minutes extra for the same price.

5) The resort itself is very SPACIOUS. Lots of places to hang out, option to eat out near the beach, they have a pool both for adults and kids, and a small playground for kids as well. Beach front space is also good enough, though the sand of course is not as good as the island's.

I recommend that you choose this resort if you decide to take a short vacation to Zambales - but take the pricier rooms (P3,500 per night) in the Stone house (not the Beach Front house which was built earlier). For P800 more, you get better accommodations. The price is not bad at all. If not, take the ground floor rooms (Japanese-style) at the Beach Front House for P2,800 per night. The 3rd floor/attic rooms at the Beach Front House can take in as much as 12 persons - bigger space with smaller mattresses so dorm-type.

Also, don't take the bus to Candelaria, Zambales. The travel is just too long (6 hours for one way using Victory Liner busline from Manila to Sta. Cruz). In case you take the bus anyway, ask the driver/conductor to drop you off in Uacon or Dawal area - specifically be dropped off near the Trinidad Bay resort sign. After alighting the bus at Uacon/Dawal, take a tricycle for P100 to Potipot Gateway. The bus tickets are P431 per person one-way.

The best is to take private cars, if you can - it will take only 4 hours from Manila using SCTEX, and same way back of course.

Room Tip: Take the pricier rooms (P3,500 per night) in the Stone house (not the Beach Front house which was bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PotipotGatewayResort, Corporate Affairs Officer at Potipot Gateway Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Potipot Gateway with tripadvisor.

It is always our pleasure to make every guest feel at home with their stay at Potipot Gateway.

The sharing of your experience inspire us to improve and do more.

Likewise we appreciate calling our attention enhancing the bathrooms, We're pleased to informed you that we are on the process of improving our bathrooms.

We hope to welcome you again at Potipot Gateway Resort.

Best Regards,

John Michael Domenden
Corporate Affairs officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The service is warm...great food! Try their beef tapa for breakfast! Less than 5 min speed boat ride to the white sand beach! Best time to go in October when you can have the beach to yourself! Love their swimming pool too! Try also getting a massage at the comfort of your room after a swim! Relaxing....zzzz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Potipot Gateway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potipot Gateway Resort

Address: Barangay Sinabacan, Candelaria, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Zambales Province > Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Candelaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Potipot Gateway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potipot Gateway Hotel Candelaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potipot Gateway Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.