We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Limestone Hotel to your Saves list
Limestone Hotel
Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here on the night of 10th April and took our elderly friend for an 89th birthday trip away. We had a fantastic time and wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. Our friend was delighted to find 2 dozen roses and a card in her room on arrival. The welcome was very warm, the beds very comfortable and the food stunning..... we had an evening meal in the hotel, cooked by their excellent French chef - and it was just fabulous. The best meal of the year for me! The scallops, duck and fish were just perfect. The breakfast too was exceptional and way above our expectations.
There is a lovely view of West Lulworth from the Bar and dining room and the sea is only a10 minutes walk away.
The only word of warning is that there is quite a steep winding path to walk up to get to the front door of the hotel. At a guess I would say it's about 50-75 metres long. We were slightly concerned about this as it was too far for our 89 year old friend, so we were glad that we had brought a wheelchair with us. Edward saw us arrive and rushed down to the car park to greet us and pushed the wheelchair up for us. So don't let the slope put you off - I'm so glad we didn't as otherwise we would have missed a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure having you at Limestone Hotel and thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special birthday.

Rest assured, I have shared your review with the rest of the team and they were all equally pleased to hear such wonderful feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you all back for the next birthday celebration!

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    26
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
118
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

An impromptu trip to Dorset over Easter weekend took us to the Limestone and we couldn't have made a better choice. We booked a standard room and upon arrival were given the choice of 2 rooms and opted for The Wine Cellar. Our room, although not huge, was clean and well furnished, with tea and coffee making facilities and a good shower.

We don't usually eat in hotel restaurants but the menu looked really good so we decided to give it a go and had some fantastic food and reasonably priced wine. Particular highlights were: scallops and terrine starters, sea bass and crab mains and French apple and raspberry tarts - come to think of it, that's everything we had! ;-)

We really liked the "honesty bar" where you could pour yourself a drink and write it in the book, the roaring fire, board games and the friendly and very professional staff.

Breakfast was great, with Full English cooked to order and buffet to suit all tastes. My partner said it was the best breakfast he'd ever had.

Lulworth Cove is about a 10 min stroll and it's a few min stroll to the Castle Inn with a large selection of pretty lethal real ales and ciders.

Overall a lovely boutique hotel in a perfect spot and one we hope to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Limestone hotel for your well deserved Easter break! You have summoned up the whole ambiance of the hotel extremely well in your review.

Here at Limestone Hotel we strive to deliver great food and quirky rooms accompanied by friendly and professional staff to make your stay in this beautiful part of the world that much more enjoyable. I am very pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations and you had an enjoyable Easter break

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone Hotel in the near future for another well deserved break.

Kind regards,

Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently had a briliant meal here while staying in the area. The food was delicious and the whole ambience was lovely. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would recommend this restaurant and will definitely come back if we are in Lulworth in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor and thank you for your 5 star review!

Our chef Alain, was extremely pleased to read your review and kind words about his food.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limestone in the future.

Best wishes,


Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Limestone: the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, it is in an excellent location with lovely views and the service was fab. The food is also well above expectation for a B&B, with the salmon and brioche being particularly good! Our favourite thing about it was the bar, which is really cosy with a lovely open fire so after a drink at the local pub it was great to come back to our own space and play a few board games etc in the warm. We will definitely be heading back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boathouse, which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words!

The team and I were very pleased to read your review. Our cosy bar would not be the same without the log fire and I am pleased to hear you found our games trunk.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone Hotel in the future.

Best wishes,

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just stayed one night in Lulworth but this was a great choice. The hotel has recently been redecorated and our room (The Writer's Room) was light, airy and full of character will a great view of the countryside. Each room has a theme and I imagine all are equally good with their own individual character. Accommodation in Lulworth is either nearer the Cove or further into the heart of the village, which is where The Limestone is, which means it's only a short walk to the local pub (The Castle) serving lots of real ales and ciders. It also means it's away from the main throng of tourists but still just a short walk to the Cove and Visitor Center. A full cooked breakfast was available and there was also croissants, nice jams, toast, cheese, juices etc on offer. We ate at the pub in the evening but there was a tempting dinner menu and a bar at the hotel. If I return to Lulworth I would stay here again and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Limestone Hotel. Your excellent review enables others to make an informed decision when looking for accommodation in the Dorset countryside.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just a week after it opened and are delighted to say the new young owners have decorated it beautifully and are already offering excellent service. There is a choice of very comfortable, clean and relaxing rooms, a nice cosy bar with a real coal fire and excellent quality food. It sounds too good to be true but the chef actually walks down to all Lulworth Cove each morning to buy the fresh fish for his 'catch of the day' dish. They even served huge fresh oysters and scallops while we were there. So, if you are just planning a short break or a romantic weekend and want a good quality hotel in a lovely setting then give this a try. And, on the last morning we woke up to see the village blanketed in snow - perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your fantastic and informative review!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Limestone. We have just spent many months undergoing a major refurbishment program and it is wonderful to hear we are not the only ones pleased with the outcome.

The snow was an unexpected surprise and we got some great photos. Please do come and visit us again in the summer when you can take advantage of the beautiful beaches here.

Kind regards,

Edward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely little hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for the young management team. Our room (the Boathouse) was very comfortable, the evening meals in the restaurant excellent and breakfasts a treat. Our room was a superior one with a wonderfully comfortable super king bed and ensuite bath/shower. Beautifully quiet. (Room rating below based on our room as we did not view others). Would have liked to stay longer and definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Phone to discuss your requirements - the staff will do their very best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

Your feedback is really appreciated and is motivation for the whole team here at Limestone Hotel.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limestone hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,


Edward J Wilkes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limestone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.