We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but need to improve the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant

Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant
Main Road | West lulworth, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
01929 400333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
west midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food but need to improve the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here twice during our weeks stray in lulworth. The food is good although the portions are small. We had Sunday lunch and it was lovely! The chef is an asset to this establishment. However, service is slow and at times poor. We complained and of was dealt with swiftly and the bill adjusted so we were happy to go back. Again the food was lovely and although service again was slow ( not enough staff) we would still recommend. This inn has the potential for five stars! Just need to iron out a few issues

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    129
    44
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good pub that wants to be more than a pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Plus: good quality of food, especially meat. Nice atmosphere, strategic location.
Minus: too high prices for a pub, too time consuming as in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Last night of our West UK meander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed the night in a very comfortable and well appointed room at the Lulworth cove inn,. Room had sea view and balcony. Restaurant food was very taste and well presented, including a good selection of mini puddings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place shame about the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a fantastic place, idyllic location with fantastic views, a well kept garden seating area and inside seating for colder weather, the food was great a light lunch was chosen and everything you would expect from a Hall and Woodhouse, the beer was as ever top notch, badger is recommended! we stopped off as we have only ever had a great feed and water from a hall and woodhouse and this was no exception, however, the staff, all but 1 member of staff looked like they had just returned from a funeral and their customer service was appalling, we visited twice and both times its wasn't a happy place, all but one fantastic barmaid didn't get her name but had multi coloured hair and a tattoo up her neck, she made the place alive despite her sorry excuse for colleagues. please cheer up its a great place that needs great people to bring it alive.
ps male toilets needed a clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lulworth meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dinner here this evening in a great setting. The pub it's self has been tastefully decorated and provided a really pleasant ambience. The menu isn't massive but has variety. My husband has declared it as the best meal of our holiday so far (he had a blue cheese burger. I had the salmon skewer which was also fab! Kerry looked after us really well and had lots of patience with our kids!
If we lived round here, we would certainly return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.