We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with lovely room and amazing food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Sage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Sage to your Saves list
Hotel de la Sage
La Sage, Evolene 1985, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Sage
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with lovely room and amazing food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Highly recommended. Best hotel on Haute Route. Room had lovely views up the valley into the mountains. La Sage is very quiet and sits on the Haute Route and appears to have limited accommodation options. To get such excellent value is therefore refreshing. Dinner amazing and especially amazing value for Switzerland..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soundslikebryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Grenchen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just spent two nights at Hotel La Sage, on the enthusiastic recommendations of a neighbor. The experience was delightful and to our completely satisfaction.

We enjoyed the terrific view, the murmuring of the brook, the total tranquiliy of this 150 year-old establishmenth, the splendid salons with their beautiful art deco windows, the perfect sleep quality, the friendly service and the attention by the owner etc

Dinner was splendid, prepared with utmost care by the owner with local ingredients.

At breakfast, there was a variety of the most delicious homemade jams, such as rhubarb and orange, which are served in preserve jars the kind grandma uses and served charmingly on an antique buffet. We enjoyed delicious freshly-baked croissant, along with a generous buffet of various fresh fruit, breads, cereals and cheeses. There were no cold cuts or eggs, but I am sure we could have had them for the asking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

la sage is a beautiful village near the Haute Route and after the hard days of walking it seems i have come to paradise. it is a charming hotel, great hospitality and wonderful food. wish i could stay longer but back to the trail in the morning. sigh. by the way theres a steam room to help you feel human again after a few days on the trail. i know, i know im a pamered camper. lol. also a large sunny library packed with books. what kind of freak wouldn't love this place?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We reached the small village of La Sage after an hour or so with bus from the train station in Sion. The rain poured down from a fairly dark summer sky. After a few minutes walk from the bus stop we entered the hotel and felt immediately in love with the place. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, not too big but not that small either, clean, everything in order with a lot of details from past times, an amazing library equipped with old furniture, drawings, photos and old windows with panoramic view of the valley and – as we discovered when the sky cleared up in the late afternoon – of the neighboring mountains. We were given a room on the second floor with view of the valley. Very nice. The room was of the same standard and with the same good-feeling as the rest of the hotel, with a particularly nice bath room and a relaxing balcony. Perfect. The dinner was excellent (three courses - delicate salat mixed, fine cuisine maine course and delicious exquisite dessert) . As was the breakfast. Yes, we fell in love with the place. Actually, the possibility of another stay at the hotel was frequently discussed on the hike up the pass towards Cabane de Moiry.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morningsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Brilliant food, great service, dinner was amazing considering that it was included in the price, normally you get basic food when it is all in one. Wine was fairly priced and tasty.
Rooms were very basic but comfortable.
I left my iphone cable in the previous hotel, and they arranged to have it put on the bus and collected it for me! Seemless service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Three of us stayed here while doing the Haute Walkers' Route from Chamonix to Zermatt. La Sage is a pretty, traditional Swiss village and the hotel provides a memorable experience. We shared a room (one double bed plus a rather soft single bed) with a large en-suite bathroom and a balcony (just right for drying socks) with stunning mountain views. Other public rooms included a billiard-room and an old-fashioned reading room that made us feel we were back in the 19th century. Dinner (included in our room price) was exceptional and breakfast very acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel on our Hute Route walking holiday, what a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, welcoming, warm and hospitable. Lovely Turkish bath, great food and relaxation areas. Soft sheets and comfy beds, perfect!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nnefamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Sage
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
#3 of 4 in Arolla
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel du Pigne
Hotel du Pigne
#2 of 4 in Arolla
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
9.4 mi away
Gd Hotel Bella Tola & St-Luc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
14.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#7 of 43 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#1 of 6 in Grimentz
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Sage

Address: La Sage, Evolene 1985, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Evolene > La Sage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Sage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Sage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing