We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Hotel as it should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Sage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Sage to your Saves list
Hotel de la Sage
La Sage, Evolene 1985, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Sage
Certificate of Excellence
Grenchen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swiss Hotel as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just spent two nights at Hotel La Sage, on the enthusiastic recommendations of a neighbor. The experience was delightful and to our completely satisfaction.

We enjoyed the terrific view, the murmuring of the brook, the total tranquiliy of this 150 year-old establishmenth, the splendid salons with their beautiful art deco windows, the perfect sleep quality, the friendly service and the attention by the owner etc

Dinner was splendid, prepared with utmost care by the owner with local ingredients.

At breakfast, there was a variety of the most delicious homemade jams, such as rhubarb and orange, which are served in preserve jars the kind grandma uses and served charmingly on an antique buffet. We enjoyed delicious freshly-baked croissant, along with a generous buffet of various fresh fruit, breads, cereals and cheeses. There were no cold cuts or eggs, but I am sure we could have had them for the asking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

la sage is a beautiful village near the Haute Route and after the hard days of walking it seems i have come to paradise. it is a charming hotel, great hospitality and wonderful food. wish i could stay longer but back to the trail in the morning. sigh. by the way theres a steam room to help you feel human again after a few days on the trail. i know, i know im a pamered camper. lol. also a large sunny library packed with books. what kind of freak wouldn't love this place?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We reached the small village of La Sage after an hour or so with bus from the train station in Sion. The rain poured down from a fairly dark summer sky. After a few minutes walk from the bus stop we entered the hotel and felt immediately in love with the place. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, not too big but not that small either, clean, everything in order with a lot of details from past times, an amazing library equipped with old furniture, drawings, photos and old windows with panoramic view of the valley and – as we discovered when the sky cleared up in the late afternoon – of the neighboring mountains. We were given a room on the second floor with view of the valley. Very nice. The room was of the same standard and with the same good-feeling as the rest of the hotel, with a particularly nice bath room and a relaxing balcony. Perfect. The dinner was excellent (three courses - delicate salat mixed, fine cuisine maine course and delicious exquisite dessert) . As was the breakfast. Yes, we fell in love with the place. Actually, the possibility of another stay at the hotel was frequently discussed on the hike up the pass towards Cabane de Moiry.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Brilliant food, great service, dinner was amazing considering that it was included in the price, normally you get basic food when it is all in one. Wine was fairly priced and tasty.
Rooms were very basic but comfortable.
I left my iphone cable in the previous hotel, and they arranged to have it put on the bus and collected it for me! Seemless service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Three of us stayed here while doing the Haute Walkers' Route from Chamonix to Zermatt. La Sage is a pretty, traditional Swiss village and the hotel provides a memorable experience. We shared a room (one double bed plus a rather soft single bed) with a large en-suite bathroom and a balcony (just right for drying socks) with stunning mountain views. Other public rooms included a billiard-room and an old-fashioned reading room that made us feel we were back in the 19th century. Dinner (included in our room price) was exceptional and breakfast very acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel on our Hute Route walking holiday, what a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, welcoming, warm and hospitable. Lovely Turkish bath, great food and relaxation areas. Soft sheets and comfy beds, perfect!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Consistently disappointed by Swiss hotelling which so often lacks warmth and charm, I absolutely loved the Hôtel la Sage. This is what you imagine a hotel in Switzerland should be like. The building was built at the beginning of the 20th century, in the golden age of Swiss tourism. The dining room and the sitting room/reading room above it both have high ceilings and huge panoramic windows offering a superb view of the mountains and the Val d'Herens. There is much evidence of wood. The entire place feels romantic and cosy and a part of the landscape that surrounds it.

The owner is very friendly and will chat to you willingly in fluent French or English. She appears to have brought something of the sunshine of her native Mauritius with her.

Our room was cosy and comfortable, with an excellent bathroom that was decorated in splendid taste (rare). Only the rather cheap carpets undersell the establishment.

The food on offer is table d'hôte - ie, there is no choice. It was extremely good, but if you want choice, you will probably have to drive the 15 mins to Evolène. There was also an excellent and copious breakfast.

Expense-wise, the Hôtel la Sage is not cheap, but it is worth the money and I will definitely be returning. The place offers real charm which is surely what the traveller to Switzerland is looking for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Sage
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
Grand Hotel Kurhaus
#1 of 4 in Arolla
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#2 of 4 in Arolla
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel du Pigne
Hotel du Pigne
#3 of 4 in Arolla
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 3 in St. Niklaus
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#1 of 2 in Zinal
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
9.8 mi away
Maya Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Sage

Address: La Sage, Evolene 1985, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Evolene > La Sage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Sage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Sage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Sage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.