We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and myself stayed at this lovely B&B in wales with my daughter. My husband and myself had tried camping and treated ourselves to one night of luxury, we were also poorly and had come down with throat infections which and by the time we had finished our breakfast we felt alot better. The owners were lovely,very warm, caring and friendly, it was like visiting your favorite Aunt and Uncle and they were extremly kind to our young daughter. The breakfast was a real treat and made with real care.Absolutely idilic location. Must go back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed in the B&B accomodation and was amazed at the quality of the rooms. Myself and two friends took all three of the B&B rooms available. Each room was extremely spacious and included either double or twin beds, sofa, tea making area with fridge and a decent size table for sitting round and chatting/playing cards etc. All had a decent size cupboard for storage of your suitcase or hanging up your shirts etc. Each bathroom was finished to a very high standard. Mine had both a corner bath and a seperate shower. We received a very warm welcome and the breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. (I believe that a cooked breakfast can also be offered if you are staying in the cottages).

We had a look round the cottages as we were so impressed with the B&B accomodation. The cottages are are again finished to an extrememly high standard and I think that if we were to return with more people that we would definately give one of these a try.

The pub at the top of the road was excellent and we went there for both evenings. Especially would recommend the steak.

We went to play golf and played three top courses within a 25 minute drive of the accomodation (I beleive that there is at least one other decent course within a similar distance).

Thanks for a great stay, we will certainly be returning in the future and have already recommended to a couple of golfing friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in the recently-opened b&b next to the cottages. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are excellent and the owners are really hospitable. We couldn't have asked for anything better.
Other members of our family stayed in one of the cottages and were similarly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed there for the week of the Royal Welsh Show in the third week of July.The cottages are fantastic, well equipped and situated in an idyllic part of the country.The hosts provided us with lots of information and advice,they couldn't have been more helpful.
The hot tub was a real hit with the four teenage kids.Lots of places to visit and good food available in the local pubs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Beautiful cottage,lovely location and everything you could possibly need.One of the best cottages my family and I have stayed in.Am booking to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Address: Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Cilmeri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cilmeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.