We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yousef and his staff are fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellapais Monastery Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bellapais Monastery Village to your Saves list
Bellapais Monastery Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Yousef and his staff are fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife and I had a good fortnight at this hotel. The hotel itself I would describe as average, the staff though were outstanding. In the restaurant Yousef (the restaurant manager) and his staff could not do enough for us. They work seven days a week doing split shifts and despite this always had a smile. My particular favourite memory was Mohammed serving champagne to us morning and night (the champagne was actually the bottled water but what the heck it was amusing when he came over asking us if we wanted more "champagne").
I am sure that the hotel does not appreciate just how good their staff are.
Now the bad points. The first is that the hotel is half way up a hill with nothing else close by. You cannot really just walk out to get a drink at a local bar. There are good restaurants up the hill and I do mean UP THE HILL if you want to go. You can get a free taxi up there if you are dining though. The hill becomes a mountain in the daytime because of the really hot temperatures.
I got some chemical burns under my arms and on my crotch and I think that the swimming pool was too blame. As I swim and go in the water loads I was probably exposed to the chemicals more than others. I know that this did not affect all the guests but I did speak to one other couple who said that they had suffered the same burn like symptoms as me. I never said anything to the hotel though as I thought I had got these elsewhere.
The only other complaints are very minor. You are not allowed to bring any food or drink into the hotel as it is against their company policy. It would be as it means you have to buy your food and drink from them. If this is the case why did they supply a fridge in the room? We ignored this and got some drink etc for the room. They do not also have little nibbles to buy like crisps etc so we bought them from the local supermarket.
They provide tea and coffee facilities which means a kettle and two cups, nothing else. It is very difficult to buy normal milk so making a cup of tea proved to be difficult.
Will we go back? Time will tell but we still have a maybe we will, maybe we won't attitude.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    109
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
195
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The most siginificantly positive aspect of the hotel was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff; they couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was comfortable and relaxing. Every time we asked for some assistance they bent over backwards to help.
As for the hotel, while very clean and pleasant, it was clear that it had a sort of faded glamour and could benefit from a complete refurbishment. That however did in no way spoil our holiday.

We stayed in a mini villa, which is a little grand a title, it was a two floor room not in the main body of the hotel, we asked for a lower level and they delivered, the views being fabulous.

The location was a pleasant position overlooking Kyrenia and the coast with beautiful views. The swimming pool and surrounds were great and they were just opening the poolside bar the week we arrived. The breakfast was adequate but while we ate dinner on only 1 occasion in the hotel restaurant, where I had a pasta dish, it was swimming in grease and quite unpleasant, I wouldn't necesarily recommend it.
I would also recommend that anyone staying there needs to hire a car, particularly if they want to get to any decent beaches and or see anything of the island.

Bellapais village is within walking distance and has some lovely restaurants and although we walked back from Kyrenia, anyone not that fit would struggle with the walk back as it is very steep and VERY hot!

All in all a pleasant stay with excellent service but would appreciate some updating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

The only complaint we had was we didn't have long enough there. arrived late and the staff were waiting for us to arriive for dinner 5 of us.Tthe menu had a great selection even for our 2 veggies who were in their element. The decorators were very busy painting and upgrading the rooms as they became vacant & the cleaner was extremly efficient. All in all we had a great holiday although since our last visit its getting quite built up. We spent 1 night at the Arch houses in the Karpas and it was great acomadation basic but clean and comfortable. We will al go back really loved it. J.V

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

had originally booked for dome on B&B, advised 4 weeks before travel, that they had several complaints about Dome, smelly rooms,poor service etc, so chose bellapais mv.
Arrived at 9.00 not expecting to be fed, but helpful guy on desk said don't worry restaurant open till 10.00.
Sat down, given menu, explained we were on half board, no problem, you can choose anything from full a la carte menu.
Food was excellent, breakfast plenty of choice.
we stayed in mini villa, with view over Kyrenia. impressive, plenty of room, and Air con was fantastic.
Service round the pool was great, as were lunch time snacks
Hired a car 4 week and toured the island.
Famagusta well worth a visit, but long drive, northen tip interesting but most of sites not much to see, but very picturesque,
Trip to Turtke hatchery a must but make sure you, call to make sure they are releasing a batch of baby turtles.
Kyrenia is fascinating plenty of ruins, but take your factor25 and plenty of water, go early morning or late afternoon.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Really good hotel, excellent food, friendly service, whilst there we looked at other hotels and feel we made a good choice. Our villa was clean, although a little tired, but this was not a problem. The bedrooms is upstairs, and the bathroom downstairs in the villas. The downside is a lot of steps as hotel on hill, villas on three levels, and steps down to pool area and restaurant. The hotel rooms overlook a local football pitch, with views beyond to the sea. There were some games played, but early evening. The villas looked directly over Kyrenia. The hotel is a bit isolated, nothing around, shop or taverna, so need transport or car. Some of the tavernas around provided free taxi service. We were disappointed with N cyprus, not as pretty as expected, very dirty, rubbish thrown down everywhere, with lots of building going on around, with builders rubble just left. Access to beaches not easy unless with a car, and the public beaches we found had lots of litter around. Hotel good, but area disappointing - we would not go back to Cyprus.

  • Liked — Clean towels, bedding daily, good food and friendly
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

a lovely setting and a nice hotel, but not worthy of four star status. the nini villas are nicely furnished but could have been cleaner and the brochure doesnt tell you that many rooms are not suitable for the less mobile. there were 97 steps from the pool to ours! The staff where helpful and friendly, service varied from area to area. Pool service poor.
The holiday was marred near the end of our stay, when the resident gardener threw a young kitten over a wall, (witnessed by at least 4 tourists). This was cruel, upsetting, and ende in the kitten dying a week later. The manager did pay the vets bill though!
We found the whole of north cypus full of rubbish, and generally scruffy. Wont be returning to the north.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

An excellent two weeks made all the more enjoyable by the staff, in particular those in the restaurant who in spite of long hours always had a smile and a friendly greeting for you.The standard and choice of food throughout was an absolute credit to the chef and staff.The cleanliness of all public areas as very good as was that in relation to the accommodation.Our one and only criticism was in relation to other guests at the hotel who could not bother having a shower before using the pool in spite of the many notices! After sun bathing and the sun cream this did little for the pool water quality.

  • Liked — Main hotel accommodation well located, cleanliness and frequency of linnen changes
  • Disliked — Some of the alternative accommodation involved approx 98 steps down to the pool and dining room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel in Kyrenia which has A'la Carte Restaurant & Bar.It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellapais Monastery Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.