We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor. 4* no chance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bellapais Monastery Village

Save Saved
You added Bellapais Monastery Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellapais Monastery Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bellapais
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Poor. 4* no chance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In most cases when holidaying abroad I like many people, try to make the best of things and concentrate on the positives. It was impossible here as there were so many bad and it really but a damper on the holiday spirit.
I suppose I fell for the 4 star rating which is no reflection of the quality of the accommodation or how bad this place is. The staff were very friendly and helpful but in the restaurant particularly useless. The restaurant is advertised as exquisite which has to be the most bizarre use of the term imaginable. Apart from the terrible evening meal which was actually inedible ( try the prawn cocktail - i dare you) the breakfasts were served up on filthy and cracked crockery and often not what was requested. When I pointed out a hair on my plate there was no apology. Do yourself a favour and do not eat here at night.

The so called villa was falling apart with hole in exterior walls, door locks which did not work, TV did not work. A fly that had been squashed against the netting before we arrived was still there 10 days later. There were holes in the towels, the curtain kept coming off the rails.

The place generally is shabby with cracked paving, rotting and loose handrails for external stairs,weeds in between paving around the pool which was also shabby. The waterproof seat covers absorb the rain

Room Tip: Not all rooms or villas have a sea view, so if you have to go ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    93
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
180
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The website claims that the Bellapais Monastery Village is ' a luxury hotel which is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range. It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside. Kyrenia itself is approximately 2 miles away but guests can take a gentle stroll to nearby Bellapais Village '. The hotel is located in a quiet position in the foothills of the Five Finger mountain range but the panoramic views of Kyrenia town, the new harbour and surrounding countryside are panoramic should be taken in a literal sense. Kyrenia town is situated 2 miles away, however, the ' gentle stroll ' demands a 45 minute walk with a 23 degree incline.

The website also claims ' Your wish is our desire and now here is it more evident that at meal times. Start with breakfast, where you have a comprehensive international menu to choose from. Sample a superb lunch time snack at the pool bar, washed down with a long, cool drink - but don't eat too much because there is dinner to look forward to! In the evening you can explore the delicious international a-la-carte menus where you will find the hardest task will be to choose from the many and varied dishes' The breakfast menu is comprehensive and encompasses the choice of a Turkish breakfast, a Cypriot breakfast, a full English breaskfast, fruit, yoghurt and a choice of omelettes. The lunch menu is wide ranging with a traditional Turkish option of three dishes complemented by dishes such as chips, Hamburgers, mushy peas, campbell's mushroom soup, tinned tuna salad. The à la carte evening menu boasts a variety of dishes: Cod with parsley sauce, prepared from a packet, chicken with tinned mushrooms, beefburger with cheese and chips, profiteroles with grated coconut and whipped carnation cream to mention a few. Claims that the diner's wish is the hotel's desire is debatable as complaints made about the poor quality of the food, often dry and inedible, were met with increasing hostility. It was refreshing to hear from the restaurant manager that a complaint had not been made in his 10 years of working at the hotel and that his 25 years in the catering industry had enabled him to pre-empt the culinary preferences of British travellers, confident that we would be unable to eat local, well prepared dishes. Whilst we were able to laugh in the face of such adversity, there are places offering a better culinary experience making no such claims as the Bellapais Monastery website, perhaps a sad indictment of the effect of mass tourism and the resulting perception of local industry.
The rooms are clean and serviced every day. The reception staff are helpful and willing to advise on the options of local activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having recently returned with my husband from a weeks stay I can concur with the many positive comments from previous reviewers. However, as reviews are necessarily subjective, what appeals to some may not have the same attraction for others.
The hotel has a somewhat quirky layout, wrapped in terraces round the hillside. This adds to it's charm and character and promotes a friendly ambiance as guests move between rooms, reception, restaurant, swimming - pool etc. However, the less mobile might find the various terraces and steps problematic.
Equally the location, below Bellapais village but out of Kyrenia, suited us well but would not appeal to everyone. We enjoyed the walk up to Bellapais ( times varied according to temperature and stops to admire the view but was about 30 minutes at longest) with it's magnificent abbey and cafe/restaurants including the characterful "Gardens of Irini" at the top of the village. We took a scenic walk from the hotel through Bellapais and down a road with lovely views to the pretty village of Ozankoy where there are several eateries. There is a shortcut back to the hotel or you can catch the dolmus into Kyrenia. There is a rough map of this route at the hotel reception.
The hotel restaurant is very good and the service excellent. We ate there more evenings than originally intended. Our only criticism concerns the dinner menu which, though quite extensive, only included a few local dishes. The Friday kleftico night was an exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After seeing so many five star revues of The Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel, we decided to give it a try. The rates were attractive at £80 for B&B and that was for their best "suite", so bearing in mind the old adage that "you only get what you pay for" this is an OK venue. It was clean and tidy but very "tired" the owners "The Oscar Group" need to make some inward investment especially in modernising the bathroom of suite 2063, a whiter toilet bowl would help, and a shower head that wasn't broken with taps that weren't separate from the surrounding tiles. I know that sounds bad but really it's a simple job of better maintenance. The pool and sun terrace are surrounded by wooden sun loungers and tables all of which are in a sorry state of disrepair, come on Oscar, you have a nice place here, especially at the rates you're offering, but it needs to be brought up to date, whilst you're at it get some new towels, of the six pool towels that we used three had holes in them!. The staff are great, but quite why you have to leave a deposit for the safe key and pay extra for the use of the safe is beyond me, and I'm still confused about whether the deposit was returned or not, I'm sure it was but it's all too complicated!!
They tell you that it's not a great place for kids or those who struggle with hilly places, they're right it is all quite steep and there are a lot of steps so if you're thinking of going there do bear that in mind. Sorry Oscar but I can only give you six out of ten, huge potential, needs money throwing at it.

Room Tip: Remember there are lots of steps and hilly bits so ask for a lower room if that's going to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The answer is YES. We e mailed the hotel and asked for the same room that we had on our last visit, we got a quick response to say this would be ok. We arrived at 2pm, checkin was quick and friendly. Our room was in the hotel block, it over looks a football ground with a view of Kyrenia harbour in the distance. The room was very clean, the beds are comfy with nice white bedding and decent clean top covers. There is a kettle etc with the first few teabags/coffee free, after that you have to pay for them (so take your own). The only let down is that there are no English tv channels except the news, a bit boring if your are there a week or two! The bathroom was clean and well stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries. The evening meal was excellent (this was part of the reason that we returned to this hotel). There is a very large selection of food to choose off the menu. The three waiters were very friendly and on the ball with their service, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere with background music. It is spotlessly clean (yes even in the daylight). Breakfast was plentyful and will set you up for the day, once again waiters were on the ball and any request is no trouble for them. We took a look around the pool area and think this could do with a bit of attention and they need new mattresses for the sun beds, but it is the end of the season! We had a nice few hours sat out on our balcony before we left, it was very peaceful. There is a free mini bus into Kyrenia three times a day. We would reccomend this hotel to friends etc and we will be going back again in the future.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the hotel block rather than the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great hotel, with great staff and the evening meals are excellent. The villa room we stayed in was fine with a clear view of the Med. The outdoor and indoor pool was fine. The only problem is that this hotel appears to overbook the rooms. When we arrived very late at night the hotel was full and we were sent to the Ocar Hotel in Kyrenia. We believe this happened to 4 couples wo arrived the same night as us and we heard stories form other residents that it had happened to them. The Oscar hotel was large and impersonal, the room was dirty, with no clean towels and overlooked the car park. We were moved back to the BMV hotel the next day and we were compensated by getting 3No free evening meals. We would recommend this hotel, but suggest the hotel need to get this overbooking problem sorted.

Room Tip: The Villa rooms have a mezzanine bedroom and appear to be better than the standard hotel rooms, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time at the BMV and it didn't disappoint. We had a lovely chill out week, met similarly minded people and were made to feel welcome by the wonderful hotel staff. The villas where we stayed are showing their age a bit but clean and spacious. There are steps and steep slopes, hardly the fault of the hotel, though, and the bar area and restaurant are just a little small. The pool area is a good size, though, and the food was pretty good. Although it seemed that most main meals were not prepared fresh, portion sizes were good and the sauces delicious. Meal and drink prices compared well to Kyrenia bars etc. The hotel has an elevated position overlooking Kyrenia but is still a 25 minute uphill walk to Bellapais village, but it's worth the effort. Overall, well recommended and we'd definitely return. A few years ago we stayed at the Altinkaya which is a mile or so down the road from the BMV. Both have a charm, but I think the newer BMV wins by half a star.

Room Tip: To avoid steps and slopes ,try villas near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellapais Monastery Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellapais Monastery Village

Address: Girne Via Mersin 10 | Bellapais Road Kyrenia, Bellapais, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Bellapais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bellapais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellapais Monastery Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel in Kyrenia which has A'la Carte Restaurant & Bar.It stands close to Bellapais Abbey and commands panoramic views of Kyrenia town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Bellapais Monastery Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Bellapais
Bellapais Monastery Village Kyrenia
Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel Kyrenia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellapais Monastery Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.