We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caenby Corner
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Caenby Corner LN8 2AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed for a single night when attending a wedding reception close by, Myself and hubby were in the king size room, with our own entrance, beautiful decor and all the little extra touches that made our stay most enjoyable.My sister and her hubby were in the main building that is Bill & Ellen's home. when greeted by Bill and Ellen we were made to feel very very welcome, nothing was to much trouble, the dogs were very friendly and no trouble at all to us, i think we made more fuss over them than they did of us, both these dogs are very well trained and are a credit to Bill & Ellen. After attending our wedding reception we returned just before midnight to a warm welcome from Bill, we were soon in our room and into the most comfortable bed that i have ever slept in. I always wake up 2 or 3 times in the night when staying away from home, but not this time, the bed, the bed linen and the pillows were sublime.

The breakfast that was expertly provided was fabulous (sorry I couldn't finish mine Bill) but clean plates from every one else. Would certainly stay at the Ermine lodge again. The service was exemplary from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

Thank you Bill and Ellen

from
Pat and Kevin Taylor

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

After stumbling accross this hidden oasis for one night ,I had no question that for the next 5 months this was the place to stay for me. As a buisness man this was the ideal home from home experience . Bill & Ellen are so friendly and welcoming that I had no hesitation to book for the long term . With comfortable rooms and a cracking full english breakfast and cereals I could not wish for anything more. A local pub 3 mins away by car also with a friendly welcome . I would recommend this to any one who wish's to visit Lincoln as it is only a 15minute scenic drive from the city centre. You must try it to believe it .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

It was great to come back and so I get the chance to correct my rating (which was wrong by mistake the first time). We've spent 2 nights in this very friendly and perfectly clean B&B.
As this is the second time I've stayed with Bill&Ellen, they made me feel like coming home.
I'm not used to dogs, but like them very much, specially if they are well trained and behave.

We appreciated all the extras in the room like chocolats and sherry.

Breakfast was delicious again for vegetairans and non.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed for a single night while working in Hemswell and could not have asked for more. The cost was very reasonable and the services provided were exemplary. The room had everything I needed and was most comfortable. Breakfast was great in the morning too.

I notice a few people complaining about the dogs. Bill and Ellen's website clearly states they have and train dogs - what more can they do? It's their home - they're entitled to have dogs. The dogs were no hassle at all (no late/early barking or boisterous behaviour). The only contact I had with the dogs was when I sought it and Bill gave his permission to the dogs. They're well trained and a credit to themselves and Bill.

If I'm ever back down in the area I wouldn't hesitate to book another night. It would be a pleasure to meet Bill and Ellen again, and of course, the dogs.

Many thanks, Tim

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We spent the weekend at Ermine Lodge with Bill & Ellen. They welcomed us with open arms.We stayed with them whilst attending a family wedding near by. Our rooms were lovely. They were exceptionally clean and Bill & Ellen were the perfect hosts. The breakfast we received was excellent and any thing we asked of them was not a problem. They did all they could to make our weekend wonderful. We would certainly go to their home again. We loved the dogs too. Thank you to you both.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I used these facilities (along with my husband and friends) recently whilst attending a wedding at a local venue. I cannot comment on the welcome as my husband dealt with this but the room itself, breakfast and Bill & Ellen were the best I have ever experienced. The rooms were spacious and clean with a few additional extras which were very much appreciated. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and both Bill & Ellen were on hand to answer any questions we had and were willing to put themselves out in order to accommodate us. Bearing in mind the fact that there were dogs on the premises and I am not the biggest fan of these, it was reassuring that there was 'extra' security there and neither of them caused us any problems during our wonderful stay.

I have already started recommending Ermine Lodge to anyone who will listen and I will continue to do so as this really is 'Home from Home' (with the added bonus of no washing up!!).

Special thanks to both Bill & Ellen for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the outside rooms which I believe used to be the garage. As these are locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here overnight when we attended a wedding in the area. We were greeted warmly by Bill and Ellen, the owners. We stayed in the king suite which had it's own entrance, spacious bedroom and bathroom with all the little extras that make a stay more comfortable.

Bill and Ellen were friendly, helpful and so pleasant. From first stepping into the room you could tell they had given thought to ensuring your stay is comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay, a great nights sleep and delicious breakfast to top it off. Would recommend Ermine lodge to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caenby Corner
Hickman Hill Hotel 4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort... 4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Caenby Corner, ranked by popularity

Been to Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Caenby Corner LN8 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Caenby Corner
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caenby Corner
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star family run B&B close to Lincoln City. Enjoy a clean and comfortable stay with our warm hospitality and pride in what we provide, from quality accommodation to an excellent breakfast all within our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. Meet our free range chickens and friendly dogs. Within walking distance of the White Heather and Hemswell Court for weddings and functions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ermine Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list