We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilberts End Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gilberts End Farm to your Saves list
Gilberts End Farm
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gilberts End, Hanley Castle, Great Malvern WR8 0AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Chrissi our host made us feel very welcome in her 500 year old farm house that ouzes character, we stayed in the pink room ( top of the stairs) for two nights while exploring the Malvern's, this is a great location, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, you can relax in peace and quiet.
The breakfasts are superb and defiantly set you up for the day - Wonderful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wythall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked via the net and phone contact, Chrissy was very helpful and we enjoyed a weekend at the Upton Jazz Festival. The building is 500 years old so a bit quirky but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was superb and we really did not want to leave. Our hostess was obliging and keen to ensure our stay was really enjoyable. we would gladly return.

Room Tip: The red room was en suite, quiet and had a huge, very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

It's on a small back road, so you wouldn't normally be passing by, but don't miss a chance to stay here if you are looking for accommodation in the Great Malvern/Upton area. The property has ample parking for guests, and makes a good base to explore the area. We were lucky enough to have the king-sized room in the old part of the house. It has a large bathroom, oak beams and timbers, a huge bed, and is light and airy. We had a wonderful stay. If you want peace and quiet and relaxation in a real period house, then look no further. If you want even more relaxation, Chrissy the host does Reiki massage. My wife came out of the session absolutely chilled out. The breakfast can be thoroughly recommended too - very tasty indeed, well cooked and with generous portions. We were given a warm welcome, and Chrissy has recommendations as to where to find good venues for an evening meal. It all made for a lovely break, and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the king-sized room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on our yearly escape from the kids. We stayed in the superior room which consists of a large bathroom,a hallway and a decent size bedroom. The room was really nice. It wasn't plush but it was really nice and the decorations suited the age of the building. There are beams galore and loads of quirky features to the room and the house itself. Chrissy, who runs the B and B is so friendly but genuinely so without being over the top. There were so many personal touches that made you feel welcome. Moving on to the breakfast it was spot on and tasted as nice as it looked. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My Mum and I stayed at Gilbert's End in October of 2013. The area in and around the property is breathtaking. The room we stayed in was super comfortable with a lovely bed and en suite shower. Chrissy is a lovely host and very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas, places to eat, etc. She helped us set up a wonderful horseback ride. Breakfast is fresh! I highly recommend one of Chrissy's Reyki treatments. We would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were at an event at the Three Counties Showground. Normally we camp, but this year at the last minute found a B&B. And what a find! We stayed in the "modern" part of the building - around 400 years old. Full of little details. Our room (the Pink Room) was of a very good size, comfortable and peaceful. A good sized bathroom, which was spotlessly clean and a comfortable bed. Nice little touches as well - like fresh milk for the tea and cakes one evening.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is good quality and large portions, so no need for lunch. Chrissy, the owner, is a mine of local information and very friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

There is nothing that Krissie couldn't do. She was very informative and helpful throughout our stay. The room was well appointed and well decorated. Little touches like fresh milk for tea and coffee making and small cakes on arrival were really unexpected but lovely. Upton on Severn is really nearby and a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilberts End Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilberts End Farm

Address: Gilberts End, Hanley Castle, Great Malvern WR8 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern > Hanley Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanley Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilberts End Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character listed farmhouse set in tranquil rural location, near the beautiful riverside town of Upton upon Severn, and only 5 minutes from the Three Counties Showground. Direct access on to footpaths and only 5 miles from the Malvern Hills. Our beautifully furnished rooms are all en-suite with tv/dvd, free unlimited wifi and tea/coffee making facilities. Delicious breakfasts are served using fresh and local produce. We are sure you will enjoy the quality, comfort and tranquillity of your surroundings, offering you a welcome moment of respite and relaxation! Easy access M5 J7/8 and M50 J1 Worcester 8 miles, Tewksbury and Ledbury 7.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gilberts End Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilberts End Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.