We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more but disapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pigeonnier du Perron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Pigeonnier du Perron to your Saves list
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Lieu dit Le Perron, 86530 Availles-en-Chatellerault, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expected more but disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lovely peaceful setting ,building and surroundings plenty of history BUT...room was cramped & very 'chainey' . We had a cupboardy box which required careful manouvres to get around unscathed. Modern IKEA style furniture wedged in.

Evening meal well cooked BUT staff couldn't wait to scarper at 9:00pm so kept asking if we were finished minutes after delivering each course.

Breakfast - nothing cooked, nothing fresh, conference coffee

Room Tip: Don't choose 'comfort' class. It isn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
40
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on our drive through Limousin and Auvergne. We had prebooked and our room was on the first floor and was pleasant. We had a fairly ordinary dinner and breakfast at the hotel as it seemed a long way to find an alternative. Both dinner and breakfast were adequate but not special and people seemed robotic. There were around 10 guests for breakfast and dinner, mostly French business travellers. The grounds were bare in places, overgrown in others - to put it bluntly, unloved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This relais is not the "tres comfortable" that the guide states.
The rooms are small, the shower made for dwarves, the pillows a very flat small cushion, the bed very hard.
They have 2 rooms with a " large" 160/200 bed! I had requested a large bed by phone and mail, but we got a small bed! Those rooms are also very small.
Fortunately( we thought at that moment)there were only 3 more guests, so we were given 1 of the 2 rooms. That room was in the pigeonnier and has low beams, so my husband had to mind his head all the time.
The set dinner very average, but okay for 19 euros you can't expect too much.
But the real disappointment was the walls are made of paper. We heard our neighbour,
cough,Brush his teeth, phone, shower,etc. And..he got up at 6 am!
So relais the silence? LOL!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here en route to a holiday in the Charente, and it was an ideal overnight stay. I don't know that I'd want to stay more than one night here but it was comfortable with a good breakfast. If it's a pleasant evening, it's a lovely place to sit in the garden by the pigeon loft and enjoy the sunset views across the fields. Chatellerault, 15 minutes drive from the hotel, offers a good selection of restaurants, and if you're lucky, entertainment in the town square outside the town hall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

What a pretty hotel for an overnight stay on a journey thro France. Good setting, historic building, reasonable and comfortable rooms - it all looked so good especially after reading other comments on Trip Advisor. But what a disappointment - after a 400 mile drive we arrived late afternoon to a frosty and completely indifferent reception - not a smile to be had - our first and only bad experience during our two weeks holiday. Well, we assumed she was busy so forgave her and looked forward to a nice drink and dinner. Dinner was completely shockingly awful - a mush of fish and rice in pink commercial mayonnaise, followed by boiled fish with all its scales pointing skywards like an unshaven chin. I noticed the other diners left theirs too. Perhaps the chef was away. Breakfast was plain, scanty and disappointing. No smiles when we left either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Pigeonnier du Perron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pigeonnier du Perron

Address: 22 Lieu dit Le Perron, 86530 Availles-en-Chatellerault, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Availles-en-Chatellerault
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Availles-en-Chatellerault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pigeonnier du Perron 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Did you know that French philosopher Rene Descartes once lived in Poitou-Charentes, more specifically in Availles-en-Chatellerault? His handsome 15th-century residence is now a lovely, distinctive hotel from which guests can admire the square pigeon house that gave the property its name, L'HOTEL LE PIGEONNIER DU PERRON. The peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside is a boon to the 12 rooms and 2 suites. They are full of charm with their parquetry and understated decor. Many have a slightly rustic style with stones and exposed beams. But the modernity and comfort of the furniture places them squarely in our century. They are all equipped with a shower or bathtub and an LCD flat screen TV with DTT. Some also have a telephone, Wifi, air conditioning, a DVD player, hairdryer, and/or heated towel rack. The dining room is warm and also reveals signs of the past, creating a unique setting where guests savour traditional cooking prepared with seasonal products, particularly fresh vegetables. The garden at Le Pigeonnier du Perron is a splendid venue with authentic charms. You can take your breakfast here, or laze around the pool, play table tennis or shoot hoops. You will be much better off here than on the beaches of Charente-Maritime! Because Availles-en-Chatellerault is near Poitiers and Chatellerault, you will undoubtedly leave this hotel in Poitou-Charentes for long enough to visit the Futuroscope as well as the Moulin de Chitre, Chateau de Dissay, the Descartes Home and Museum, and the Pinail Nature Reserve. European Eco label. Qualite Tourisme label. Seminars. Family friendly. Access for guests with reduced mobility. Quiet destination. Car park. No pets allowed in restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Pigeonnier du Perron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pigeonnier du Perron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.