We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majahuitas Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Majahuitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majahuitas Resort
Save
You added Majahuitas Resort to your Saves list
Villas Vallarta Local F-20A | Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Majahuitas 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon here, and the resort offered everything as advertised! It is so remote in the jungle that a boat ferry had to take us to the resort. The food was great and the beach was even better. On a crowded day, we had 12 other people on our side of the beach with us. I say our “side” because there is a public side to the beach that is open for a couple of hours a day. The management at Majahuitas was very active to make sure that the public does not come to the more private side. I also liked the fact that I could swim to one of the best snorkeling location on Puerto Vallarta. The accommodations are “high-end rustic.” There is running water, but no electricity. My wife and I knew this going in and we went to this location specifically to “detox” our systems of phones and technology. We felt like family while we were there, and it was hard to leave in the end!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that catches the ocean breeze. There is no AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    11
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
14
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very private and peaceful. The concept of the open air casita was wonderful, however after the first 24 hours everything we brought with us was damp and only proceeded to get worse. Maybe it was the time of year (January) but after 4 nights we were ready to leave. Highlights were the food, bon fires on the beach, hike to the waterfall, exceptional staff, and a quiet and private beach. Bar was well stocked and Kevin makes a great margarita. Those needing a hair dryer or any other electrical appliance need not consider Majahuitas Resort as there are no electrical outlets. But for those looking for a great vacation experience out of the ordinary this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I visited this resort during Thanksgiving 2012 with my boyfriend. We stayed in Casita Cliff, which was predictably at the top of a cliff overlooking the beach. I cannot emphasize the beauty of this resort enough. It felt like a private beach; everyone here was mellow and relaxed, the food was amazing, the owners and staff sweet and welcoming. We also went zip-lining and hiking, which was just fantastic. Majahuitas definitely deserves a revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

to be free of everything! the gong sounds to let us know when meals are ready! to not have to make any decision except whether to put your flag up for service while lollying on the beachfront is the ultimate vacation! it is the ultimate comfortable, peaceful, satisfying experience you want to have once, twice and yet i look forward to again!
you wait for the sound of the gong to announce breakfast, lunch and dinner = amazing, delectable, memorable foods that will excite you! you don't have to decide where to go, when to eat, what to eat......you are eating, the ocean in your view, at breakfast and lunch and eating with other guests at dinner in a beautiful setting, whether in the dining room or perhaps on the beach at christmastime, an experience we had this year! it was awesome!
you will be spolied. you will feel special. you will relax. you will want to go back. i do...and i just left. i miss so much about it. thanks for the memories, majahuitas!
your hosts are welcoming and friendly, their pets are friendly and will satisfy those who are missing their own pets. the whales will excite you when they appear, with luna, the whale-watching" lab who will alert you at first sighting, along with the daily appearance of "pirate ships" which will entertain you, while assuring you that you are free and protected from the "outiside" world. afterall, isn't that why we wanted a "get-away"??
it's eco-friendly! remember why you chose it. read the reviews. mostly, they are accurate.
if you want to relax and be free of all you encounter daily -- this is it! everything from the air you breathe, to the food you eat, to the space you reside in, to the feeling of "there's nothing i HAVE to do!".....your seach has ended...this is it!
if i'm wrong, let me know. i am so beholden to margot and kevin -- to both of you, i know it's business, but you are giving us a "gift" we don't mind affording -- even when we shouldn't!!
this is my testimony to you and all you two have worked for in establishing a place that we love!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This place is magical. Expect to relax, unwind, meet great people, and eat ridiculously good food! The staff truly does make you feel at home. You really do feel like you gained another family. My girl and I went for our one year anniversary, my birthday, and thanksgiving all rolled into one. The heat hadn't completely broken yet, so yes we did sweat a little, but it was well worth it. It's honestly soothing to the soul to be immersed into nature. I would live here if I could!

Room Tip: Each casita is different, but you can't go wrong or feel like you got a bad one. You're on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from 3 days at Majahuitas Resort and it certainly wasn't enough. We can't wait to go back.

If you're expecting something like the Ritz Carlton, do not stay at Majahuitas. IF you're desire is to relax, have no distractions, have service like you're considered royalty, meet new people and make friends for life, eat great food, take beautiful pictures, and get a way from everyday hassles of life...this is the place for you. We stayed in the Cliff House and view was phenomenal. The owners were the friendliest we've encountered of any resort around the world.

Please write us and we'll be happy to tell you more as there are way too many excellent features of the resort to mention in a brief description here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed for 5 days at Majahuitas, and can't say enough what a great time we had. Everything was perfect - the casitas, the staff, the service, the food, plus all of the activities! We enjoyed a great hike through the jungle, massages by the river, awesome snorkeling, and a little day trip to a nearby fishing village. Best part - we were there for the hatching of baby sea turtles, and we helped to release them to the sea! Planning on going back next year and bringing the whole family!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majahuitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahuitas Resort

Address: Villas Vallarta Local F-20A | Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Majahuitas 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Majahuitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Majahuitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majahuitas is an eco-friendly resort consisting of only eight little casitas, all built strategically around the cove to enjoy a beautiful ocean view. The resort is located on one of the most exclusive beaches in Puerto Vallarta's Bay of Banderas, and is only accessible by boat. Although not an island, you will get the feeling of being on your own private deserted getaway. All energy is solar powered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahuitas Hotel Majahuitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majahuitas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.