We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Deddington Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deddington Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Deddington Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed at The Deddington Arms for just one night,relieved it was no longer.

Reception and bar staff were pleasant and quite efficient.The bar was cosy with a fair choice of beers. Deddington is a nice little town,well worth a visit.

That was the good bit - Room was tired , carpet marked,bedside lamp fitting loose, chair stained.

Breakfast, when we eventually managed to order it , was at best average. Waited almost 15 minutes for the waiter to take the order , and that was after I went to him. Undercooked sausage , burnt toast etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    109
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
37
158
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Booked the Deddington Arms for a w/e getaway with an old school friend. Hotel is centrally located in the charming village of Deddington. This large village has some interesting and attractive buildings (we printed a nice walk from the internet), a few restaurants, pubs and small independent shops.
We booked an 'executive' twin and were disappointed. I viewed a non-executive room and the only difference seems to be for an extra £10 or £15 you get an ugly, stained trouser press attached to the wall next to your bed! The trouser press, old fashioned curtains, bedcover & carpet and odd choice of bathroom tiles did make us laugh though. Room was a reasonable size at least and rest of bathroom fittings were new and good quality. Even so, I think you can get a better standard of accommodation elsewhere in the area for the money spent (£80). It was ok for going away with a friend but would not recommend if coming with your partner. I was shown a few other rooms (double, 4 poster) but they all seemed to be very similar with unfortunate style mistakes and/or refurb needed. The corridor leading to the rooms at the back smelled terribly of cigarette smoke.
In terms of service, we found it to be a bit lacking from the hotel staff. The young, inexperienced receptionist just stared us at awkwardly when we arrived. In a good place, you’d get a warm smile and possibly ‘how was your journey’. We didn’t even get a ‘Hello’ or ‘Can I help you?’ Housekeeping staff were camped outside the door in the morning when we left for b/f looking surly. We had trouble with the card operated doors not working, as did some other guests but were met with indifference at reception.

In stark contrast, the staff in the bar and restaurant were fantastic and it was this that made our stay worthwhile. Friendly, helpful, efficient, the service here was faultless. The evening meal was delicious and the restaurant was well designed and had a nice atmosphere. We were very impressed. Breakfast was also good, although there was only one girl serving quite a few guests. The poor girl was doing a great job but felt sorry for her running around madly on her own with no help from the manager.
Overall this place has potential if a few improvements are made on the hotel side. If the rooms were updated, I'd stay again as the area is lovely for a w/e away. We also visited the nearby village of Great Tew. Would recommend the pub there called the Falklands Arms.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel,Crewe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

The hotel is very welcoming, staff very friendly. The restaurant is very pleasant surroundings with exceptional serving staff, headed by Claire, everything they do comes with a smile. Food was first class. On the whole we had a very enjoyable time

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I was apprehensive after reading other reviews but we have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The room, although not huge, was comfortable and lovely and cosy. We tried a lunchtime meal to check out the food and it was tasty and well presented so had no worries booking an evening meal. We were thankful we had as it was absolutely great. Tasty and well presented , served by really friendly, well trained staff. We would definitely book again.

  • Liked — the friendly staff and quality of food
  • Disliked — it was all fine
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We spent the August bank holiday weekend at the hotel. The overall experience was disappointing. Especially when considering value for money, the hotel did not live up to standards one would expect for that price level. During our stay we felt that thehotel was being run for cash only by a distant manager who feels he/ she does not need to rely on repeat customers and has a monopolistic positon in the area.

On the plus side, the hotel offers good parking and nice enough rooms with real character. There is lots of staff, who were very friendly, albeit not always successful in meeting the request.

However, several issues around our stay led to disapointment. Food, especially, the lunch menu, was of very low quality, trying to hard to be imaginative and expensive. For example the walnut, blue cheese and apple salad came with pecans instead of walnuts in a tiny square dish, the lentil soup was tasteless, the goats cheese crostini with aubergine tappanata were equally so. The custard dessert was milk with vanilla taste. Luckily the portions were small, but pricing was on London levels. Dinner was better, but the kitchen was totally overstrechted with the number of guest (restaurant was half full) and waiting times were very long.

Room service did not get around to making our room before 16h in the afternoon and the level of cleanliness was debatable.

Staff, even though they were friendly and numerous, seemed overstrechted, due to a complete lack of management attention and a bizarre compartensalisation of duties which led to comments, such as "I would like to help you, but I am not allowed to do that task. " A request for an espresso was kindly provided for, even though management supposedly does not allow for espresso being served at breakfast even when paymen is offered.

Note both hotels in the village and 2 of the three restaurants are owned by the same group.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deddington Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.