We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pies with gorgeous fillings to suit all tastes.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen

The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen
New Street, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SP, England
+44 1869 337371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to PuddingFace Do you have a penchant for pies? Puddingface offers a whole host of pies including traditional meat and vegetarian, fish and game, as well as some less conventional recipes. All Homemade!Lunch times bookings are taken Monday to Saturday 12-2pm and Sunday 12 to 2.30 Please call the pub to book. No evening reservations/bookings taken, come along have a drink at the bar, let our staff know you wish to eat and we will seat you as soon as a table comes available or will endeavour to keep you informed on how long the wait is likely to be.Largest single table we are able to accommodate is for 8 people due to the size of our pub and the nature of our business baking pies to order we are not really suitable for larger groups If you insist ...Larger groups will have to be treated as individual smaller tables and your food order taken as they come available during the evening.Due to licence restrictions young children (under 5) can not remain on the premises after 7.30Pm and all children (under 14) past 9pm Telephones are manned pub opening hours (not office hours)
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful pies with gorgeous fillings to suit all tastes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Scrummy and huge! Can never finish a whole one but they're so good that my partner has no problem in finishing mine off as well as his own!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    46
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a pie fan but this place is 'Pie-mazing' !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Myself and the husband to be have a slight addiction to this quaint little pub and travel about 40 minutes to enjoy the delights they have on offer!

The pie's are huge but of a great quality and the price is very good too!

We always try to leave room for desert as the Apple Pie is too die for and although we walk out stuffed to the brim we know that we have enjoyed every last bite!

Would definitely recommend

Slight downfall is if you want to book a table you can not- this isn't great if you want to enjoy a family celebration as you just can not organise anything and would love to have the flexibility to do this for birthdays/celebrations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile


Being a pie lover I cannot fault this pub.. The pies are amazing with a vast selection.. The 2 times we have been here, we have not been disappointed fantastic food along with excellent service.. Would highly recommend ..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Pies at Puddingface”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We first discovered Puddingface through their Banbury kitchen (sadly now closed) but this - the original - is as top notch as that one was and we are really glad we won't have to do without our Puddingface pies. I can't speak highly enough about the chicken and mushroom pie- usually because I am too busy eating it. Yes, it's huge and yes, each time I am convinced I'll never get through it - yet I always do and plenty of the veg besides. Lovely space (cosy without feeling crowded - something a lot of places seem to struggle with), delicious food served in generous portions and a welcoming staff for whom nothing is any trouble. Super value for the price too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, waste of money and lacklustre staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had read generally positive reviews about this restaurant and was looking forward to my 'pie experience' with extended family for my birthday. Overall, we were all very disappointed. It was very odd that we could reserve a table for lunch but not dinner. The main course pies were expensive but quite pleasant, marred by mashed potato that was pre-cooked and then baked in the oven to warm up, which produced an unpleasant chewy crust on the top. Gravy tasted like instant granules. Three of us that had the peppered steak with brandy and cream had stomach upsets that night. Desserts were even worse. We think the chef had simply forgotten to add any sugar to the bread and butter pudding, and we were forced to ask for some sugar in a bowl in order to be able to eat the dessert at all, and the request for the sugar appeared quite frankly to be an imposition to the lacklustre staff. Those that had lemon merinque pie found the merinque to be oddly chewy with lumps in the lemon custard base and not pleasant. Only the raspberry ice cream pavlova met with any compliments from our party. The filter coffee was undrinkable. Despite being aware of a couple of birthdays being celebrated by ourselves and another party, the staff made no effort to interact. Really cannot recommend this as a good dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puddingfacepieplace, Owner at The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen, responded to this review, February 13, 2015
I have been in contact with this reviewer and we have addressed many of the points raised.. we were simply not firing on all cylinders, Sorry so no scathing replies here, move along It’s Humble pie time :(
Anton (sobbing in the corner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Deddington, Banbury
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.