We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you think you do not like pies you should give this a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen

The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen
New Street, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SP, England
+44 1869 337371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 restaurants in Deddington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to PuddingFace Do you have a penchant for pies? Puddingface offers a whole host of pies including traditional meat and vegetarian, fish and game, as well as some less conventional recipes. All Homemade!Lunch times bookings are taken Tuesday to Saturday 12-2pm and Sunday 12 to 2.30 please call the pub to bookNo evening reservations/bookings taken, come along have a drink at the bar, let our staff know you wish to eat and we will seat you as soon as a table comes available or will endeavour to keep you informed on how long the wait is likely to be.Largest single table we are able to accommodate is for 8 people due to the size of our pub and the nature of our business baking pies to order we are not really suitable for larger groups If you insist ...larger groups will have to be treated as individual smaller tables and your food order taken as they come available during the evening.Due to licence restrictions young children (under 5) can not remain on the premises after 7.30pm and all children (under 14) past 9pm Telephones are manned pub opening hours (not office hours)
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you think you do not like pies you should give this a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very nice pub with excellent beers (you can even sample them )where apart from rather boring scampi you will be presented with an amazing array of different pies . If the one I ate (peppered beef and mushrooms ) was indicative of the quality of the whole range is it well worth the visit. Very good waitresses, and a very pleasant atmosphere . If only there were more like this

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    77
    34
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Had to go back for the Pies AND Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I used to live in the Cotswolds and on many occassions needed to go to RAF Croughton for work. We were there 2 weeks ago and someone suggested Puddingface for dinner so we decided to try it! HOW WONDERFUL IT IS!! There are so many wonderful pies to choose from and believe me they ARE delicious! Our servers were Rosey and Emily and they were both so attentive and friendly, which made the meal even better than it already was. We moved back to America a few years ago and we were travelling up to Cumbria, but decided on our way back to London to stay in Croughton and have MORE PIES!! It was another fabulous experience, this time we had Ellie, Caz and Lettie, who were equally wonderful and so pleasant to deal with. And again...WONDERFUL food! We've tried the chicken with mushrooms as well as the steak and mushroom and we recommend them both whole heartedly. We only wish we knew about this place 7 years ago when we lived close by. We would have been there at least 3 times/month or more! YOU MUST GO AND TRY IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited on a very quiet Friday night, I suppose people don't really want pies when it it 27 degrees outside. We sat in the garden but it did seem quite cool inside.
Loads of choice of pies, I went for chicken, bacon, red wine and peppercorn with a potato top and my husband had the chilli beef pie. Both were huge! I would have shared some of mine with him but it was too delicious! Enough veg and mash for 2. By the time we had finished we were stuffed and unfortunately had no room for dessert.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antlouhay, Owner at The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Perfect customer, lovely review thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golspie
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stepping Back In Time, Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service & Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband & I come from Golspie, Sutherland, in the far north of Scotland. We visited your lovely establishment in April this year, & were delighted with it & the service we received. My family have a very old connection with The Crown & Tuns, as in 1879 it was run by my Great Grandmother Elizabeth & Great Granddad John Wheeler, & their daughter, my Granny, was born in The Crown & Tuns! They also went on to run The Volunteer Inn in Deddington (now known as Russell House) for some time. However, when we arrived at The Crown & Tuns it had been arranged that a lady would show us around, but I'm afraid on the day we visited she was unavailable. Anyway, we still thoroughly enjoyed the experience & of course tasted your amazing Pies & Beer. So please keep up the good work, & if it we are ever able to visit you again we certainly will. It's our son's Birthday in August & in remembrance of his Great Granny,also of course his Great Great Granddad John & Great Great Grandmother Elizabeth Wheeler, we are giving him a gift of your splendid Old Hooky Beer so that he can celebrate his/ours Ancestors. So thanks again from us, for being able to experience The Crown & Tuns delights!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible management attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to this restaurant for their lovely pies for several years and was going to place a review but having read the derogatory remarks from the management in response to other peoples reviews below I shall not bother and neither shall I return to this pub again. Perhaps the management should consider how their derogatory remarks to members of the public reflect on their reputation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Deddington, Banbury
 

Been to The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown & Tuns Puddingface Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.