We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mosfellsbaer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Save
You added Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse to your Saves list
Minna-Mosfellsvegur, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 271, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot tub in the evening
Ranked #1 of 2 Mosfellsbaer B&B and Inns
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable & cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in minna mosfell. Rooms were spotlessly cleand and comfortable for the three of us. There is a little kitchenette stacked with food and every day Gudrún baked us bread, pancakes and even traditional christmas dishes. Gudrún and Valur were very helpfull to help us plan trips for sightseeing and as the wheater turned out quite bad into a blizzard they showed us the weather forecast several times a day so we were able to plan a trip just in between. No matter how bad the weather was, there was always the water filled hot tub filled in which we spent for hours. Thank you gudrun and valur for a wonderful christmas holiday!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear guests, happy New Year
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Minna-Mosfell. What a lovely one to get!
It was very nice having you stay at our Guesthouse over the holidays, and we are glad you liked what we had to offer for you.
We are looking forward to have you stay with us soon again !
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
95
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic trip to Iceland and couldn't wait to write a review about minna mosfelll; we stayed for two nights and could have happily stayed for the whole of our holiday. Valur and Gudrun were fabulous hosts and made us feel more like family than guests in their lovely home.

Rooms

When we arrived Valur was cheerfully waiting for us and helped us carry our suitcase to the room. Our room (south room) was warm, spacious and spotlessly clean with a big comfy bed and a huge window looking out onto the mountains and a field with horses in the snow - beautiful.

Living areas

The bathroom and communal areas (living area and kitchen) were lovely and spotlessly clean. In the bathroom I found the shower great and it was well stocked with clean towels for guests. The living area was also great, stocked with books and guides and was a great place to socialise and get to know other guests which added to our experience. The kitchen was well stocked with freshly baked breads in the morning, yummy cakes in the afternoon, fresh eggs from the farm's chickens and a fridge packed with meats, cheese, jam, milk, juice - there was literally all sorts to choose from! There are picnic sets and flasks for each room to borrow, towels to take to the swimming pool/blue lagoon and limitless other things to borrow (gloves, warm clothes etc!) in case you forget anything.

Service

The hosts Gudrun and Valur made the trip. They gave us lots of advice (and checked the weather/our car!) for driving around the golden circle. Valur even cleared our snowy car windscreen with warm water! They shared with us and other guests Icelandic delicacies such as shark and smoked lamb and were great company.

Location

The guesthouse is twenty minutes from Reykjavik, situated near to mossfellsbauer where there is a great swimming pool, some shops and places to eat. It is on the edge of the national park and an ideal location for those visiting the golden circle. We were lucky enough to see the northern lights from the rear balcony and it was really convenient to drive just a few minutes into the national park where it is even darker to view them.

Thanks Gudrun and Valur for a fantastic stay - we hope to return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear guests, Happy New Year.
Best greetings from Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse. Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay and your kind words are much appreciated. We are happy that your stay has been a pleasant one and we are looking forward to your next visit, in hopefully not too distant future.
Gudrun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Gudrun and Valur for the last 4 days of our trip in Iceland. It was amazing. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. Valur was waiting for us when we got there and immediately was offering to take our bags upstairs for us. We had a wonderful almond cake made by Gudrun waiting for us in the kitchen as well. They were very knowledgeable of the area and had some great suggestions. The guesthouse is just close enough to the city, but still in the country. It was a great little escape. We stayed in the east room and it was very comfortable with a pretty view. We had wanted to go to a nearby sheep farm, but it was a touristy location and was closed for the season. Valur asked us if we wanted him to take us to his friend's farm and made the arrangements. This was a once in a lifetime experience. I would highly recommend a stay with them. They have a small kitchen for your use that is fully stocked for breakfast, and each room has its own shelf in the fridge as well for any goodies you might purchase for later. I would also recommend looking in the kitchen to see what staples are there before purchasing too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear guests, Happy New Year
Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive experience by write this wonderful review.
All our lovely guests make our work very enjoyable.
We will do our best to keep Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse in line with your feedback. We really hope to see you again shortly!
Our best regards from both of us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here for the last 3 nights of our Honeymoon before heading back to Seattle and we were beyond impressed with our stay.

Gudrun is such a lovely host, she welcomed us when we arrived and even has yummy almond cake to enjoy.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and the bed was beyond comfortable. Our room also had a little sink and a plenty of hooks and space to unpack our clothes. The common space was perfect too and overlooked horses and such a lovely view of the Valley.

Hosts:
Because it was our Honeymoon my father in law wanted to send us a bottle of wine and he called Gudrun and she on short notice set the whole thing up and surprised us with not just a bottle but she had tied ribbon a card and even put chocolates that she had just got from Germany.
It's obvious that Gudrun enjoys what she does, each day she was available with all our questions and gave us recommendations for food and how to get around the Golden Circle and even let me borrow gloves. Her husband Valur is such a delight and is a wealth of knowledge on Iceland and even took my husband and other guests to see the horses.

If staying here we would recommend a car to get around. This would also be a great choice to rent all three rooms for a family or friend holiday and have the whole place to yourselves. The self catering kitchen and supplies make it very convenient for cooking. Also they have it stocked with many basics, such a nice touch.

This is the perfect B&B and we can't wait to come back. What else do I say to fully convey our time? You should probably just go and visit yourselves, Iceland is a lovely country and the people are very friendly.

Thank you Gudrun and Valur!! We will be back and appreciate celebrating our Honeymoon and your guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear guests, Happy New Year.
We appreciate very much that you took time to share your positive experiences at our guesthouse. What a lovely one to receive!
We will do our best to keep Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse in line with your feedback. We really hope to see you again shortly!
Our best regards to both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The place is beautiful, and very convenient to the airport, easy to find. It is in a lovely area. The owners are SO kind, and provide everything you could possibly want, even extra warm outer clothing if you forget something. They bake warm delicious bread for you every morning, and provide makings for a full breakfast, with fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, meat, and so on. You have a kitchen and living room/dining room area to use, as well as your bedroom. But it is the lovely people who really make it such a wonderful experience. We also enjoyed horseback riding close by.

Room Tip: All very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear guest, Happy New Year!
Thank you for taking your time to write your nice review about your stay with us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a nice stay and have liked what we have to offer.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind comments and we are looking forward to have you stay with us soon again !
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I wanted to stay outside of Reykjavik because I heard you have more chance of seeing the northern lights. I couldn't find a hotel I wanted to stay in so l started looking at B&B's and everyone was very happy l found Minna-Mosfell. The guesthouse is a great place to stay if you want see the golden circle takes about 6 hours in a car round trip.(take Gudrun's advice) Reykjavik is 15 minutes away and the airport is 1 hour or so. There is also a little town close by with a supermarket, restaurants and a bakery.
We were a party of 4 and paid a little extra to have the top floor which consisted of 3 bedrooms with very comfortable beds, a sofa, and a little sink, 1 bathroom, shower wasn't great ( my only negative comment) a kitchen which was well stocked with tea, coffee, milk, eggs, hams, salami and jams etc. fabulous ! There's a seating area, a table and chairs all with a beautiful view! All spotlessly clean. Our hosts Gudrun and Valur couldn't have been more accommodating. We woke up to the smell of fresh Breads, pancakes and cakes which made us all feel very welcome and I loved the way when returned from our days out everything was clean and tidy! They also offered us extra warm coats, gloves, hats blankets and flasks !
I mentioned I really wanted to see the lights and both Gudrun and Valur came and told us when they appeared! If anyone ever wrote a book on "how to run a B&B" they should consult Gudrun and Valur!!
I recommend when you head home to the airport you find time to go to the blue lagoon it's outrageously expensive but well worth the experience. We all had a great time in Iceland apparently it's been voted the most friendly country in the world ! I not going to argue with that :-) do not hesitate to visit this amazing country !!

Room Tip: The 3rd bedroom is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guests, Happy New Year.
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience by write this wonderful review.
What a lovely one to receive! All our wonderful guests make our work so very enjoyable.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
All the best from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited the Guesthouse end of September and it was our last stop in Iceland.
The location is ideal to stay the first or last day in Iceland as it is only an hour from the airport and it is also ideal when you visit Reykjavik (just 15 minutes away) but you do not want to stay in the centre. I would also recommend it as an ideal place ot stay for a couple of days and relax being next to the Golden Circle and having lots of aminities and activities in the surrounding area.

The place was very cozy, had a homely feeling to it. The couple who owned it are taking great care of it. When we were there they were installing a hot tube. Inside there are three rooms, with one shared kitchen and bathroom. In the morning there was fresh baked bread and when we arrived there was a great homemade cake and there were even sweets and a personalised welcome message on our bed! The views also from the "South " room were fabulous.. Thanks you for the great hospitality!

Room Tip: The South facing room has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guests
Happy New year.
Thank you very much for your kind review of our guesthouse. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Best greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse

Address: Minna-Mosfellsvegur, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 271, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern lights dance above Minna-Mosfell Gesthouse located on a quiet family farm in the countryside, few minutes away from Reykjavik city center. Five minutes away is an outstanding geothermal swimmingpool, Álafoss store, Laxnes museum, horse back riding and a golf course. Enjoy the experience of watching the northern lights in the evenings in our outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.