We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Northern Lights !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location about 15 minute drive from Reykjavik, plenty to eat nearby within walking distance. Staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was traditional and filled a need until lunch or even dinner. Family room was a little snug but we got used to it and even had our room picnic on christmas eve!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi barrettg41, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. Your Christmas Eve picnic sounds like fun, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    164
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
259
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to Iceland to celebrate my 60th Birthday and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Yes it's outside R,yvik but that's a plus as you have great views of the mountains and live with local people. Shaun is a perfect host and will ensure that your stay is enjoyable, and will help you in every regard. If you do the Golden Circle tour one advantage is that you get dropped of first on the way back in. Thanks for a great visit Shaun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi GerryAirley, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. We're pleased you celebrated your 60th here at Hotel Laxnes! Many thanks for sharing your pictures. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

we chose to stay at Hotel Laxnes because if the Northern Lights were to be seen, we would be able to see it from the hotel. Unfortunately, the weather was not good when we were there in the evenings so we didn't manage to see them. The hotel is so cosy and friendly. the staff are exceptionally helpful and will suggest and book any tour you wish to go on. We did a lot of our trips through Icelandic excursions and they were very helpful. we took the local bus from Reykjavic to the hotel and that was extremely easy and very convenient. the room was very clean and well equipped for our requirements and warm too. The bar is very comfortable and the staff are very eager to please and chat to you also. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Maybe if a bowl of soup could be available early evening when you have come in from a trip and are starving hungry but don't want too much to spoil your appetite for later on. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and for finding and sending my daughter's favourite toy back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi 3115Wallaces, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your request for soup is noted: we serve soup some evenings after 18:00, but not all evenings. We're happy we could assist you daughter with reuniting her with her favorite teddy. :-) Thanks for the 5/5. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We chose the Laxnes Hotel knowing it was a bit out of Reykjavik, but knowing also, from several other reviews, that that offered the chance to see the Northern Lights rather better than in the city, should they appear during our stay in Iceland.

We arrived late on a Monday night, and there had been a very lengthy display of this much sought after phenomenon on the Saturday evening, with the hotel having been a perfect vantage point.

Hotel Laxnes is a tremendously cosy and laid back place to stay, and there is quite a homely and very relaxed feel to this quaint establishment. Being the week before Christmas, decorations and lights were literally everywhere and the hotel was no different, which added to the cosy and very Festive atmosphere indoors with snow all around outside. Everyone was so pleasant and friendly, and they all went out of their way to help with anything they could to enhance our stay, especially Sean the Manager and the barman. Sean happily told us about the various bus routes, places to see, supplied us with maps and change for the buses, and even let us have copies of the terrific pictures taken of the hotel with the Northern Lights in the background two nights before our arrival.

The rooms are in two blocks at the rear of the main reception, lounge areas, bar and dining area. You do have to go outsiee to access the accommodation but just a few steps to the corridor where our room was, and others who had more like studio accommodation had to walk a little further, but were reasonable protected from the elements by a canopied walkway. The rooms are unbelievably warm - very welcome when you've come in from a blizzard. The underfloor heating was divine, and it dried our clothes too! Ours was well appointed and roomy enough, with en-suite, TV, kettle, etc, etc, and free wi-fi, but I believe the studios have even more extras like fridges, small cookers, microwaves and crockery/cutlery.

That might be useful for some guests, as the hotel doesn't do meals at night or lunchtimes, (believe they can rustle up some soup), and the weather when we stayed prevented us tackling the walk to one of the recommended restaurants reasonably nearby, so we ended up with a KFC and a Subway meal, (both eatery chains fairly close by). There is a supermarket close by, so some might choose to buy food there, and cater for themselves of an evening.

We loved the breakfasts at Laxnes as it was a totally help yourself affair, and lots of options to choose from. Of course it is not English style, but who expects, or wants that, in Iceland? There was porridge, muesli, cornflakes, yoghurt, dried fruit, hams, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber and two salad-type spreads, oranges, breads, jams, crackers and fruit juice, coffee and an excellent selection of teas. You just help yourself and sit in any of the four little areas - all very easy going, and a chance to chat with the other guests and swap notes on trips/tours.

The same would happen in the evenings when we relaxed in the cosy lounge with a few drinks after hectic trips out in the daytime, and there is a billiard table, dartboard, piano, Internet access, lots of books and a few games, if you don't want to just sit chatting with the other guests. The locals who came to watch football matches on massive screens were all very friendly too.

Being out of the city, the bus was essential for us, though others had hired cars. There had been quite a bit of snow, and driving had certainly helped them get around, but been a tad stressful as one couple had had a very near miss with a car skidding inches from them, then mounting a bank of snow. We loved the bus journeys - it showed us a great deal of the city. The bus service was superb, always right on time, and the buses stopped just outside the hotel, and took us to the bus station in the centre of Reykjavik and it was very easy to work out the system and catch the bus back again. Airport to hotel transfers can be booked at the time of booking accommodation and the tour companies pick up those going on trips from the hotels, and on the late night trip to see the Northern Lights they returned us to the hotel too, as it was about 12.30am. We made our own way to and from our Whale Watching trip.

We were very happy to have chosen this hotel, and apart from the icy conditions making it a little treacherous to negotiate the roads/pavements round about, we were glad we'd opted for this accommodation, as opposed to a hotel in central Reykjavik, and we'd have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have catering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Larsonsmummy, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your partner. Your review was a pleasant read and thank you as well for the overall 5/5 :-) We're pleased you enjoyed Iceland and your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Seasons Greetings to you both, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAUNDS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Laxnes as part of a Groupon deal, as I hadn't wanted to stay in town (as that hotel offered had bad reviews and I thought if it were anything like London it would be rowdy...needless to say, i've since learnt Icelanders have far better manners than the English and staying in town would probably have been fine!)
Reception staff (and I'd better point out eveyrone in the hotel speaks excellent English, in fact the whole of Iceland seems to!) were lovely and helpful throughout, and act as a mini tourist information centre - they have lots of leaflets and advice about where to go or stay, can liaise with the trip operator for you and have a small shop for postcards, stamps and souvenirs. Icelandic Excursions/Grayline pick up from the hotel - very handy, and the drivers were always helpful and polite - though you do have to transfer to the centre of Reykjavik to join the main tour bus (do check, though, as they can drop you off on the way back, depending on where you've been.)
We were given a much bigger room than anticipated - plenty of wardrobe space, ensuite bathroom with a window that opened (Helpful when we got a bit warm) and best of all mini kitchen facilities - kettle, microwave, sink, cutlery etc. Handy when we didn't want to go out or got back late. TV has CNN, the Icelandic channel occasionally shows TV shows made in ENgland. We did have a good mountain view, too, but didn't see the lights (they'd had excellent views just last Saturday, however!) Room is very warm but as other shave said you can't control it yourself, but we didn't find that a problem at all - rather be warm in a blizzard than cold! Excellent (free) wifi connection, too, which meant we could research/check details of places we were going to visit.
Breakfast - we didn't know why other people had complained on this website! Tea/Coffee/fruit squash, porridge with sugar/cinnamon/raisins as you wish, yoghurt, cereals, orange slices, ham, boiled egg, tomato, brown or white bread, toasters, fresh butter, tuna/onion/mayo spread as well as bacon/egg/mayo spread and jam/marmalade. Help yourself buffet style, so as alittle or much as you want, and always plenty of room in the restaurant/bar area. (nicely decorated for CHristmas, we thought!) There were some people who seemed surprised that there wasn't a "cooked English" - either they hadn't done their research properly, or else are not used to travelling abroad. There's plenty there if you have normal "British" food for Breakfast, and some more Scandinavian things to try too.
The bar is open from 6pm, there was Gull and Tuborg on tap (both nice to try), and we were offered a taste of shark and Brennivin if we'd wanted it. We played darts and pool, too - a handly little area to relax and chat to other guests.
Buses into town are every 30 minutes, from right outside the hotel; 350 IKR as a flat fee (get the printed ticket however if you will need to transfer; they are valid for 60 minutes anywhere in the Reykjavik area, and not all drivers will give you it if they assume you're just going into the town centre at Hlemmur.) 15 is the main one, but you can get the 18 too if you wanted the BSI terminal (I think!)
There's a nice and handy KFC over the road, along with a petrol station which has a mini shop for milk/coffee/hot dogs, Subway, Domino's, and there's a bakery (selling hand made chocolate) and sports bar just a minute further down. Pizza Rizzo's is past the shopping mall, but there is a Bonus supermarket if you want to get tea/coffee etc to use in the kitchen. The restaurant at Alafoss was recommended to us, as it's only a 15 minute walk, but we just didn't fancy it in the snow - if you go there (and several others), you get a 10% discount because you're staying at Hotel Laxnes. THe hotel also serve meat soup some nights (it's not everynight, so check)
There's also a geothermal swimming pool we'd planned to visit in Mosfellsbaer that we'd planned to visit, it's on the 15 bus route or cetainly within walking distance, just didn't get time to go.
If you had a car, I can imagine it would give you a bit more freedom - Laxnes horse farm is near (though they can pick up from the hotel) as is the Laxnes Museum.
Right I think that's it! Certainly a better standard of hotel than we'd perhaps expected from Groupon, so very pleased. Yes, the rooms are a little worn in places - so if you're used to 5* American hotels you probably wouldn't enjoy it- our sofa had a tear in it, and there was a persistent smell in the bathroom - but it didn't bother us, housekeeping cleaned/checked the room for us every day and in fact the imperfections made it seem more lived in and normal, not like a 'tourist' trap at all. Thank you, Laxnes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Kim M, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. Your very detailed review I am sure will be useful for many future guests! Seasons Greetings to you and your family, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in October, room was fairly basic but clean, decent selection of food for breakfast. A few restaurants and shops nearby, not far to get into Reykjavik and good location for excursions though better if you've got a hire car. Staff at the hotel very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi AndrewM, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October with your family. Short and sweet review! Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very warm rooms (no fridges in rooms but cold windowsills!). Staff very helpful and efficient. It is 3* but for a short visit that's all you need. Rooms a bit spartan but warm and comfortable. Beds comfortable. Breakfast basic but I like porridge so fine with me! Tours collect from hotel, nearby facilities for snacks/coffee & cake. Food in sports bar next to bakery opposite hotel excellent with impressive pizza menu too and kids meals as well. Fish was cooked perfectly - didnt expect this standard of food from outside. Bus stop outside goes into reykjavic, cheap and efficient. Didnt see northern lights but will try again, no worries. Made everything easy but you also got mountain views too. I personally wouldnt hire a car this time of year (unless its a massive 4x4)

Room Tip: room 1 next to stairs and opposite entrance was noisy but Shaun moved us without trouble to room 6 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Edie4444, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. A nice read of best tips you discovered during your stay. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.