We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Northern Lights !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I would recommend the hotel laxnes. Nice comfortable beds. Lovely view of mountains. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and filling. Coffee was nice. All in all a good stay. I would stay again if i was in iceland. My only recomendation is you should hire a car.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, General Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi Pennya65, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Great pictures, thanks for sharing them. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    164
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
259
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Other reviews catch a lot of helpful information (mountain view room, very helpful Shaun, not much in the way of food or activities nearby). The city bus does stop just at the hotel entrance, runs frequently, and goes by the Reykjavik Excursions tour center. Icelandic Excursions/Grey Line will pick up at the hotel. Really good, fresh breakfast. With that and a nice lunch, we were quite happy with delicatessen from the nearby grocery store for dinner (hanging a cloth bag out our window for refrigeration). So if you want a relaxed time with day trips, it's a great place. I would suggest that you start here, then choose a place in the north (you can catch the bus at the hotel entrance) or southeast coast for the rest of your Iceland experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi Roger F, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Thanks for adding your helpful tips to fellow travellers. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Cute little hotel about 15min outside of Reykjavik.

The mountains surrounding Hotel Laxness are stunning and quite romantic. This was the first time in my life that i've seen snow so when we arrived and I saw the snow covered mountains from our room I was like....... "ooooohhhhhhh".......and then I was all like........."ahhhhhhhhh".....
and then finally i was like......."WOW, just WOW".
(It got a bit boring after 5min)

Me and the missus stayed here to increase our chances of seeing the Northern Lights. Sadly, this was not to be but bloody hell we enjoyed ourselves anyway.

The hotel itself is a lot like my missus really, Cute & Petite!
More like a B&B than a hotel. And the staff are friendly buggers too! Very helpful with tours and directions etc etc! No question is too hard to answer.

Can't remember the guys name, but the Bartender was a legend. Very friendly guy. He kept an eye out for the Northern Lights whilst I sat back with a beer in hand and watched Australia smash the poms in the Ashes. How good is that???

The breakie was ok, nothing flash but it did the trick for me (toast with cheese) and the missus has her staple daily diet of porridge. But if you want a better breakfast just head accross the road to the Cafe.... quite decent coffee there too!

The only reason the hotel lost a point is because our double bed was actually two singles pushed together........ which made things tricky when it came to 'funky time'........ i kept slipping down the middle. Haha.

All in all......... a cute little hotel with beautiful surroundings and friendly staff......... I'd say that's pretty good.

Cheers Laxness. Till next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi ryan2000, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Loved reading your review, great humour and we're glad we could add some snow in there for you! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

A nice hotel to relax and unwind. Nearby are a couple restaurants and a very nice bakery. Recommend all, especially the bakery. All are five minute walk.

Shaun and his staff to a person provide top service. Any request was taken care of. We rented a car last minute and they delivered...

You are well outside of downtown Reykjavik. I saw this as a plus. It is easy to get downtown with bus or car.

The rooms are basic and comfortable.

Overall would stay here again. Nice people running the place, nice pub and relaxing.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi smoke58, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. We're pleased you enjoyed all we have to offer our guests at the hotel. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just come back from staying at the laxnes hotel, It was lovely the mountain views are fantastic. there are restaurants and shops close by. The blue lagoon is a big yes not to be missed. Shaun is very helpfull and all the staff are very nice. The grayline tours are very good nothing is to much for them, thay go everywhere. any where you want to go shaun or the staff can sort with a phone call. Iceland has so much to do itis fantastic, we will go back and to the Laxnes hotel. we are so happy we booked this hoilday and hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi GDhaliwal, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October. Thanks too, for the 5/5, you put a smile on our faces today! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were greeted and shown to our room, very friendly welcome and a very warm room to stay in! We awoke to a beautiful view of the mountains and a tasty breakfast. As it was our honeymoon we wanted to go somewhere special and we felt the hotel and the location were perfect for our adventure. It is perfectly situated for access to all the main routes and we had no trouble finding our daily expeditions. We will definitely be going back to stay again one day and have already recommended it to all of our family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi Roger P, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December 2012. We're always honored to have honeymoon couples stay at the hotel, so thank you. Especially that we could make your stay feel so welcoming. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed there for one night on Nov 9. We drove from the airport straight to Blue Lagoon for a 2,5 hrs soak, then checked in at Hotel Laxnes. We picked this hotel because our research showed it gave us easy access to the Golden Circle route, as well as the possibility to see the Northern Lights. We were not disappointed. At check-in, we enquired if they have a Northern Lights wake-up service. They told us the rooms do not have telephone, but they will knock on our doors if the lights show. Lo and behold, within an hour, there was knocking at our door and shouts of "Northern Lights". For those that has been told complete darkness is a pre-requisite to see the Lights, the attached photos prove otherwise. No need to climb mountains in the dark and freezing temperatures, just walk a few steps to the side of the hotel !

Room Tip: There are rooms with windows that face the Lights. Those lucky ones just open their windows. Mine do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi CFLeong9933, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Wow those are some great pictures, thanks for sharing them and your 1 night experience with us. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.