We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Northern Lights !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we had a brilliant time again, nice spacious room with microwave, fridge & kettle, very clean, good comfy beds, everyone here is very helpful and friendly and the bus service is excellent for getting about on, it stops right outside this hotel and the City or Reykjavik is only a 20 minute or so ride away. Near the hotel are some gift shops, 2 supermarkets, post office and restaurants but the best is the fabulous mountain views. Everything you need for a fantastic stay in Iceland. Thanks very much to everyone at Laxnes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Jellymouse_13, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Giving us a great review on your 2nd stay here at Laxnes really makes our day! Thank you. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    174
    50
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
271
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went to Iceland as part of a group in Early November 2013. The hotel is situated in a quiet little place but still handy for a great bakery, a little bistro at Alafoss and a good sports bar just round the corner, along with a useful supermarket. The bus to Reykjavik stops outside, the view is wonderful (even with the screaming gale and grey skies we had) the hotel itself was clean, comfortable with a cosy little bar and communal area. Shaun and the staff were extremely helpful and there was plenty of info in reception for activities and trips. The only downside? it was too hot! had to ask for the heating to be turned down twice-the heating system is incredibly efficient. Wifi access was free and good, all in all a great place to stay and thoroughly recommended-we will certainly be returning, next time with a hire car though. As a base for getting around and exploring it is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Ray M, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. Good to hear you had a great time & will be returning. With the heating: noted. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Laxnes from 13 to 15 October, 2013. The staff was great, rooms were clean, and it was quiet. We decided to spend two nights in Iceland on the way to Seattle. We rented a car and had no idea what to do. We spoke to Shaun, and I essentially asked - if you had one free day in Iceland, what would you do. Shaun's advice was spot-on, and he gave us LOADS to do.

Back to the hotel - some of the reviews were less than good, but Hotel Laxnes isn't advertising itself as a 5-star hotel. It is a nice, family-friendly small hotel. It is clean, quiet, has a good breakfast, and really helpful staff. If you look at what Hotel Laxnes bills itself as - it is great.

Would I recommend to a friend? ABSOLUTELY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi BuryStew, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October. You´ve hit it spot on, thank you! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just back from a 3 night trip to Iceland.Although we went to see the "Northern Lights" in particular,we had such a brilliant time,we will return again soon. So much to see and do.
The hotel was great,and although basic,was all we needed. Clean,warm and comfortable and close to all the facilities. Friendly, helpful staff who couldn't do enough,and introduced us to the local schnapps and shark "delicacy" :-(

Room Tip: All downstairs rooms are heated centrally,and we had to ask to have the heating turned down twice(wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi 190SAF5, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. It sounds like you had a great time :0) All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel Laxnes is situated about 8 miles north of Reyjkavik via a dual carriageway so it is ideally placed if you want a quiet area but within very easy reach of the city. We chose it because we guessed we would have a better chance of seeing the Northern Lights away from the glare of the city lights and this proved to be the case. Staff at the hotel were good enough to knock on bedroom doors to let guests know if the Lights appeared, and as we had the bonus of a rental car we were able to jump in it and drive just a few miles onto the highlands away from all forms of light where we had a splendid view of them.

The rooms at the hotel were all of a very decent size, warm, clean and comfortable and the staff appeared more than pleased to help with any information or requests in any way that they could.
There is ample free parking at the hotel for those with transport and the hotel is easy to locate just off the main dual carriageway.

Housekeeping could have been a little better whilst we were there as the rooms did not appear to be cleaned on a daily basis, and the breakfast was a little underwhelming ( apart from the excellent porridge) However, despite these small grumbles the hotel nevertheless provides excellent value for money in a country where hotel rooms are not the cheapest. We would certainly stay here again if we return to Iceland. Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Tillard, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October. We are pleased to read you found it good value & look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a lovely time in Iceland with my partner and was a great stay at Hotel Laxnes which is only about 20-30min bus ride from the main city Reykjavik, bus stop is located outside the hotel which is really handy.
Staff Shaun and his colleague were really friendly, informative and provided great customer service and attention from making sure our excursion bus was on time to giving us info about life in Iceland.
Loved that there was a pool table to play, which my partner and I took full advantage of and it was free.
Rooms were nice, spacious and clean but basic and practical.
Transit to and from the hotel is very good via bus if booked all inclusive as you don't need to worry about running late.
There is a nice, quaint village 10min walk down the river from the hotel, offering a homely bistro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Samanella2013, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October.
We appreciate your comments on our location and our service. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the extremely helpful staff who booked us in without any hassle then shown to our family rooms, which have ensuite bathrooms any plenty of space for our belongings. Although the hotel is located close to a main road the traffic noise was barely audible. The location of the hotel is very well situated away from the hustle and bustle of Reykjavik but close enough to pop in and do some shopping and visit museums in the Reykjavik area. It is also very well situated for accessing all the main routes to other areas of Iceland.
The breakfasts were a fairly typical continental style but I can highly recommend the yoghurt with muesli.
The staff are all very helpful and will do just about anything to meet your requirements, including giving us a wake up call in the middle of the night to view the aurora borealis (Northern Lights).
We will certainly be returning in the near future, fantastic hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Geofee, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. We would really enjoy you staying again at the hotel in the near future. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.