We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, no hassles, good base.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€165 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, no hassles, good base.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Came to Iceland on a fly drive, B&B basis. First thing that gets you it is a good 3/4 hour drive from the airport to Reykjavik this was my first shock as last time we flew into Reykjavik the airport was in the city. The drive in is fine though with good direction signs.
The hotel is about 15 to 20 mins from the city centre traffic depending but should the urge take you, use the no 15 bus into town the stop is outside the hotel. The hotel is well situated to tour the south west corner of Iceland but other areas outside are a bit far for day trips and Pingvillar Is only 3/4 hour drive.
Accommodation is fair to good we had a studio with a fridge, two ring electric hob and TV but this was only on ones or twice as we where not in Iceland to watch TV.
Breakfast is again ok but I would like to see a bit more variety on offer.
Your welcome is fantastic and nothing is a problem to the staff, and I would recommend the little bar to relax after your day out, as the staff go out there way to make you fell like it is your local. But as with all things in Iceland beer is expensive, but there is a pool table and games to keep you occupied.

I ask my self would I stay again well yes I would thanks to the staff for a good holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    147
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
90
231
30
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff at the Hotel Laxnes when we stayed in August 2012. We had a beautiful room overlooking the mountains which was large, clean and had a lovely en suite bathroom. The breakfast was really good, plentiful and freshly prepared. We were able to access internet to message home on the hotels computer in reception and we never felt hurried or pressured to be be quick when doing so. The staff were helpful with regard to recommendations of places to visit and restaurants to try.

We would love to visit Iceland again but will possibly head closer to town just because some of the organised trips will not pick up from Laxnes which made it difficult at times to get into town to meet the transport. We loved our stay with Hotel Laxnes and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

OK, Hotel Laxnes is a fifteen minute ride of downtown Reykjavik. That's about the only downside. The hotel is small, very clean and very straightforward. Nothing fancy, just a great place to sleep. you should be on the go most of the time you're in Iceland, not lounging around the hotel. If you want to be walking distance from downtown, this isn't for you although the city bus stops right across the street and will have you downtown in a few minutes. ALL the tour operators will pick you up at Hotel Laxnes. There's a cool little village (Alafossi) that's a 10-minute walk away with a sweet little bistro and the area is quiet. One of the great reasons to book this hotel is Shaun, the British-born and very friendly guy who will take care of everything you need in terms of booking fun trips--and making sure all the arrangements are handled. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Laxnes and never regretted that we weren't in the mix downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your compliments and yes its all to do with location and that personal touch needed along with our cozy bar tavern to enjoy a drink in the evenings.I love my work with tourism and its my pleasure to share my experiences with you all .Number 1 is to keep the hotel clean and to offer a great service and to guide you everyone to our local trails which take you to hiden waterfalls in the area !We are happy to be able to ofer the best of both worlds being close enough to Reykjavik City and almost in the country side .Best Wishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

the hotel is a little like a motel, with the rooms across the car park from the main building. It also serves as the local tourist information office. the rooms were warm. the staff were really friendly. the lounge area is cosy, with lots of books and a pool table. views out of the windows are great. And there are lots of good walks from here.

it is a half-hourly bus ride from the middle of Reykjavik. the bus takes about 25 minutes. The Iceland Excursions buses treat it as a Reykjavik hotel, so do not charge extra to pick up.

It does an evening meal between 7 and 830 pm, but we really liked the Cafehusid Alafoss, a short walk away

Room Tip: ask to overlook the hills - most do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I brought a group of high school students to Iceland to study the geothermal and hydroelectric power of Iceland and worked primarily through the staff of this hotel to set it all up. They were excellent in finding information and putting me in contact with the people I needed to talk to. Once we arrived they bent over backwards to help us get around and make all of our goals come true. The rooms were very comfortable and we always felt safe here. We were able to hike right into the mountains from the hotel, as well as find groceries, gas, bakery and other amenities within a short walking distance. I would recommend Hotel Laxnes to anyone!

Room Tip: Our group had rooms upstairs and down and we liked them all. Some rooms lead directly outside while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fantastic friendly hotel in a great location. Fantastic staff always willing to help or answer any questions. The lobby is well stocked with information leaflets and has a computer for free internet access. There is free WiFi in the rooms and it is close to some fantastic local amenities such as the local bakery, swimming pool and supermarkets.

Room Tip: room nine is the suite and has fantastic views to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in June. My mother likes to be out of cities so chose this hotel based on its location. While there wasn't a lot particularly special about this hotel, the room was clean and in good shape, the folks who run it let us check in early after an overnight trip from the US, and the location made it really easy for my mobility-limited mother. It definitely seems weird that it's located behind a Kentucky Fried Chicken (that would be a pretty big red flag for an American hotel!) but it turned out to be not strange at all; the view from our room was of a beautiful field and hills and we were really close (as in walking distance) to a post office, grocery store, bank, and excellent bakery. If you're in Iceland driving around and having picnics in the summer (as opposed to coming for the Northern Lights in the winter), this hotel is a really accessible and convenient base.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.