We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly and Comfy Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Northern Lights !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly and Comfy Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited Hotel Laxnes in March 2013, if like us your arrival at the hotel will be after midnight (when reception is closed), contact the hotel beforehand and they will send instructions on how to locate your room key. We found all the staff to be nice and friendly and there was a relaxed atmosphere around the place. The hotel is situated in beautiful mountainous surroundings yet is close by to a supermarket, bakery and a couple of food outlets. The tourist info at the hotel was really handy and the staff are happy to book tours for you. The room was adequate and clean and breakfast was simple yet sufficient. The hotels location is just outside the city which was great for catching the Northern Lights, yet Rekyjavik was just a bus ride away.
Bed linen was clean but looked worn out. Room and bathroom also clean but probably need updating. Overall our stay at this hotel was pleasant and comfortable, and we would definately recommend it to others for a reasonably priced stay in Iceland.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony for a view of the Northern Lights from your own room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi SJK5, thank you for writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes in March. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and have taken on board your comments, as we have been in the process or renewing in the spring. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    164
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
260
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our stay in May of 2013 was very satisfactory. The hotel staff was very personable. We were allowed to check in early, and any inquiries we made in regards to activities were answered in a friendly and informative manner. We stayed in room #15, which is considered a studio. There is a refrigerator, warming plate and some kitchen utensils (the addition of a knife and bottle opener would have be nice). The room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The one weird thing was that no wash clothes were provided. We felt that the breakfast was better than most in the U.S., and allowed us to get our day started out right. The location is also good, especially if you are more comfortable in a small town setting. The quick access to the “Ring Road” was great, as well as the fact that there are restaurants, a grocery store, and a liquor store all within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Ganten71, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes in May. We are pleased to read the hotel and your room were satisfactory for you. Just a note on the wash clothe, it is correct we do not provide these in the rooms, but can be given to you if requested at the front desk. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This reasonably priced hotel is located on the outskirts of Reykjavik, quite a way from the city centre, but in a very pleasant area. There is a bus to the centre at the door and the various tour companies will pick up customers at the hotel. The airport bus services the hotel. There is a FWD vehicle available for hire at a good rate. Although there is no restaurant on-site (but there is a bar), there are several nearby.

The rooms are more than adequate and the breakfast good. However, the best feature of the Hotel Laxnes is the staff. They were unfailingly helpful and friendly and prepared to go out of their way to answer any questions, book tours or offer advice.

My wife and I stayed for four nights and would certainly do so again. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who requires a quiet, clean and very pleasant place to stay away from, but convenient to, the centre of Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi David01583, thank you for your kind words in your review of Hotel Laxnes during your stay in April. We greatly appreciate you recommending us. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It seemed alot nicer online, but it was still a decent hotel. They had old style keys with a huge 6 inch tag on it so you couldn't just slip it in your pocket. I often had trouble getting into my room because my lock would jam and not fully unlock until I played around with it for a while. The rooms were insanely hot inside with no thermostat, but the windows did crack open at least. But being on the first floor I didn't really wanna leave it open. They supply hand soap at the sink, but nothing else. There's no shampoo or body wash, so make sure you bring your own. The bathtub sides were very tall and I almost fell getting out each time trying to step down out of it, but that seems to be an Iceland thing and not just this hotel. The lighting in my bathroom was so poor I could barely put on my makeup. There often isn't anybody at the front desk because they are also working the bar. The small bar has no seats at it, but rather some tables to sit at nearby, which is where they serve breakfast too. If you need a hairdryer, you will have to pay 3000 KR to get one, but will get your money back after you return it. The location isn't too bad if you have a rental car to drive yourself downtown. There is a KFC right next door and a block away is a gas station, convenience store, Subway and Domino's Pizza. But it is almost an hour from the airport. I'm not sure where the river and nice view of mountain were that they claimed were here, but outside my window was trees blocking a view of a mountain that wasn't anything all that nice as I expected. It's not the worst hotel, but I don't really think I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for your review and your remarks for improvement .
We have the old style keys so firstly you dont misplace them and secondly we have the local Restaurants and shops logo on them so you get a discount when showing your key card.
No thermostat as under floor heating ,wish you would have told us so i would have turned the heating down .The bath tub is of standard size .Our hotel is small so its more then enough to have the reception managed at times by the bar staff during certain quiet hours .isk3000 for deposit on a hairdryer is to ensure you dont forget to return them to us .
Thanks for staying at Hotel laxnes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved staying here, great views, nice location, staff were extremely friendly and will go out of thier way to help.
If you want any tips on where to go thats off the tourist trail just ask at reception.
Breakfast was lovely and just what you need for a long day out. The whole hotel had a relaxed atmosphere Wished we'd booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Ben b, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Hotel Laxnes in May. Short and sweet and to the point! Thanks again and all the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This affordable and well-run hotel is located in a town on the eastern outskirts of Reykjavik. It's well located if you have a car and need a nice place to stay near Reykjavik but outside of town. We found it quite by accident after a day of touring the Golden Circle. It's in a residential area not far from the motorway. There are restaurants, petrol stations, grocery stores and other amenities nearby.

We stayed in one of the rooms with a separate entrance (like a motel). It was a fairly spacious and nicely appointed room with large windows and an absolutely beautiful view of the Esja mountains. It was clean. It had a kitchenette. The one downside was that the TV has only one or two English stations (but in the bar they had Sky set up).

The décor of the lounge and breakfast room was a charming mix of hunting lodge and Icelandic kitsch. The breakfast was surprisingly good (considering what we paid), and in any case better than the other hotels we stayed at.

It's rated as a three star, but the cost-quality ratio makes it worth four or even five on TA. You'll like this hotel if you value comfort and value more than luxury and a central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi zwerf, thank you for your review of your surprise visit to Hotel Laxnes on your Golden Circle tour in May. We think you hit it on the nail: "You'll like this hotel if you value comfort and value more than luxury and a central location." Thanks again, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at the Hotel Laxnes. Our first trip was in Jan last year and we had such a great time at this lovely little hotel, including a fabulous show of the northern lights , that we had to return to experience this wonderful country without all of the snow. The hotel itself is clean and cosy and the management and staff are extremely helpful. The manager Sean gave us tips on where to go on what days, depending on the weather, and recommendations for restaurants in the area. We hired a car and managed to cover 1500km in a week but this didn't even scratch the surface! There is so much to see and this hotel is a good base to travel in all directions. There is a bar area, where breakfast is served, which is nice for a drink and a game of pool in the evening and they even have a hot tub where you can relax and enjoy the view of the mountains. This is not a 5 star hotel, or even a 4 star, so if you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed! If ,however, you are looking for a charming, clean and friendly place to stay out of the city the Laxnes is the place to stay. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Colerama, thank you so much for your review of your 2nd stay at Hotel Laxnes in May 2013. It really means alot for us and the reviewers to see that you have returned to the hotel a 2nd time and still have received the great service we offer our customers. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. All the best. Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.