We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience that I want to repeat again soon !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience that I want to repeat again soon !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Myself and my Fiance booked a 3 night stay at the Hotel Laxnes, my main reason for going to Iceland, to see the Northern Lights.
Iceland is amazing, so clean and everyone was so friendly. I tried my few words of Icelandic that I had 'googled' but everyone we met spoke perfect English.
We booked a coach from the airport to Hotel Laxnes and I have to say, after viewing the other hotels on the drop off, we definitely made the right choice by staying at Hotel Laxnes. It is set next to the mountains and is within walking distance of the estuary/coast, yet there are a few shops and restaurants in the same location, along with a bus stop right outside the hotel, so that you don't feel too isolated.
The location of the hotel is brilliant. If you love to walk and experience fresh air and culture, this is perfect.
I did read a lot of the hotel reviews before I went and did worry a little, but there was no need. Shaun, the hotel manager is brilliant, really friendly and helpful and Max is the same, nothing is too much trouble for either of them.
The hotel is always warm, even when its not so warm outside. The pillows were fine, although I did take my own after reading the reviews, but I didn't need to and could have used the extra luggage space for more clothes ! The duvets are thin and this did worry me as I am always cold, but the hotel is that warm, the one thin duvet is just right. We even slept with our window slightly open, something I don't even do at home as I am so nesh !
The bathroom was great, the room was great, breakfast was lovely, even for a fussy vegetarian. I had toast and porridge, yogurt, coffee and juice each morning. The breakfast staff (husband and wife team) always said good morning and always were willing to help. I don't understand the reviews that say different. Maybe they don't speak as much as Shaun and Max, but they certainly aren't rude.
The lady that came to clean the room one day was very polite and happy to come back a bit later once we had gone out for the day.
I can not say one bad thing about this hotel and would recommend this place to anyone that wants to experience fresh air, Icelandic countryside and village life. Personally, I didn't want to be in a built up city centre and unless you want to party all night, I would say try the Hotel Laxnes. I will certainly be going again as unfortunately, I didn't get to see the Northern Lights during our stay.
Guys, see you again soon and thanks for making our holiday fantastic.
Josie and Simon. xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Josie an Simon, thank you for review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Your review is very pleasing to read and thanks for your detailed overview. We look very much forward to welcoming you both back. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    195
    53
    5
    2
See reviews for
116
301
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On arriving late in the day we were very disappointed with the room we were given: the pillows were like very small, flat bags of polystyrene balls, the pillowcases were worn and holey, the glasses in the room were dirty and there was what looked like blood on the curtains!

We spoke to the manager who was lovely and left us a note to say that we could change rooms but we literally were not at the hotel long enough to bother so I can't say if other rooms are better than this one. It seems slightly churlish to complain as it was very very cheap, but it did feel like someone else has said more like a hostel than a 3 star hotel and wasn't at all what we expected.

The staff however were lovely and very helpful, and this would be a great place to stay with a bit of investment into making the rooms a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi I am sorry you were not happy with the room you were in ,however as u stated we did offer you another room but you choose not to take it .Our rooms are only less then 5 years of age and most having views except for 2 in the house .We have been replacing the pillows ,so this will not be a problem again .I am shocked that you gave us only 3 stars for the service after all the compliments you have given to the hotel staff and myself ,very dissapointing to say the least .We are an average 3 star hotel with no thrills hotel rooms as we are a country style budget hotel with mountain view which offer the best of both worlds .The pillow situation has been fixed as i admit to having a few poor pillows in the past and no blood stain that i know of on any curtains ,however will make a close inspection of all rooms and if so change them All our rooms having a private bathtub and shower and super heating .Next time i suggest you pay more and stay in a 4 star as we are only a 3 star Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Got back this afternoon and already thinking about going back. Brilliant hotel with excellent views of mountains in a peaceful location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great view of the Northern Lights from the hotel and lots of wonderful trips from Reykjavik which is only a short bus ride away. Thank you to the staff for making our trip so enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Linda B, thank you for review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Loved the first line: "back this afternoon and already thinking about going back" that says it all for us, and we look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel had everything we wanted for a few days stay and the rooms were comfortable, clean and most importantly lovely and warm to get back to from a cold night/day trip. We loved the pool table and little bar and the staff were really helpful. we didn't have a mountain view room with balcony etc but didnt need it as we had so much packed into our 4 day trip we were barely there. We saw a beautiful display of Northern Lights out on a trip, I would highly recommend The Blue Lagoon, and the Golden Circle. I would definitely stay at hotel Laxnes again. Tip: Try the bakery thats a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, it's lovely (you need to take a ticket with a number on your way in, we didnt realise and stood in line for no reason!) My only disappointment was that we only had 4 days, looking forward to going back! On our last day we noticed a hot tub out the back, which we never saw in use, not sure why it was never in use (may only be open in summer) but it would have been an added bonus of guests are able to use it, and if they are, we weren't told about it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Tara L, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Yes our local bakery is a treat! As for the hot tub, when its open, we´ll definately take your word and let everyone know. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights 8-11 March 2013 and would definitely recommend it. The hotel has lots of character and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We liked being situated outside of Reykjavik and we took a local bus into Reykjavik. The bus stop is 1 minute walk from the hotel and they ran twice an hour. There are also supermarkets and fast food outlets nearby whilst still being quite remote and near the mountains. We upgraded our room to one at the back of the hotel so that we had lovely mountain views and the floor to ceiling window enabled us to look at the Northern Lights whilst still being in bed! The room was very spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Karen J, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well what can I say - we arrived back from our stay at the hotel Laxnes in Iceland yesterday and I already want to go back!

We saw some beautiful and fantastic scenery in Iceland – waterfalls (including gullfoss where we saw a wonderful rainbow over the waterfall!), geysers (which had us mesmerised as they bubbled and then propelled into the sky), a wonderful glacier (my favourite thing - so blue and completely breath taking!), volcanoes, lakes (including the wonder of pingvellir - the most picturesque location you can imagine....), snow topped mountains, lava fields, the awesome and powerful black sand beach, the tranquil and mysterious milky blue lagoon….and not forgetting the Northern Lights - which we saw for 2hrs straight, over the mountains from pingvellir national park - the dancing patterns and movement was beautiful to behold and we were also treated to further displays above the hotel itself when we returned from the national park - we couldn't have planned it any better! …. the entire trip was exhilarating, awesome and I highly recommend a visit...

Not only this but we did it all from the brilliant location of this lovely friendly, warm hotel in Mosfellsbaer - just 15 mins from Reykjavik. Our large and cosy rooms overlooked the snowy mountains and had a wonderful mini balcony and windows facing skyward in the roof perfect for watching the Northern Lights as we were lucky enough to do from the hotel itself!
The bar area/breakfast room was homely and a lovely place to relax and enjoy breakfast in the morning before a long day out exploring and a perfect place to chill out with a beer (gull of course!) in the evening and exchange stories with other guests before heading out in search of the lights...

Parking was a plenty (perfect if you have a hire car like us) and there are 2 supermarkets nearby within a few mins walk and a lovely bakery. We ate a lot of fast food from the local dominoes pizza, subway and kfc in the evenings as we were always on the go and had no time to sit down for a meal (this also saved money on expensive restaurants)....
The walk to Alafoss from the hotel is very pleasant and not too far at all so you can pick up a bite to eat at the restaurant there (with a waterfall view) which we did for lunch on arrival and find local souvenirs and plenty of woollen clothing items.

I also recommend paying a trip to the local swimming pool in Mosfellsbaer, heated natuarally of course and featuring plenty of open air hot tubs - it was a lovely way to spend an evening looking up at the stars and floating our muscle aches away....

My only recommendations to the hotel of how the trip could have been improved for the future would be: by providing fluffy dressing gowns in the rooms so they can be used in the night whilst peering out of the open window in hopes of a Northern Light sighting....And we like to take breakfast fairly late sometimes and would arrive at the breakfast room at 9.30-9.45 some mornings (breakfast is advertised as being served until 10am) by which time you had to ask for most things to be brought out as supplies of certain items seemed to run low - so if breakfast is advertised until 10 then the items should be more readily replenished and you shouldn't be made to feel hurried along (which we were on one ocassion)....However these are small gripes and merely a recommendation from our perspective of how to improve the hotel even further for guests - We had a FANTASTIC time and would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to Iceland (which we do hope to make soon!)

THANK YOU HOTEL LAXNES AND ALL STAFF

Room Tip: Choose the roof top rooms facing the mountain with the mini pull out balconies - we had room 10 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Sarahbells, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Your Iceland holiday sounds like it was all and more you had hoped for and we are pleased we were a part of that. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheslyn hay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

only stayed here 3 nights,but were made very welcolm.our room was on the first floor. very warm and comfortable.lovely view over the mountains.unfortunately while we were there we had the worst weather for 10 years and all roads into reyjavic were closed.the hotel staff and owners put on food for us as it normally is only b&b.did manage to go to burger bar across road for one meal.everyone could speak english and were very friendly.breakfast very good,even had a kettle in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi maggiecheslynhay, thank you for you writing a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. It was an intense weather storm! Thanks again for your review. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.