We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inexpensive place to stay-” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Northern Lights !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice inexpensive place to stay-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews I can only assume people were expecting Laxnes to be a 5 star luxury hotel-it's not. We considered this a hostel or motel-very,very nice for the price. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was adequate and location was 10 min from city center. If you are looking for somewhere out of the city and decently priced this is the place for you. I will agree with another review regarding people leaving the bar at night. Very loud and woke us up every night. Oh, on a side note. The hotel offers a northern lights tour through Iceland Excursions(Gray Lines) my recommendation is to steer clear of this tour. Horrible!!! Not the hotels fault at all-wrote a review on it if anyone is interested.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Lenzylamb, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We greatly appreciate it! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    164
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
259
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself and my fiance went to Iceland in January and had the most amazing time. This hotel was just fab and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was huge and the beds very comfy. Its clean and tidy and always toasty warm.
We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights in a full on beautiful display of bright green swirling and slowly moving over the sky.
You cannot visit here and not go to the blue lagoon, it was the perfect relaxing day out and my skin felt so smooth and revitalised afterwards.
We also went on the golden circle tour which is well worth the money and we saw so many lovely views and took lots of great pics.

You can get a bus right outside the hotel into the city centre which takes about half an hour and costs about £2.50 and there are so many great places to eat and drink here, as well as loads of shopping to be done. The soup in bread they serve in most places is a must and there is a little pancake shop which was cheap and serve huge pancakes with any topping you want. Yummy!!!

All in all the best holiday we have had. Thank you to all the staff at the Laxnes!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Charlotte S, thank you for your review of your stay in Iceland. Wonderful to hear it was your best holiday to date and pleased to read that Iceland wowed you both. Thanks again and all the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulsdon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I booked Hotel Laxnes for a surprise 60th birthday for my husband. We arrived in the early hours and had instructions for the key box to get our room key but the night caretaker was there and welcomed us with a kettle and some cups so as we could make a cup of tea. The next morning we went to reception to book some tours; the staff were so helpful but not pushy in anyway.
Location wise; a little misleading as we thought it would be rural but it is in a little town next to a KFC and Subway! However the bus stopped right outside and took 20 minutes to get to Reykjavik.
You can eat locally; if you can find the restaurants;the staff are very helpful.
The hotel itself was clean; not luxury but a bit quirky and very comfortable. The settee in our room was damaged and the linen and towels had seen better days; pillows were very thin. We slept well though. Basic breakfast but ample; orange juice a bit watery. When you are waiting for trip company to pick us up for Northern Lights trip we were offered free tea and coffee which was much appreciated. We didn't experience the bar nor were we disturbed by any noise despite the huge football screen and locals.
The Golden Circle trip was amazing as was the Blue Lagoon, we didn't see the Lights as the weather wasn't helpful!!
All in all a wonderful stay; thanks to Hotel Laxnes and lovely thoughtful staff.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor overlooked the side and back of the hotel and I think was quieter than maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi michelle w, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Laxnes during your stay in Iceland. Yes our location is not rural, but stil has great views of the mountains and countryside with a balance of easy access as you mention to amenities. Great to hear your stay was enjoyable and thanks for choosing us for your husbands 60th. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Laxnes for 3 nights in February. Overall it was an okay base, the staff are friendly and helpful.

We arrived in the evening and we were quite tired by the time we got there. We were told the basic details on arrival such as breakfast times, breakfast location and where to go if no one is at the reception. We had a standard double room, which was mountain facing. The room was an adequate in size, but did feel rather small as one side was much lower due to the room being on the top floor and the sky-light windows. The beds were comfortable, but the bedding appeared to have seen better days. The duvet was very thin and the duvet cover had clearly been over-used and looked worn. The pillows were useless for their function - They were Down pillows, but were so over used that we had to request two extra pillows each to have a little support (They were very quick to provide us with the pillows which showed great customer service). However, this did nothing to help as we did not sleep well each night and woke up with bad backs and sore necks. We had an en-suite bathroom, which was okay, but the toilet paper was of the cheapest possible quality, the shower was not powerful and after a minute or so the pressure was weak. The towels were very worn out and clearly need replacing. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, nor a hairdryer.

The breakfast was fine, but the selection was limited. It consisted of toast, cold boiled eggs, tea, coffee, juice, cornflakes, muesli, ham, cheese and porridge. I was disappointed that there were no pastries, muffins or fresh fruit available as this is normally part of a continental breakfast selection. The bar area is where the breakfast is served and this area is small, but it causes no problem during breakfast. They also have a big screen for sports and the locals are really friendly. My only annoyance was that when locals left the bar at night, they were rather noisy and due to the position of our room, we heard them leaving each night which disturbed our sleep.

The reception is a great source of information and the hotel staff speak good English so are always on hand for any further advice. We couldn’t leave the hotel on the final night due to a bad blizzard and the staff were very helpful in letting us use their phone to call a local pizza company and get a pizza delivered and eat it in the bar.

The location of the hotel is about 15-20 minutes from Reykjavik by car, or around 30-45 minutes by bus. There is a bus stop right outside of the hotel and it takes you into town. The buses are not very frequent with only 1 every half hour, but they are easy and simple to use. Despite most things accepting credit card, you will need exact change for the bus. Its 350 kronas for a single ticket, or a day pass is 900 kronas – much cheaper than 3000 kronas (approx) by taxi! We travelled by bus and rather enjoyed it.

We picked this hotel with the hope of seeing the northern lights as many previous reviews have mentioned, but the weather was not in our favour. If I was to go to Iceland again, I would most likely stay closer to the city as when doing excursions and tours, we always had to travel into town to catch the excursion bus (although the tour company did provide complimentary pick-up and drop-off) and I would probably just go for a Northern Lights tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Desi_Dancediva, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We have noted your comments. Hopefully next time you visit Iceland you will be wowed by the Northern Lights, a pity it didn´t appear on this trip. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel Laxnes is comfortable and friendly. The staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating and the place was relatively clean. But the location is not what I was expecting; the photographs make it look so rural but it is located in quite a busy area, with a KFC and Subway right next door! We found the general area of Mossfellsbaer, where Laxnes is located, strange and not particularly welcoming. However it's a great location to do the tours (such as the Northern Lights Tour) from Reykjavik without actually staying in Reykjavik and you get picked up and dropped off which is always included in the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Jade H, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes. Our location is a balance of country views and accessibility to services, as you mentioned, for excursions and easy public bus transport. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Laxnes the room was very comfortable and clean and we had a wonderful view of the mountains. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and thanks to Shaun's advice about when and where to go to hopefully see the Northern Lights we were lucky enough to see them on our first evening (they also appeared over the hotel later that night). We had hired a car and the drive from the airport to the hotel is very straightforward using the directions from the website and it is well situated not far from Reykjavik or the National Park and was an ideal base for driving to everything we wanted to see. The continental breakfast is plentiful and was an ideal start to the day. We also had the lamb stew one evening which was very tasty. During the evenings we spent some time in the bar and found the atmosphere very welcoming. Now we have seen Iceland in the winter we are planning to return and see it in the summer and will definitely be staying at Hotel Laxnes when we do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi ElaineF19, thank you for your kind review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Iceland and Hotel Laxnes when you can enjoy the all day sun! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having been to iceland before we choice not to stay in the centre and what a great choice it was! arrived Thrusday night (very helpful staff) beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the mountains. (room 8) it was warm toasty. we then went out on the advice of the guy on the desk to the national park which is a short drive up the road. a few coaches were out in the usual places but as we had a rental car (sadcars) we could go where we wanted and as the coaches were on their way home we sat watching the stars when the light show started and what an amazing site it was! we stayed out till the early hours watching and taking pics. (took a flask of coffee to keep warm)
In the morning we had breakfast simply and sufficent and told the guy of the desk about the evening he then gave us a few more idea on wht to do that day andabout places to eat (Alafloss another review)
I would def reccomend this hotel to anyone its not far into town either.

Room Tip: room 8 and the one next to it have balconys and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi LisaF5, thank you for taking the time to write your review on Hotel Laxnes. We appreciate it, and very pleased to hear that you were able to experience a Northern Lights show. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.