We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laxnes to your Saves list
Hotel Laxnes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Break
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
chelmsford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked three rooms at Hotel Laxnes in July. We were given three studio rooms on the ground floor and they were spacious with cooking facilities if you needed them and a splendid view of the hills beyond. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very quiet.

Iceland is a wonderful country to visit and Hotel Laxnes is a great base for a holiday because it is just a short drive from Reykjavik and some of Iceland’s other major attractions. It is unique and amazing country and the people were so friendly and made us feel very welcome.

We hired a car for day trips around the many sights. Driving in Iceland is relatively easy because the roads are uncongested and the other drivers courteous (but get yourself a proper road map).

We contacted the hotel before we left the UK and Shaun the hotel manager organised car hire and a taxi from the airport at very reasonable rates, all the staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere of the hotel is amazingly laid back and understated; we really did feel at home there.

Thank-you Shaun and everyone else whose hard work gave us such a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    195
    53
    5
    2
See reviews for
116
301
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
danbury, ct.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We decided to stay a little out of town and were so glad we did. Laxnes was delightful. Clean, extremelg helpful staff, great views and great value. If you don't mind the 20 minute bus ride into town, this is thenplace to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Laxnes for a few days at the beginning of July.

I'll be honest, when I booked it, I didn't check how far from the city it was. It worried me initially as it's 15/20 minute bus ride. But if (or more like when) we go back, we would stay here again - 100%. It is much cheaper than staying in the city centre.

The public transport runs like clockwork and is cheap (compared to UK prices). The bus stop is on the doorstep, literally. Maybe next time I would hire a car, but that's so we can just get out and about to be nosey on our own.

Shaun is more than helpful and always seems a happy chappy (I can't work out when he actually sleeps though - he's always there at the desk). He can book everything for you, plus recommend all the great local hikes and touristy excursions.

The breakfast is a typical 'continental' type affair, always seemed stocked up and freshly prepared. The whole place has a nice feel about it, not threatening in the slightest. As for location, you couldn't ask for better. Literally at the foot of mount Esja, great views and nice and quiet.

All in all, a great stay. We would highly recommend - but please don't be thinking this is the Hilton. It is quite basic and utilitarian (well our room was, I gather you can also rent a kitchenette type affair). But lets be honest, it is a base to sleep - you will be out exploring a truly great country with much to give!

Have fun :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Rooms are very clean and modern, as wel as the bar. The hotel manager is very friendly and helpfull, he arranged al my daytours and he has helped me when I overslept, so i did not mis my daytour. The view from the hotel is incredible. In the bar you can talk with the local people, and they are very friendly and they learn you a lot about Icelandic habits and culture. You can take a bus to Reykjavic city centre, what isn't that far, or you can enjoy swimming in the heated pool, what is located about 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I really recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: I travelled on my one, so I only saw the single room, the room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights. If you are renting a car, definitely stay here instead of in Reykjavik. It is is much less expensive, less than half the price of hotels in the city. It is convenient to all the sights, and only about a 15 minute drive from Reykjavik. We rented one of the kitchenettes (studios) and saved money by cooking a couple of nights.
They have a very helpful, friendly manager, who seems to work 20 hours a day.
Note that the hotel's location on Google Maps is wrong by a few blocks; use the address instead.

Room Tip: The room nearest the reception had an odor from the shower drain; we moved after one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel is about a 20 min drive from the airport, and they arranged for a taxi to be waiting for us. It has a motel feel about it, as you can park right outside the studio rooms. The room was spacious, clean and fairly modern. My only complaint is that is is very hot, the underfloor heating doesn't appear to be regulated. It made it very difficult to sleep at night, because the road is so close, and you had to choose between roasting with the windows shut, or noise with them open. Although the view at the back of the hotel is stunning, the front looks out onto a KFC, a supermarket and a petrol station. Handy for buying provisions tho.
Breakfast is self service and has the usual meats, egg, bread, cereal, yoghurt, with hot and cold drinks. It was enough to keep you going until lunchtime. I was persuaded to visit the KFC as I hadn't been before. I wont be going a second time.
This is a good enough base for a few nights, but I think next time we will try somewhere a bit farther away from the main road, as I am a light sleeper.
We went on the whale watching trip, which we enjoyed very much, and a trip to Thors Wood with f.stop tours. Mike Kissane offers great tours, and has a wealth of knowledge to pass on.
Iceland is an amazing place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Studio rooms have their own basic self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The rooms are big, clean, and with plenty of natural light.
And yes the beds are really comfortable.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
If You need anything just talk to Shaun, the manager. He can book the airport pick up, the whale watching tour of give you advice about the best places to eat near the hotel or in the Reykjavik area . Plus he has a personal knowledge of the best bars and clubs in the Reykjavik area.
Hotel Laxnes, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270 , Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laxnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.