We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Fore Street, Calstock, England
01822 834866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Calstock
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Recently opened under new management.
Chigley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was staying in Calstock to recconoitre the area for a possible future family holiday. What can I say? In short, I walked in as a stranger and left feeling almost a part of the family. Firstly the food and drink; I asked for a steak that still bled, and it certainly did. The veg was spot on, and the chips hand cut. What really impressed me was the convivial atmosphere; the ready wit, banter and chat from mine hosts Sean and Kim, plus the regulars. In short, an evening that has rekindled my faith in humanity. Couldn't beat it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    28
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is great pub tucked away in the heart of the village. We've eaten here a couple of times and the food is always excellent, unlike many pubs which claim to have 'homemade' food, it genuinely is, and of an excellent standard. Really decent homemade hummus and crisps.
Their ale is exceptionally well kept; good clarity and temperature. Recommend for a lazy couple of pints on a weekend and a well thought out menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stumbled upon the newly refurbished Boot during a Sunday stroll and tried their famous Sunday lunch - wow is all I can say! The portions are something else, and the choice and standard of cooking is what this area needs. I ordered the beef and was amazed to be asked how I like it cooked - being a rare meat lover this made the experience even better. We have since returned to try the evening menu and yet again were not disappointed , thank you to all at The Boot for making the effort which other establishments do not seen to understand these days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Really excellent sunday roasts at reasonable prices. I will be there again today! Might even try a dessert if I can fit one in!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
1,911 helpful votes 1,911 helpful votes
“Needs photos and maybe a webpage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We came here to eat before an event as part of Calstock jazz and blues weekend. Very good light supper with a refreshing drink in pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. We will come here again on a day when we don't have to leave suddenly to rush on to a gig. Calstock is a bit of a drive from most places. Not sire whether there are trains or predictable boat trips up the Tamar that would give time to have a decent supper.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

Calstock, Cornwall
Gunnislake, Cornwall
 
Gunnislake, Cornwall
Callington, Cornwall
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.