We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albacore B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albacore B&B
Save
You added Albacore B&B to your Saves list
18 Albacore Drive, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a brilliant stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Coming over from England it was a must we found good accommodation so we could have a good holiday, and that is what we found. As soon as we arrived the welcome from the owners was a warm one which was lovely. The rooms were super clean and they even gave my son the spare room for free as it wasn't in use, which was extremely kind of them. The breakfasts were possibly the only downfall, they were very nice but the selection wasn't huge and it would have been great if cooked breakfasts were sometimes available. When we travel back to Australia we will certainly be coming back to here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SE UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights early in an extended tour of Australia. We were looking for somewhere as a base from which we could do a long day trip to the Pinnacles National Park and then get to Perth Airport easily on the second morning for our flight to Queensland.

Albacore is within easy reach of the freeway and is in an extremely smart residential home in an equally smart area. Our accommodation was compact but that is not to say cramped. It had everything we needed and the welcome from our hosts, Bill & Merriel, was exceptionally warm and friendly.

I had been impressed speaking to Bill on the phone to settle on the accommodation before we left England and we were not disappointed.

The property is of modern construction so if you are looking for a 'character' place this might not be for you, but if you are looking for comfort and convenience, and a welcome amongst the best we encountered on our holiday then the Albacore is unlikely to disappoint. Writing this after our return to England, now over a couple of holidays in Australia we have spent 10 weeks in the country largely staying in B&Bs and this ranks among our best finds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is the only B and B that I have stayed at in this country, so I cannot make comparisons with other establishments in Australia. The hosts were friendly and helpful, I had no problems and the room was pleasant. However, I am sorry to say that the Tripadvisor reviews resulted in my expectations being higher than the delivery of the goods.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned to Ireland after a most enjoyable holiday in Perth. We were lucky enough to have read some reviews of this excellent B&B - Albacore in Sorrento. We were not disappointed. Bill and Meriel made us most welcome and were more than helpful to us when we were planning our trips. The room with en-suite was very spacious, spotless and most comfortable with all the trimmings to make a very pleasant stay. The room had a very nice little area outside the bedroom with table and chairs which was perfect to relax in after a busy day or indeed to enjoy the early morning sunshine. Breakfast was tasty and provided a great start to our days. In a great spot near to Hillary's Harbour and public transport was excellent. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a homely and pleasant stay.
Carol & Peter, Dublin.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights here as we had a few appointments to keep in the area. The room was very suited to our needs and like others before us, we had an enjoyable stay. The reviews we read here helped us to decide to stay at Albacore B&B. We were not disappointed. Thanks, Bill. Thanks, Tripadvisor.
Sue Tan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012, for a couple of nights while we were visiting Perth. We were completely blown away with what laid in wait. On the outside it looked like just a nice and quiet suburban house, but once we were shown the room, we couldn't believe how great it was!

Apart from being very well kept and clean, we could tell that a lot of love and effort was put into the room. Even better than some hotels that we've been to, that's for sure! There's even a nice little patio round the back of our room which we could sit down and enjoy a nice quiet cuppa in the evenings. Breakfast was superb, what with freshly baked home made bread to go with our continental breakfast. Bill is also a fountain of knowledge when it comes to places to go and see - he even had maps and brochures for us which made it so much easier for us.

Bill and Meriel have really outdone themselves and we regretted not having time to stay on for longer. We can't thank you and your family enough for making our stay a wonderful and memorable one. It was definitely a great way to end our trip in Perth and would highly recommend Albacore B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed for the whole of Feb 2012 and loved every minute!

We'd left behind freezing cold temperatures back in the UK (-12°C), and headed for the sun, sea, sand, and fabulous Perth, Australia. So much to see, do, hear, taste, and experience - wow what a destination!

Our bedroom at the Albacore was top notch with all the amenities you could wish for, and lots of little extras besides, such as chocolate treats with the tea/coffee facilities. The cosiest bed which gave us a fabulous nights sleep after our day trips in and around wonderful Perth. Our room had a very pretty private decked garden area which we loved to sit outside for a drink in the evening. Air-con in the bedroom was great, especially in the lovely warm temperatures Sorrento and Perth have to offer. The bathroom had an fantastic large walk-in shower. And lots of lovely large fluffy towels. All the rooms were spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Meriel has a great eye for interior detail.

Our hosts Bill & Meriel were so great! From Bill's very large, but very healthy selection of fresh fruit salad (prepared fresh every morning!) with yummy yogurt, to Meriel's tasty home-made bread, and everything else you'd expect from a great Continental breakfast. Bill you'll be proud to hear we've adopted this healthy eating style back in the UK. No more greasy, artery-clogging fry ups for us!

Bill was our 'Guru of Knowledge' when it came to planning our day trips out, and where to eat in the evenings. We have affectionately nick-named him 'Yoda Bill'.

We decided not to hire a car so as to give us more spending money. So we used the www.transperth.wa.gov.au - SmartRider card system which is Bus & Train. It proved to be a great decision as it was efficient, cheap, clean, safe, air-con, and idiot proof to use. Bill had plenty of timetables and info on the SmartRider card system to get us started. Bill & Meriel couldn't quiet believe how much we managed to cram into our 4 weeks stay, and how far we could travel on this system. To give you an idea of distances from the Albacore/Sorrento. The nearest bus stop was only a 2 min walk down the road. We then took the 441 bus to Warwick Train Station (travel time only 10 mins). Then took the train straight into to Perth CBD which was a speedy 15 mins. Then if you fancied going onto Fremantle - from Perth CBD station it only took another 15 mins.

The was our first ever trip to WA & Perth. We will definitely be back to stay at the Albacore B&B again and would most highly recommend it as THE place to stay if your ever visiting Perth!

Thank You
Soozy & Andy Smith (Stratford-Upon-Avon, UK)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albacore B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albacore B&B

Address: 18 Albacore Drive, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors - please note - MINIMUM TWO (2) NIGHTS STAY ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albacore B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.