We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun unexpected find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gino

Da Gino
Contrada Montevicoli 57b, 72013 Ceglie Messapica, Italy
0039 0831 377916
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A fun unexpected find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were staying in Ceglie and on our way back to our trullo when we decided to turn in and see if we could get lunch. We were the only non Italians in the place, and it was fairly busy on a weekday late lunchtime in September.

The owner was very nice, recommended the antipasti, and those were wonderful - very varied with some things we hadn't had yet in the area. Enough for a meal really.

We did have a second course of orecchiette with wild greens they gather in the fields (they call them volunteer vegetables!), and the owner then brought us a dish of the fava puree which we hadn't had yet either.

We were stuffed and really didn't want dessert but they gave us a small piece of a delicious cake. Coffee and enough energy to stumble back and spend the afternoon by the pool, is about all we could manage.

Lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    74
    12
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bari
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Style over substance. Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant because of the positive reviews on trip advisor. I wish we had not. The restaurant was busy and with only two staff and the owner serving service was appallingly slow and disinterested. We were given one menu between five and persuaded to have the anti pasti which was just average. We then waited and waited but our orders for primi were not taken. Having to go and ask for additional menus was the icing on the cake. Forty five minutes later we all stood up and left. The owner was not interested about our concerns, but was very happy to take our money . Very average food and terrible service. There are much better places to go and eat good food in this town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“What a shame, just rubbish and poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try another one of the many restaurants in Ceglie Messapica and this one was chosen by one of our friends who had read the reviews on Trip Advisor.
The huge open windows and pine table and chairs gave it its charm but that was were it ended.
The antipasta was pushed on us without really letting us discuss what we wanted to eat, but we thought we would go along with it and there would be something for all of us to eat. Boring, bland and tasteless food, a real shame. With the wine we asked for a well known name which was not available, fair enough. We asked to see a wine list and were given just 2 choices.
After finishing our antipasta it was 20 minutes before someone came to the table for our order, we were given just one menu between 5 people, the waiter didn't want to wait for us all to choose and said he would come back. He didn't bring any other menus so we eventually got up and found some more from another empty table. After another 15 minutes wait we decided did not want to be kept waiting anymore and got up to leave. The owner came over, we explained why we were unhappy (we speak Italian) and there was no offer of apology for the wait or reduction in the bill. The bottled water was brought to us already opened and I would take a guess as to say the bottles are just topped up from a larger source. The Coca Cola came to the table as did the wine un-opened!!
Such a shame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food served with pride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tucked away on the outskirts of Ceglie Messapica, this restaurant is well worth a visit if you fancy sampling some good home cooked food that features some dishes that you will not find in the centre of town. All of the staff were exceptionally welcoming and Gino took great pride in suggesting dishes for us to try, explaining the ingredients used. They use as much local, seasonal produce as possible and the menu is very extensive with a big variety of courses. We especially enjoyed the Orecchiette, so typical of the Puglia region, made with vegetables and the house ragu was equally delicious. My dining companion had lamb for secondi and said it was some of the best she had ever tasted, served with simple yet nicely cooked vegetables. This restaurant is a great place to come and enjoy the food at a leisurely pace. The staff are friendly and chatty, we certainly enjoyed our evening here and would highly recommend it. As many other reviewers have said, go for the house antipasti and turn up hungry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Antipasti da Gino is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Us like some other reviewers were persuaded to choose the antipasti of the house. When they start bringing that all I was afraid that there is a mistake and half of it was order for another table but it really was only for us. There was a little bit of everything to taste the local food - after this you are already full but luckily the main dish is not so large. However, you will really want to have a good after-lunch nap after this hearty and delicious lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gino also viewed

Ceglie Messapica, Province of Brindisi
Ceglie Messapica, Province of Brindisi
 
Ceglie Messapica, Province of Brindisi
Ceglie Messapica, Province of Brindisi
 

Been to Da Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Gino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.