We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect antidote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diva Espana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diva Espana
Save
You added Diva Espana to your Saves list
Casa D39, La Loma de Masmullar, 29195 Comares, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the perfect antidote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Diva Espana was the perfect antidote to a year of stress that my partner and I had experienced before arriving in Spain for our holiday. We desperately needed somewhere peaceful to escape to where we could recover and reconnect - and this was it.

The location is stunningly beautiful and we were blessed with wonderful weather. We stayed in the self-catering apartment and it was comfortable and spacious with everything we needed. We particularly appreciated the little, private terrace outside the apartment. Kathy and Linda were helpful, kind and friendly - but also perfect at giving us the space we needed. My partner fell in love with Spice the dog and it is a miracle that she didn't try to smuggle her home with us.

I guess the only thing more to say is that we've already booked our 2013 summer holiday - 2 weeks at Diva Espana! Looking forward to it already...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Mary and i have just got back from our 6th trip to this wonderful place.This time we took two friends with us and they also loved it. Our friends are very keen walkers and with a little help from the hosts Kathy and Linda did a different stunning walk each day. If walking is not your thing then relaxing by the fab pool is an option. the food is of the highest quality - all prepared by Kathy and served up with a smile from Liinda.We met some fab women and had evenings full og laughter. We have already booked our next trip and it can't come soon enough.
Do yourself a favour and visit Diva Espana yourself - you will not be dissappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just had the most magical holiday I could ever imagine. I just had to write about it!

Being a bit of a 'foodie' - I have to admit the pictures on the Diva Espana Website sold it to me.

I am someone who really appreciates a high level of hospitality (and of course great quality food). From my experience at Diva Espana I have to say that the standard of accommodation, faultless cleanliness, discrete maintenance, fantastic levels of service, the seamless/faultless hospitality and outstanding quality and variety of food on offer left me feeling totally and utterly relaxed (a major thing for me when relaxation isn't something that comes easily).

It was so special to be there with my amazing partner in one of the most spectacular locations I have ever been, knowing that our every need was being catered for at such high standards.

The other fantastic thing was how intimate Diva Espana is and how amazing owners Kathy and Linda are at facilitating the meeting of holidaymakers. We ended up having some of the most interesting/hilariously funny conversations and have made some brilliant new friends!

They are truly gifted at making individuals feel special. During our stay one of the other women had a birthday - they really pulled out the stops to not only make it special for her - but for all of us. The smallest hint that I play guitar prompted them to point me in the direction of a room where I could play their guitar whenever I wanted. They didn't have any idea how much I miss my guitar when I am away from home - it made me happier than they could ever imagine.

For anyone thinking of booking - all I can say is just book it. I have loved every minute and without doubt we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I now fully comprehend the term 'hostess with the mostest'! Kathy and Linda are truly phenomenal hosts, chefs, facilitators and all-round superstars who do an incredible job ensuring all their guests have a perfect holiday (and what a mixed bunch they are!) What do you get if you mix Aussies, Irish, Scots, Geordies, Yorksha's and Bristol belles?... A Diva Espana special! Thank you all for a holiday full of laughter, superb sustenance, adventure and cheeky banter! This place is magical! We wanted to get away from the stresses of life, find space and time to recoup, rejuvenate and 'just be'. Diva Espana provided all this and mucho more. I can genuinely say I am a fussy bugger when it comes to good service and am not impressed easily, these women are experts and I suspect mind-readers too. It was an absolute pleasure to see them work their magic with everyone - Kathy & Linda you deserve a medal, thank you and congrats on developing an outstanding holiday experience where women can be together in communal joys and have private/independent time too. Met some fantastic lasses who we are sure we will see again soon, had many inspiring conversations and  so much hilarity the sparkles pinged off me flip flops! Came here with the love of my life who does not do holidays or 'switching off' easily, going home with a chilled out woman who i will return with for our honeymoon! Bloody brilliant, we will be back (lilo lil and the yeti) xxx 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have just landed back in Blighty after a week at Diva Espana and have to say that it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. We were genuinely sad to leave this beautiful spot and our new pals, Kathy, Linda and Spice, plus all the fantastic women we met during our stay. As a couple who like to do our own thing on holiday, usually going self-catering in a remote villa somewhere, we were trepidatious about booking into Diva Espana but all our fears were allayed from the moment we arrived. We were made to feel welcome and at home but never encroached upon. It is a stunning location, quiet, rural and comfortable but with every facility you could wish for, all presented pristinely and without fuss. Kathy and Linda have got it just right, providing impeccable hospitality at the perfect level. If you want to chill out by the pool drinking a cold beer and reading a book, you can. If you want to go off exploring Andalusia it's a great base. If you want to mix with other like minded women, they're there. For glorious scenery, birds (both varieties!) and starlit nights, look no further. If you want to indulge in Olympic Lilo Leaping this is the international centre for the sport. Look out Rio 2016! We have laughed like drains all week, and have met some wonderful women who will, we hope, become firm friends. Excellent value for money, excellent food from Kathy's kitchen, total professionalism from our hosts and you couldn't wish to meet two more accommodating or helpful women. We will certainly be returning at some point, so Linda had better stock up on the red wine when we do! Thanks girls, we had an absolute ball.

Room Tip: There's one self-catering apartment and three double rooms. We stayed in Azur and it was very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My first experience of Diva was six years ago and this was my sixth visit! You just don't get tired of place. Kathy and Linda are the perfect hosts and in fact, have perfected the art; they just seem to know when you want something (even when you don't always know yourself)! The rooms are spotless, as is the pool and surrounding communal areas but the food is something else. You will always be asked what your likes/dislikes are and even when there is a full house, Kathy manages to ensure you get what you want. I've never rented a car. Instead, the girls will pick up from the airport thus ensuring a totally relaxing break. The honesty bar means you can pick up a drink at any time of the day. If you finish your book, there are others to choose from in the mini library. If you want a massage, just book a little in advance and you are catered for. I've travelled alone and as a couple - it's perfect no matter which way you travel. Book early though, it's no longer a hidden secret...

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you want total seclusion, book the Olive Grove apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just paid our first ever visit to Diva Espana – wow!

We’d expected from the reviews that it would be relaxing, but we had no idea just how chilled we’d be feeling within a few hours of arriving. Coming straight from stressful and rigid 9-5 jobs at home, it was wonderful to feel that we could do what we liked, when we liked – eat, sleep, swim, talk, go out …

And if we'd didn’t feel like doing any of those things, we didn’t have to!

Kathy and Linda are wonderful hosts. They keep a friendly distance once they know you’re settled, but knowing they were there if we needed them was reassuring. We loved the apartment with its terrace overlooking the valley, waking in the morning to all the lovely sounds and smells, simply bliss.

We can honestly say that everything said about Kathy’s food is true. We hadn’t been sure if we’d dine there every evening, but one dinner and we were sold. There is talk of a cookbook in the future – We’ll certainly be buying it!

Finally … Spice the dog … beautiful!

We are now counting down the days to our next visit, roll on June 2013!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Espana

Address: Casa D39, La Loma de Masmullar, 29195 Comares, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Comares
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Comares
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Diva Espana Spain/Comares

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diva Espana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.