We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional Spanish house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Granadina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Granadina
Save
You added Casa Granadina to your Saves list
Llano Almendra, 29195 Comares, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Comares B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional Spanish house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We rented Casa Granadina for the summer and have had a wonderful time there. The house is an authentic, traditional, rural, Andalucían property but with all the amenities that you need.

The property is situated in a small hamlet just by the river - easy enough to find if you just follow Rosie's directions. It is very peaceful - you can relax in the garden or on one of the three terraces. The mountain views in the area are stunning.

Rosie is lovely and will not hesitate to offer if you need any help with anything. She has a wealth of knowledge and experience as well as lots of books, leaflets and walking routes. You will also find that the neighbours are all great too and will make you very welcome.

Whether for a few nights B&B or renting the house for a longer period, you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: talk to Rosie about your requirements and she will advise which room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at Casa Ganadina last year and have stayed in touch with Rosie since. It is a beautiful place and you could not ask for someone better to host you. Don't hesitate to go to this little gem in the mountains. YOu will not be disappointed. Its a Dream:-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Casa Granadina for a long weekend as we were going to a friends wedding nearby. The house is about 40 minutes drive from Malaga airport and Rosie was kind enough to email the directions prior to our visit. Casa Granadina is in a quiet valley and to access it you need to drive through a dried river bed and along a road that cuts through a lemon orchard. The house has a few acres of land hosting fig trees, lemon trees, oranges. It's very quaint and quiet and if you are after the type of break, where you can just relax, get away from the stresses of day to day life and basically just chill out then it's the perfect place to stay. It's very rustic and quiet. Rosie had her Mum staying whilst we were there and they were both really nice to chat to and be around. The food was great, a decent breakfast of cheese, ham, fruit, yoghurt, cereal etc... Rosie made a lovely tapas on the Saturday and even printed out the recipes for us. The only negative (if you see it as one) is that you are very remote so you can't walk to a bar or restaurant, because there aren't any! That said you are only a 10 minute drive from Riogordo, a small town with restaurants, 20 minute drive from Comares, which is a town perched on top of a mountain with small alleys and wonderful views. If you're after a beach with loads of restaurants and bars then it's a 40 minute drive down to Velez Malaga, a much larger town.
So overall this is the perfect place to stay if you just want to relax, read a book, get away from it all and enjoy some good company with Rosie who is very easy going, helpful and most accomodating! We'll go back...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside,UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent six nights in June and the weather was HOT.Rosie and her mother,Win,were in residence and made our stay very enjoyable.
We travelled up to Granada during our stay and stayed one night in the city.However the journey was easy and could be done in the day if required.
Rosie runs a very relaxed house and is never unable to provide advice,routes etc.The setting is rustic and apart from the various noises from the local wildlife is completely peaceful.
Rosie's cooking has been well chronicled in these reviews and we can only endorse those comments.Lots of fresh homegrown ingredients and beautifully prepared.Breakfasts were a treat with loads of choice and of course FRESH orange juice.
Explore the local area and spot turtles,snakes(small),frogs and lots more.You even get swallows sharing your o/s sitting area!!!!!!
Well worth a visit if you want to include some" get away from it all " time.
Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My visit to Casa Granadina was a last minute, totally unplanned break. I have to say it was the best, most relaxing holiday I have had in many years. Our host Rosie was one of the most accomodating, friendly, easy going people I have ever met. Her hospitality is second to none. The accomodation is like home from home, a feeling of complete relaxation where all your worries and stresses vanish! I cannot recommend Casa Granadina and it's wonderful host Rosie, highly enough if you are looking for somewhere to switch of from the modern world, to discover the 'real Spain' and it's people. I shall be returning without any doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I don't often return to the same location, just because there is so much world to see, but there is something very restful and welcoming about Casa Granadina that lured me back. I was not disappointed and have just returned from a week's stay much more relaxed than when I left. Going slightly earlier in the season made serious walking more practical and with a hire car, I found plenty of new places to explore. However it is also a great place to just chill and I whiled away a surprising amount of time watching the family of swallows nesting a few feet above our heads on the terrace.Rosie was as ever the perfect host, cook and font of all local knowledge, while also creating a very informal, homely atmosphere. I may even have to go back again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houten
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We planned to visit Granada, Malakka and the coast. Therefor we rented a car. The stay in Casa Granadina was so pleasant that we stayed more days then we intended to. Rosy looked after us so well that we stayed all eight nights, even though we had to drive about one hour every day to visit the cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Granadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Granadina

Address: Llano Almendra, 29195 Comares, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Comares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Comares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Granadina, a jewel in the Andalucian countryside. A colourful cottage where you can relax in the peace and quiet, or, if you are feeling energetic, take a walk in the dramatic surrounding countryside. It is a great base from which to explore Andalucia.There is a lemon orchard and vegetable garden, from which I use fresh produce for meals. An easy setting for you to enjoy a relaxed holiday. You will always be happy to return to the peace, tranquillity and easy, homely atmosphere of Casa Granadina. Rosie is your host. Originally from the UK she has lived in Spain for over 20 years and has a passion for the people and traditions, the countryside and cities of Spain. Rosie loves to walk and has information on many routes in the area, which you can make un-guided, or for a little more local knowledge, Rosie will be happy to join you on some of the local pathways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Granadina Spain/Comares

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Granadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.